Customer Reviews for

Apathy and Other Small Victories

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book very much. I loved the dark sense of humor, thats what many books lack, I've noticed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Great book...

    Loved the humor throughout this book. Like many other reviewers, I was laughing out loud. The story does lose a bit of focus at the end. Even so, I still loved it and would recommend it to a friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    awesome

    great book. id buy it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Amazing! Hilarious! Awesome!

    Apathy and Other Small Victories beyond amazing! My boyfriend gave it to me read, and it is one of the best books that has ever been recommended to me. Neilan is a genius! It's a no hold's bar, dark comedy about an average guy living in an average society. I couldn't put it down. No book has ever made me laugh as much as this one; I found myself cracking up in public places. Shane is a brilliant character, and the other characters only add that much more to the humor and satire in the book. I would definitely recommend it if you haven't read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Completely Inappropraite! Hilarious!

    WARNING! This book is not for those with a weak heart, a poor sense of humor, not a fan of sarcasm, and conservatives. Neilan is no holds bar. Nothing is off limits in this book, including jokes about pedophilia. Nelian's character, who's name I believe is only mentioned once, finds himself accused of a crime he did not commit, and moreso, he can't figure out why he's trying to prove his innocence. He's got a job in a cubicle, and spends most of his day napping in the bathroom stall. With memorable one liners, this book is literally laugh out loud funny. I found myself crying at some points because I was laughing so hard. An awesomely humorous read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hilarious and awesome!

    One of the best books I've read ever in life. So good. Must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    funny !funny !funny!

    This book was truly funny. I had to laugh out loud at the book causing my husband to look at me and wonder what was going on. Neilan is truly a gifted writer who knows how to make you become sympathetic with his main character all the while wondering if you actually know someone like this. Maybe even work next to someone like this. Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2006

    Fantastic

    This book was absolutely fantastic. I found myself laughing outloud more often at this book than I do at most movies. Every character is so disfunctional you can't help but laugh at them, I definatly recommend picking this one up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Awesome...and twisted

    I loved this book. I had tears streaming down my face, and my wife was looking across the living room at me like I was some kind of freak. If you are looking for a book that is insightful and thought-provoking, keep looking. If you want some crude, politically incorrect, entertaining text, grab this book. I thought Shane was just twisted enough to be made up and real at the same time. Very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2006

    What a Read!!!

    I couldn't put this book down!! I've read many books where the suspense of the story captivates you, but in the case of Apathy, and Other Small Victories I was captivated by Shane¿s thoughts and responses. The tough part about reading it was that I constantly had to wipe the tears from my eyes because I was laughing so hard!! It¿s definitely not for those who live politically correct lives, although I imagine that even the most politically correct person will find themselves laughing hysterically (at least on the inside or in a dark alley when nobody¿s around) when they read some of Shane¿s antics! Neilan¿s writing and the idea of making Shane the story and his life experiences the supporting characters is reminiscent of John Irving¿s novels and Normal Mailer¿s Tough Guys Don¿t Dance. An incredible debut¿can¿t wait to see the follow-up!! The name Paul Neilan is most certainly going on my watch list!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Love

    Fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Hilarious!

    The sarcasm, and dark sense of humor had me literally laughing out loud.... (atonally, of course) The plot was ok but it kept you guessing and laughing all the way through. Very similar to Chuck Palahniuk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Loved it

    Not a super great story, but more than makes up for it in humor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Great

    Great book really funny this guy should write more books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    do not recommend

    Characters all too flawed to develop any compassion towards. Language seemed tedious at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    The Funniest book I Have Ever Read.

    This is the only book I have ever readthat made me laugh out loud on nearly every page. Yes, its humor is vulgar and cinnical, but it is hillarious. If you need something to let you escape from the grind, or simply to laugh at the absurdity of life in the 21st-century, this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Guiltily Admitting Laughing Out Loud At Things That Shouldn't Be Funny But Are.

    The main character is a bit of a jackass, lazy, and almost perpetually drunk, but he's not a unlikable guy. If you are easily offended don't even bother with this book. If, however, you are the type of person who can enjoy odd, dark, socially unacceptable humor and people being taught to curse in sign language, this murder mystery/brutal snarkfest might be for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    GREAT READ!

    i laughed out loud when i read this--it is filled with sarcasm and wit and i would highly recommend it. this is kind of like the current, sarcastic version of the stranger by albert camus. i read an interview with him and he seems like a genuinely funny person even outside of this book. if you are looking to laugh, read this book, and if you wrote this book, please write another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Don't bother. Just like too many other books/movies

    After reading all the great reviews, and being someone who can't stand long-winded books, I was excited to get this book. It was very disappointing. The story starts off well enough and has some humor, but keeps going to the same jokes over and over. I'd relate him to a modern day Holden Caufield in that he acknowledges all the ridiculous stuff we all do to get through the day, says how he finds is horrible and somehow thinks he's above it. In the end, it's a book about a whiny slacker with some interesting neighbors. And, like most recent books/movies without a well developed story line it just gets to a certain point and ends abruptly with something that negates the entire story line before it. Short read, somewhat funny, but the last 30 pages or so (out of only 136) are excruciating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2008

    One Truthful Statement

    I wondered why an author would write on the title page 'To my parents, who hopefully will never read this book'. It didn't take long to figure out why. No piece of literature needs the 'F' word several times on a page to tell any story. This is the first time I have ever written a bad review, but found this book so distasteful I felt I had to. Even at its reduced price, I paid too much for this trash.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4