Customer Reviews for

Apocalypse of the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great read, Couldn't put it down

The author takes you on a tour of a world where zombies exist behind a wall and like true Americans we become complacent about them, big mistake. The heroes are flawed, the vilians are misguided and the zombies are hungry: still it all becomes believable and you really ...
The author takes you on a tour of a world where zombies exist behind a wall and like true Americans we become complacent about them, big mistake. The heroes are flawed, the vilians are misguided and the zombies are hungry: still it all becomes believable and you really cant ask for more than that.

posted by Benjamin68 on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good read bad ending

i liked this book and the characters as well. the book definitly pulls you in and is very captivating, and i would definitly recommend it, my only complaint is the ending in my opinion sucked. it was like reading a great zombie novel with excellent action and character ...
i liked this book and the characters as well. the book definitly pulls you in and is very captivating, and i would definitly recommend it, my only complaint is the ending in my opinion sucked. it was like reading a great zombie novel with excellent action and character scenes, with just enough detail to pull you in but not overdo it, then it suddenly switches to religious nutcase story. SPOILER ALERT i loved the book but didnt care at all for how zombies dropped completely out of the story in the last fifth of the book to be replaced by a nutjob talking everyone into a mass suicide that all but a handful of the main characters are happy to participate in. end on a big fight or leave a cliffhanger, or on a cure, whichever i really dont care, but the everyone smiling and killing themselves ending sucked.

posted by 8104179 on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    good read bad ending

    i liked this book and the characters as well. the book definitly pulls you in and is very captivating, and i would definitly recommend it, my only complaint is the ending in my opinion sucked. it was like reading a great zombie novel with excellent action and character scenes, with just enough detail to pull you in but not overdo it, then it suddenly switches to religious nutcase story. SPOILER ALERT i loved the book but didnt care at all for how zombies dropped completely out of the story in the last fifth of the book to be replaced by a nutjob talking everyone into a mass suicide that all but a handful of the main characters are happy to participate in. end on a big fight or leave a cliffhanger, or on a cure, whichever i really dont care, but the everyone smiling and killing themselves ending sucked.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    good read

    good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Great zombie brain candy! A very fun read that will keep you on

    Great zombie brain candy! A very fun read that will keep you one the edge of your seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Example: Highly Recommended - you must check it out!! Example: Highly Recommended - you must check it out!! ;)

    joe mckinney had me hooked with dead city, and has cemented his position as one of my all time favorite authors with apacolypse of the dead. awesome new take on the zombie genre. any fans of the genre would be doing theirselves a favor by checking this book out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Great read, Couldn't put it down

    The author takes you on a tour of a world where zombies exist behind a wall and like true Americans we become complacent about them, big mistake. The heroes are flawed, the vilians are misguided and the zombies are hungry: still it all becomes believable and you really cant ask for more than that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Loved It!

    I really enjoyed this book. I pretty much love any zombie book but this one does not disappoint. It was fast paced and you get to really like the characters. And, I almost think the zombies aren't the big deal about the book. It's about the people and what they do and how they handle stuff. But, there is still plenty of zombie stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    This is the most boring Zombie book ever written.

    It is slow, has characters no one cares about, and frankly adds nothing new or exciting to the genre. The zombies are boring and the characters are just as dull. There is nothing good to say bout this book. From the wishy-washy characters to the "Preacher" raping people, the whole thing is just stupid and boring. Stay away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Three stars

    This was good, i did'nt care for the ending. Left too many open ends. Theese people just drive off into the rising sun and then what, the zombies are still there, they are obviously too much for the military to handle, religion coundnt save them and then there could be a cure, i hope there is a second part to it. It was very visual. If you like death, mass suicides, zombies there alot of it here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Good bot not the best

    This is the second of mckinneys deadworld series after city of the dead. If you liked the one before then youll like this one too. Explains the origins of the zombie outbreak a little more than city of the dead did but it still leaves questions. Not agood acity of but still good.ss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Loved

    My new obsession is this series. The best zombie books yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    it let me down

    The concept of the story was good, but it jumped around too much. I didn't get a good sense of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great read

    Great zombie book with believable charactors and fast plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    It Jumps Around A Bit..

