Customer Reviews for

Anywhere but Here

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

a girl without a real home

Mona Simpson's book 'Anywhere But Here' is a great read. There are many real life illusions in the book that make readers feel like they could be reading about themselves. This novel is about a young girl and her mother and their struggle to get by in life. Anne, the da...
Mona Simpson's book 'Anywhere But Here' is a great read. There are many real life illusions in the book that make readers feel like they could be reading about themselves. This novel is about a young girl and her mother and their struggle to get by in life. Anne, the daughter, is a beautiful young girl and her mother, Adele, thinks she could succeed in show business, so they travel around the country. Adele is an over protective mother. The novel first describes the grandmother's life and goes all the way through to Anne's life. This makes parts of the book confusing and hard to picture, but later on the book explains itself. Many parts in the novel have smaller chapters within those parts. This makes the book seem more realistic but sometimes we do not know who is talking or don't really understand who the person is in contrast to the rest of the characters. Overall, though, this was a novel that anyone could read and enjoy.

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Plot is Anywhere But Here

Mona Simpson¿s book, Anywhere But Here is a well written and well crafted fictional novel about a mother and daughter relationship. Adele August, mother of Ann, is a high spirited woman who doesn¿t fit the profile of a mom. She yearns for a life in California, to roam t...
Mona Simpson¿s book, Anywhere But Here is a well written and well crafted fictional novel about a mother and daughter relationship. Adele August, mother of Ann, is a high spirited woman who doesn¿t fit the profile of a mom. She yearns for a life in California, to roam the easy street among actors and actresses. Adele even wants to have her own daughter become a star as well. She pushes Ann towards a direction she thinks will be great for her, wanting to give her daughter a life she didn¿t have. She forces Ann to become the adult and to be the one to think logically. Anywhere but Here is a good novel, but it lacks a solid plot. The flashbacks to the grandmother and the aunt throw off the flow of the story and the memories aren¿t properly organized. Although the vocabulary and sentence structure are simple, the reader really needs to pay close attention to each word in order to understand what is going on. The scenes change rapidly between past and present, and a lot of the setting switch over from house to car to hotel as well. I liked the book, but it wasn¿t the best I have read. I wouldn¿t recommend this book to anyone that likes action or suspense or any kind of a major conflict. Overall, the book needed a more developed plot to help the story flow.

posted by Anonymous on October 16, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    a girl without a real home

    Mona Simpson's book 'Anywhere But Here' is a great read. There are many real life illusions in the book that make readers feel like they could be reading about themselves. This novel is about a young girl and her mother and their struggle to get by in life. Anne, the daughter, is a beautiful young girl and her mother, Adele, thinks she could succeed in show business, so they travel around the country. Adele is an over protective mother. The novel first describes the grandmother's life and goes all the way through to Anne's life. This makes parts of the book confusing and hard to picture, but later on the book explains itself. Many parts in the novel have smaller chapters within those parts. This makes the book seem more realistic but sometimes we do not know who is talking or don't really understand who the person is in contrast to the rest of the characters. Overall, though, this was a novel that anyone could read and enjoy.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    A Plot is Anywhere But Here

    Mona Simpson¿s book, Anywhere But Here is a well written and well crafted fictional novel about a mother and daughter relationship. Adele August, mother of Ann, is a high spirited woman who doesn¿t fit the profile of a mom. She yearns for a life in California, to roam the easy street among actors and actresses. Adele even wants to have her own daughter become a star as well. She pushes Ann towards a direction she thinks will be great for her, wanting to give her daughter a life she didn¿t have. She forces Ann to become the adult and to be the one to think logically. Anywhere but Here is a good novel, but it lacks a solid plot. The flashbacks to the grandmother and the aunt throw off the flow of the story and the memories aren¿t properly organized. Although the vocabulary and sentence structure are simple, the reader really needs to pay close attention to each word in order to understand what is going on. The scenes change rapidly between past and present, and a lot of the setting switch over from house to car to hotel as well. I liked the book, but it wasn¿t the best I have read. I wouldn¿t recommend this book to anyone that likes action or suspense or any kind of a major conflict. Overall, the book needed a more developed plot to help the story flow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    Wonderful, From Beginning To End

    Anywhere But Here captured my attention and my heart only one chapter through. Mona Simpson displays true talent through her distinctive, masterful writing. Everything about Anywhere But Here is soulfully perfect-the quirky, yet lovable characters, the jumpy plots, and the realism. I recommend this brilliant novel to anyone who loves to read about family and the essence of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2000

    The Best

    This is the best book I have ever read. The characters are so real. I also love the movie Susan Surandon and Natalie Portman portray Adele and Ann so perfectly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2000

    Can You Tell Me If I'm Near, To Anywhere But Here?

