Customer Reviews for

Anywhere But Here

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This was a spectacular work from the very beginning. Not only di

This was a spectacular work from the very beginning. Not only did the first few pages draw me in, but somewhere around 2/3 of the way through, I cried.

Not little, easy to ignore tears. Big ones. Huge ones that forced me to take a break because I couldn't read the blur...
This was a spectacular work from the very beginning. Not only did the first few pages draw me in, but somewhere around 2/3 of the way through, I cried.

Not little, easy to ignore tears. Big ones. Huge ones that forced me to take a break because I couldn't read the blurred words in front of my eyes.

I was hooked, and good. But then... then!

After the waterfall finally ended, I kept reading, puffy eyes and all. I read through dinner. I read through tooth-brushing. I then read long past my bedtime.

Big mistake. I didn't sleep well at all, largely because my dreams were infested with zombies and vacant cities. And raiders. This book gets under your skin. It slowly takes over your subconscious, making sleep a distant memory. 

I haven't had a book do anything like this to my mind in a very long time. Morrow crafted a story that draws the reader in, causing them to beg for more... then releases the reader in an emotionally exhausted state.

Yet, all you can think about is going back for more.

(This is a truncation of my full review, published at Undiscovered Tomes.)

posted by RebeccaWF on June 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great reading

Easy to start hard to put down, always leading to a new level.

posted by 19236574 on February 13, 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    This was a spectacular work from the very beginning. Not only di

    This was a spectacular work from the very beginning. Not only did the first few pages draw me in, but somewhere around 2/3 of the way through, I cried.

    Not little, easy to ignore tears. Big ones. Huge ones that forced me to take a break because I couldn't read the blurred words in front of my eyes.

    I was hooked, and good. But then... then!

    After the waterfall finally ended, I kept reading, puffy eyes and all. I read through dinner. I read through tooth-brushing. I then read long past my bedtime.

    Big mistake. I didn't sleep well at all, largely because my dreams were infested with zombies and vacant cities. And raiders. This book gets under your skin. It slowly takes over your subconscious, making sleep a distant memory. 

    I haven't had a book do anything like this to my mind in a very long time. Morrow crafted a story that draws the reader in, causing them to beg for more... then releases the reader in an emotionally exhausted state.

    Yet, all you can think about is going back for more.

    (This is a truncation of my full review, published at Undiscovered Tomes.)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2014

    Fantastic

    First of all, I don't like zombies. I don't watch zombie movies and I most assuredly don't read zombie books. I find a world of flesh eating zombies just a little too...grim.

    That being said, this book had me hooked just about from the start. Oh, it is grim all right, and zombies aka "greyskins" make their many appearances in the story. But it has so much more, with the awakening of unknown powers amongst some of the survivors, and the remnants of humanity struggling against itself with its own conflicting nature of nobility and selfishness. The characters are well drawn and motivated. Told mostly from the point of view of two young women named Remi and Waverly, you feel for their grief and the whisper of hope they carry within.

    Strongly recommend this book, and kudos to the author who made a believer out of me. I look forward to the continuation of the story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Riveting story


    Reaally well done

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Took time to develop plot. Excellent!

    Took time to develop plot. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Excellent

    I thought i was done with zombie books. Thanks to this author and his top shelf ability, I guess I was wrong! Very good read!

    Dale M. Baranoski

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    A good book

    A land, lost to cannibals, raiders, travelers, safe havens! Out of the gloom, step four unlikely childen 18 and younger! They are being chased by raiders, and grayskins are trying to eat them! Then, 3 years after it starts the 18 year old dies from a raiders shot to the head! The remaining children go to a safe haven, and are banished for no reason other than a guy named Shadowface needs them! And a 17 year old girl doesnt know if her sister, Remi, is even alive! Its a book about a zombie apocolypse, kind of. Just instead of zombies, its undead humans, aka: grayskins, aka: cannibals! The bite from a grayskin is venomous enough to turn you into one of those monsters! So, there are many safe havens, but if you're lucky enough to even get to one, you always have a chance of being banished! If you are banished, then you have no food, no weapons, no supplies, no clothes, except the clothes on your back! Being banished is like a 99.99% death sentance, with only 00.01% chance of surviving! If even that! But, you know how I mentioned Remi? She and her sister are so close to one another all the time, they just dont know it yet. And then the 3 teens get kidnapped and are in an old abandoned warehouse, where the girls (who has no name in my reveiw because i cant remember it) friends open the doors and let in the grayskins, and one of the boys sacrifices himself for his "friends" and the only reason friends is in quotation marks is because all the time before they were surrounded by grayskins, he was always a jerk to the one girl and her "boyfriend" who died in the beginnong of the book! Anyways, too many spoilers! The book is totally recommended for ages 12+! So, whatcha waiting for? Read the book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1