Customer Reviews for

Apocalipstick

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Very mediocre

    As far as brit chick lit goes, this is probably at the bottom. Very ridiculous w/ raunchy humor. The plot has no real substance. If you have time to kill read it, otherwise not worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    So funny!

    This was the first time I've read something by Sue Margolis and was completely knocked off my feet with laughter. I've been reading the chick-lit authors, and so far, this author is the most hilarious. I admit the storyline's okay, plot is rather predictable, and yet with everything seeming so ordinary, the way she can crack me up makes this book truly amazing. It's definitely the way she delivers her punch lines that makes this book a quick, fun read and stand out. She's on the top of my list for comedies! The characters are very lovable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    Hysterical funny!!!!

    I haven't laughed this much since I read the "Shopaholic" series! Loved it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this writer and this book

    This is the book that got me addicted to Chick lit..Sue Margolis is one of my favorite writers of all times. Her books are gripping from the first page and laugh-out-loud hilarious. Every story has great characters, heartwarming plots, and hilarious dialoged. You'll fall in love with the characters from the beginning and want to read every book she has ever written. You won't regret this buy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is one of the best books I have read to date. It is laugh out loud funny. I passed the book on to my friend and she is now hooked too. I liked her other books but didn't think they were as good as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Somewhat disappointed

    This is my first Sue Margolis book, recommended to me because I love Erin McCarthy's work. Apocalipstick had so much potential. However, I found it very predictable (literally, about halfway through the book I predicted how it would end with Max and his 'goddaughter', and what Lipsticks' good news would be--big yawn) and scenes that were supposed to be funny, fell flat. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    'Delightful, Dawling'

    Third times a charm! I read Spin Cycle and Neurotica by Sue Margolis before this one, and it was equally as wonderful. This book was amazingly funny and light-hearted. The British humor is extremely catchy and works wonders for the flow of the plot. A+!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    I loved this book

    This book was great. I couldn't stop reading once I picked it up. I even found my self laughing out loud while reading it on the train on the way to work. I have recommended this book to all my friends. They have all loved it too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    FINISHED IT IN TWO DAYS!!

    Very funny book, laughed out loud in public several times reading this book. Fast read, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    Very funny! Easy read! Enjoy!

    I am now reading the 3rd Sue Margolis book. They all have the cutest British humor and you are able to breeze right through them. You will enjoy this one thoroughly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2003

    FUNNY!

    I laughed out loud as well, which is unusual! It was a fun, quick read. You will not be disappointed if you love chic lit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2003

    Perfect

    it was a book that had humor,love, everything to make it a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Love & investigations-funny & dangerous

    What can be worse than having your widowed father marry the blond bombshell, Lipstick, from your high school class who use to put your down & bullied you? This is one of the things that happens to beauty columnist Rebecca Fine in Sue Margolis¿ APOCALIPSTICK. It seems to Rebecca that her nice grandmother didn¿t do so well trying to fix Stan, her father, up, and she isn¿t doing well with the guys she finds on the internet for her either. Traffic is as bad in London as it is in the US. Thirty-two year old Fine is on her way to work at the Daily Vanguard as the beauty columnist for her first meeting but is caught in traffic. While putting on make-up, a guy behind her honks for her to get a move on, causing it to smear. Fortunately everyone else was having trouble to work on time, also. When she gets to work, she discovers her workstation is no longer hers; she¿s been moved. Turns out the ¿honker¿, Max Stoddart, is the new hot-shot reporter, an absolute hunk , & the owner of her workstation,. Rebecca & Max get past that early morning situation enough to start dating-hot and heavy. Things get sticky when Rebecca believes Max is stepping out on her. Rebecca has ambition; she wants to become an investigative reporter. When an anti-wrinkle crème is being touted by one of the famous make-up companies, Rebecca head off to Paris with her friend to try to get a sample, no matter how. She has figured out that the cream is the cause of women saying very unpleasant things to people that they never would say. The crème is not for sale yet, so fortunately only a handful of women have had access to it. The twists and turns involving trying to snatch a sample put Rebecca in jeopardy. Margolis weaves a good, humorous story, including suspense, with the Lipstick/Stan situation and the blabbermouth crème scenario. Fans of Margolis¿ SPIN CYCLE and NEUROTICA won¿t be disappointed in APOCALIPSTICK. I wasn¿t.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    I actually laughed out loud . . .

    and I bought it soley based on title alone. It was a very good read. A bit corny at times and even though you knew everything would work out in the end, it still had the ability to keep your attention. Fun characters, funny situations; what more could you ask for? I read it in one day and can't wait to read her other two novels. Definitely a thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1