Customer Reviews for

Ape House

Average Rating 3.5
( 426 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(99)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book

While this book was not as Great as Water for Elephants, it was a very good book. Once I started it I didn't want to put it down until I was fnished with the story. I am looking forward to reading more of her books as they come out.

posted by BethAnnH on May 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very disappointing.

"Water for Elephants" is one of my all-time favorite books, so I couldn't wait for "Ape House". What a disappointment. It ended up being a sad book about sad people with no character development. Too much talk about sexual monkey actions and people who hate their jobs. ...
"Water for Elephants" is one of my all-time favorite books, so I couldn't wait for "Ape House". What a disappointment. It ended up being a sad book about sad people with no character development. Too much talk about sexual monkey actions and people who hate their jobs. I found it daunting that so many negative aspects were included in the story - prostitutes, meth labs, alcohol abuse, animal abuse, and lying by the media. Although I had to get to the last chapter to finally find something positive, it was not worth the read.

posted by 907794 on October 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Better than Water for Elephants.

    Even better than Water for Elephants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Loved it

    Entrrtaining and informative


    i

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Brilliant!!!

    Absolutely brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I could not put this book down, loved it although some of the animal cruelty was difficult to read about the end result is worth the read. I'm so glad my book club picked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful view into the world of Bonobos

    I used to be an intern at a zoo and had some experience working around great apes. I wanted to try this book, because of my past experience as well as reading Water for Elephants. I really enjoyed this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Loved it!

    A friend of mine recommended this after I had loaned her "Water for Elephants." It is very different from Elephants...but I like that and was very intrigued with this story. Really did not want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining and Eye-opening

    Sara Gruen has written another bestseller and delivers it to us with insight, compassion and the skill of a natural storyteller.

    The inhabitants of the Great Ape Language Lab are amazing. Like other bonobos they are capable of reasoning, relationships and communication but unlike other apes this group knows American Sign Language and interact with another species; humans. One of their favorite humans is Bell.

    Bell, Isabel Duncan, is a scientist at the Language Lab. The bonobo family feels like Isabel's family. Even though severely injured in an explosion at the lab her main concern is her 'family'. At first the explosion is thought to be set by animal rights activists whose misguided thinking leads them to feel they are freeing the apes. The theory of animal rights activists being responsible for the explosion crumbles when the bonobos appear on their own reality TV show.

    John Thigpen is a reporter who meets Sam, Bonzi, Lola, Mbonga, Jelani and Makena, the bonobo family, earlier on the day of the explosion. The apes have to agree to the meeting-their feelings and wishes are always considered-and he prepares by bringing them 'surprises'. He is touched and astonished by these creatures who are able to cross-over between the species and he also becomes a new favorite of the apes. John follows the story of the explosion and the disappearance of the apes risking his career to find the truth and recover the apes family.

    Ape House is entertaining and eye opening. Sara Gruen has guided us into a world where we will never again think of other species as just unfeeling test tubes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Different Kind of Book- A Great Read!

    I saw where someone else was reviewing this book and complaining that they didn't think the characters were developed good enough and that there was too much focus on the bonobos......that person just missed the whole point......the bonobos ARE the chacters.....they are the story. But as far as I could tell there was nothing wrong with the human characters either. Each character in the book had major events going on in their lives and hard decisions to make. How each one chose to deal with those decisions is what the book is really about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    Highly Recommended!

    Sara Gruen did a great job with "Ape House"! Couldn't put it down. I can't wait to read more about the wonderful bonobos. I appreciated the bonobos and the human characters in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6