Customer Reviews for

Ape House

Average Rating 3.5
( 425 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

While this book was not as Great as Water for Elephants, it was a very good book. Once I started it I didn't want to put it down until I was fnished with the story. I am looking forward to reading more of her books as they come out.

posted by BethAnnH on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing.

"Water for Elephants" is one of my all-time favorite books, so I couldn't wait for "Ape House". What a disappointment. It ended up being a sad book about sad people with no character development. Too much talk about sexual monkey actions and people who hate their jobs. ...
"Water for Elephants" is one of my all-time favorite books, so I couldn't wait for "Ape House". What a disappointment. It ended up being a sad book about sad people with no character development. Too much talk about sexual monkey actions and people who hate their jobs. I found it daunting that so many negative aspects were included in the story - prostitutes, meth labs, alcohol abuse, animal abuse, and lying by the media. Although I had to get to the last chapter to finally find something positive, it was not worth the read.

posted by 907794 on October 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    While this book was not as Great as Water for Elephants, it was a very good book. Once I started it I didn't want to put it down until I was fnished with the story. I am looking forward to reading more of her books as they come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Wonderful read. One of the first things I liked about the book i

    Wonderful read. One of the first things I liked about the book is the use of imagery by Ms. Gruen....regardless of the setting. I could easily picture the characters, the bonobos, the places, the crowds; I could smell the food, the grime, the gravel and the smoke. That alone was enough to compel me to read the book in one sitting. Movies sometimes are blamed for robbing us of our imagination, but, in my opinion, it is hard for an author to provide us with enough details that little imagination is needed to comprehend the brutality of an act. Without revealing much more of what already has been described in the overview, in my eyes, the Author's masterful caption of the effects of the explosion on our heroine played like a reel in slow motion. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Good read

    A good read with accurate animal information which makes it believable and enjoyable. The human interactions were a bit lacking to me in some way that I find difficult to describe. Over all it was a pleasurable read that I wiuld recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Loved it!

    Sara Gruen is a masterful storyteller. She manages to once again weave a concise and emotional story together, along with a bit of education for us to learn by.similar to that of her other novels, including Water for Elephants.

    Our story starts at a university facility where our heroine, Isabel Duncan, is solely interested in her family of apes, whom she has spent years teaching sign language as the study. They are her family until the day the site is bombed and the apes disappear until they are suddenly found on a reality tv show.

    This book not only shows the intelligence levels of these endangered animals, but it also makes you wonder "who are the real amimals?". Would it be the apes, or the humans who use and abuse them for their own purposes and gains? It also allows for Isabel to learn to trust old and new friends in her quest to find and rescue the apes from what could ultimately be very harmful to them.

    I loved this book. I encourage others to also try it out. From the initial explosive start, this novel had me until it's emotional end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    Great read

    I enjoyed this book at a weekend at the water it is interestng, informative, and entertaining with just enough mystery to keep the reader entangled. This author has captivated me since Water for Elephants. I can't wait for more offerings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    Good weekend read

    Water for Elephants is one of my all time favorite books. So I was excited to pick up Ape House. Though it lacked charisma and magic as was portrayed in Water for Elephants- it was still a good read. It veers on a more realistic side of life, marriage, social issues, media, and animal cruelty. It still ultimately holds a heart warming story of the relationship between Isabel and the bonobos while opening the readers eyes to animal abuse in America. If you are looking to read a book for a quick escape into a magical love story- this is not the book for you. If Sara Gruen kept writing the same storyline as Water for Elephants but used bonobos instead- she would be criticized for being uncreative and repetitive. Overall, it's a good book about the harsh realities of the real world, animal exploitation, and cruelty while maintaining love and compassion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    decent

    decent follow up but lacks charisma of Water for Elephants...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My moneys worth

    Sara Gruen has been blessed with the insight into the life and loves of others. This book was different than I expected but if I can say at the end of the book.....that was a great read, then I got my moneys worth. She has uplifted my spirit and caused me to see things in a brand new light. What a talent to have. I definitely got my moneys worth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Enjoyed the book!