    I am a big fan of the movie adaptation of this book mainly because of the film's supporting (though I think otherwise) actress, Natalie Portman. I simply adored the movie even though it was a 'chick flick', so sue me. I had one gripe about the movie and that was that it left alot of things open and unresolved. I decided to buy the book and see if it would bring closure to alot of the situations. As I was reading through it, I found out that there were MANY things that didn't even make it onscreen. Things that should've been included but would have made for a long drawn-out movie, much like a television mini-series. This book too was of the 'chick pick' genre, but I overlooked that (as I did with the movie). Superbly written, visually imaginative, this book took me awhile to finish but it did eventually close up the movie's plot holes. It makes me wonder whether the movie would have been more successful if Simpson were to have written the screenplay. I am now moving on to Natalie Portman's new movie 'Where The Heart Is'. This time I'm going to read the book before I see the movie. But, back to the subject, I highly recommend this book. It's geared more to the female population but I'm pretty sure males (such as myself) will find it just as satisfying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2000

    Confusing, yet entertaining^_~

    This book was confusing. You have to read every sentence and understand it fully. One minute you're in the car traveling to California, the next minute your in Bay City, years before the move. Read every chapter, I mean EVERY CHAPTER!! They each explain something about the family. It was a good book all in all. Enjoy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2000

    Anywhere But Here is the greatest book ever!!

    The book Anywhere But Here is such a great book its so much better than the movie I read the first few chapters and I couldn't put the book down I just loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Help me choose

    I am 11 years old and i am reding Steve Jobs by walter isaccson and he talks about mona simpson bieng a writer and that inspired me to read one of her books. I was wondering if you think that i would like this

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    One of the Worst Books I've Ever (Almost) Read

    In my opinion, this book was absolutely horrible. Poorly written, it seemed to me nothing but a series of disjointed, rambling chapters with absolutely no discernable plot. I thought the characters were unlikeable and poorly developed, and I thought some were entirely irrelevant and misplaced in what I assume was the author's attempt at a story. In spite of lengthy, flowery paragraphs describing *facsinating* things like....rocks, pavement, and roads, the story never goes anywhere. I think this book is nearly ridiculous as a published novel. I found the bad writing terribly distracting, and became so frustrated because of it that I couldn't even force myself to finish the book. By the time I'd read nearly half of it, I still couldn't determine a story. The author never provides any background or explanation for either of the two main characters, an unhappy little girl and her neurotic mother. Shame on the publisher for subjecting the public to this waste of paper. Save your money!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    Kind of Wishing I was Anywhere but There

    In Mona Simpson's 'Anywhere But Here', she shows a young girl's life as she grows up with her self-obsessed mother. Simpson fills the book with many short stories that have almost no connection to the rest of the book. The first few pages are a hard read because of the many characters to connect and the many metaphors, similes, and long description paragraphs.Simpson doesn't give enough description of Ann or her her mother, Adele, to get a clear picture of ages, looks, or motives. Although the book is an interesting look at a mother and daughter's roller-coaster ride of a relationship, it is not a book that I would recommend investing in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Just an "OK" book

    Set in modern times, Mona Simpson's fictional book "Anywhere But Here" takes us through a mother-daughter relationship full of misunderstandings and disagreements. Adele, Anne's mother, pressures Anne to look beautiful and thin so that she can become a notorious movie star in Hollywood. Even though Adele has high aspirations for Anne, she can't quite seem to live the life that she has in mind. She is consistently trying to find "the perfect father" for Anne but comes up short after many different dates. Adele finally decides to take Anne to California and eagerly searches for movie shoots and jobs for Anne. This whole ordeal of becoming famous is seen throughout the book but in the end Anne is just a normal child and her mother is left wondering why her idea of Anne becoming famous was never fulfilled. Even though the plot is intriguing, it is quite drawn out. The sentences flow well with one another and are quite colloquial but the prolonged story makes the readability difficult. While reading throught the book we as readers are left wondering why some scenes are even inserted. Many of these scenes are distracting as well as unnecessary. Mona Simpson's writing style also affects the overall readability of "Anywhere But Here." Her chapters jump from character to character letting us see the different views of each character on specific events. However, most of the chapters are seen through Anne's unemotional viewpoint. Carol, Adele's sister, also plays part in a few of the chapters describing Adele's past life and attempting to demonstrate to us readers why Adele acts in the manner that she does. Adele has one chapter in the very end which, unlike Anne's, is full of emotion. As readers, we are left confused as to why Simpson didn't add as much emotion into Anne's character like she does with Adele. As she jumps from character to character, she also skips from year to year ignoring chronological order. This makes for a hard-to-understand organization of stories. One minute we think that Anne is an eighteen-year-old woman and the next we find out that she is only a twelve-year-old child. Not only that, sometimes Simpson doesn't even mention the age and we are left trying to decipher Anne's age by Simpson's inferring style. Overall, the book depicted a real-life situation that we are able to relate to, but the whole storyline was hard to follow. I would suggest watching the movie before the story because you may begin the story but find out that you are unable to finish the difficult storyline.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2