    I like it but it should stop jumping around each chapter. I'm barely on Ch. 6 it's a pretty good book but it's seems as if the author can't stay on 1 topic. I recommend it though. I can't seem to stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Fantastic

    Thesr books are awesome if you have a weird obsession with flesh eating zombies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    So exciting

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    must read

    If you love zombies then you wont be disappointed. Well except the last third of the book with the crazy cult people sorry to ruin the end. still a must read for all die hard zombie fans. Dead city was awesome, this one even better and i just downloaded book 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    very good

    just as good as dead city!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Great read!

    Couldn't put this one down. Captivating. Great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Zombie lives

    First, I want to say this book is a much improved work over the authors first book in the series. I felt the characters had more depth and definitely felt the broader scope of life here. There is a lot to follow here, and I will admit that it took a few turns back to really make sure I could keep track of the different characters and storylines, and at first, there is a lot to keep up with. It all comes together well and makes a satisfying zombie story. I am left wanting more from this world and would like to follow the surviving characters even more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    Most of the characters are well developed and the plot moves along at a good pace. I recommend this book.

    I finished this book a few days ago and the rest of this review may contain spoilers so read on at your own risk as I'm going to write what I think off the top of my head before the points fade from memory: The first book of McKinney's I read was Dead City and I liked the fast pace of it. I was a little unsure in that book as to the author's poking here or there at broader points and in this book, without a doubt, he does and I'm fine with that as a whole. In general zombie books suffer from a one sided dilemma. Authors of vampire or werewolf books get to draw metaphors and plot directions from the undead, but not in zombie books ... zombies just kinda moan and groan and the author has to use the living to press a point and a juicy plot. I think McKinney has done a fairly good job of that, but what is his broader point? Almost like a checklist on a notepad the author presents me with a few things that stood out: Courage without consequence is meaningless, loyalty to anything removes liberty but complete liberty leads to anarchy, nihilism is empty, one chooses to live and in that choice we acknowledge that life has meaning. He doesn't do this with metaphors or plot but almost with aphorisms inserted into the plot. In general I think he must point to virtue instead of courage without consequence because by the very nature of our causation its impossible for an action or inaction not to produce a consequence. So I feel he's poking at virtue here and I think he kinda jumps to the last point of virtue leading to choosing a life of meaning. I think that could be his broader point, but he doesn't expand enough on his checklist for a conclusion. I feel the author tries to draw a link to his middle points of anarchy and nihilism by saying we must reach a balance and then he sticks that into the sock of virtue by saying that by choosing to live we must acknowledge life has meaning and therefore it isn't a nest of nihilism ... have a nice day! Its primitive at best and the whole book more or less rests on it. Is it virtuous to choose only that which you have known? Is the word "death" a meaningless concept because it lacks personal experience? These thoughts should immediately come to mind. If one is to tread down this path, walk! Maybe he will walk some more in his next novel but he literally puts his toe in a pond and looks at the ripples and provides a crayon drawing. Maybe he's more of a philosopher than the book gives credit and he's building the next novel or maybe not. I get leery of ideological propaganda and so far I don't think he's going to cross that line. I like authors that provide a plot and characters that test ones convictions from the characters point of view. For example Dostoevsky does this. They make one understand, and sometimes love, the things one should despise so that one can come out with a broader prospective on life and this author had a really good opportunity with Jasper. I feel he did a great job developing Ed, Billy, Barnes and even Aaron but missed Jasper. Get rid of the checklist, stick those points into the plot, and use the character development of Jasper to ring the points home by making one actually understand the leader of this Jonestown. This novel is basically Jonestown with zombies and a checklist of philosophical aphorisms. Its OK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6