    while the book had a slow start, i ended up really enjoying it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Well done and eye opening

    I really liked this book. I wanted to read it following a very enjoyable read in 'Water for Elephants' and I was happy I did. I am fascinated by primates and have watched them hours on end and photographed them. When the beautiful family serenity was lost, it was very sad. I was on the edge of my seat and couldn't keep from going back to find out what would happen next.
    I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    Great book, easy read

    I enjoyed this book- somewhat a mystery. It was easy to figure out 'whodunit' but still thrilling to lead up to the chase. Sara Gruen is great at captivating, great details, looooove primates. Would have given 5 stars but was a little upset at the way the author portrayed all animal facilities in a negative light- I think this influences the public to be disgruntled towards animal facilities and I have worked in them for over a decade and have never seen the abuse etc. decribed in the book. Other than that, a great, fun fast read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    very good read

    I LOVED "Water for Elephants" so I had to read this one. This was also very good. If you liked WFE you will also enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2010

    A well written Page Turner

    I do not like to and seldom do compare another of an author's books to a current one. I did like Elephant's for Water. So I was interested to read another of Sara Gruen's books. And this one did not disappoint. It is not the best book ever written. But I did not want to put it down. I loved the human/ape connection. I thought the characters both human and Ape were authentic and interesting. I have recommended this book several times. Ape House makes the reader realise that animal cruelty is even more common and more cruel than even an animal lover such as myself might know.
    I absolutely recommend you read Ape House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Highly Recommend - I loved this book.

    This is a very well-written novel with a page-turning style. I've recommended it to everyone I know who likes animals, fiction, and reading. I read "Water for Elephants" a couple years ago and had the same reaction. Sara Gruen does enough research to allow you to totally "suspend reality" and follow her through the tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read But I Wanted Another Water for Elephants

    Ape House is an enjoyable book, but it can't touch Water for Elephants. Definitely worth the read, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A STERLING READING OF AN INTRIGUING STORY

    Another story by the estimable author of "Water For Elephants," Sara Gruen, deserves a first class narrator, which is precisely what is found in Bill Boehmer. A seasoned stage and television actor he delivers an articulate, highly listenable reading.


    There is a group of bonobos, Sam, Bonzi, Lola, Mbongo, Jelani and Makena by name, who are living at a university's Great Ape Language Lab. Now, while all apes may be unique these bonobos truly are - not only can they reason and have meaningful relationships but they're also able to communicate by American Sign Language.


    Isabel Duncan is a scientist at the Lab working with the bonobos. She is more than content at the Lab as she feels more comfortable with the bonobos than with other human beings. However tranquility is broken when there's an explosion seriously injuring Isabel. Further, the bonobos have vanished only to reappear starring in a reality television program, Ape House.


    Prior to the explosion a newspaper reporter, John Thigpen, had been putting together a story about what was happening in the Lab. But the explosion followed by the humiliating exploitation of the bonobos changes everything not only for him but also for Isabel as the two join forces to bring the bonobos home.


    A remarkable story.


    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    Positively good read

    Started out interesting, but slow. After about 100 pages I was hooked!
    Sara Gruen is a great author and I really appreciated the research she put into this subject.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!!

    It is so very obvious that Sara Gruen is a committed animal lover. All you have to do is read one of her books to know that her love for animals is vast. That love is evident in every word she wrote in her new book, Ape House. Having said that, I will say as a reader, I became so emotionally attached to the bonobos that there were some points in the story where I found it hard to continue reading for fear of what would happen next. Nothing was too graphic, I just let my imagination get ahead of the story and I was afraid I was right. I was not, but I needed to push through to figure that out.

    I would not say that Ape House is better than Water For Elephants. I am not sure any book could be better than the book that became America's favorite book, but Ape House *is* a good book. It is well worth the read and you will find that Ape House will do for bonobo's what Rosie did for elephants. You will learn to love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8