Customer Reviews for

Apocalypse of the Dead

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved It!

I really enjoyed this book. I pretty much love any zombie book but this one does not disappoint. It was fast paced and you get to really like the characters. And, I almost think the zombies aren't the big deal about the book. It's about the people and what they do and h...
I really enjoyed this book. I pretty much love any zombie book but this one does not disappoint. It was fast paced and you get to really like the characters. And, I almost think the zombies aren't the big deal about the book. It's about the people and what they do and how they handle stuff. But, there is still plenty of zombie stuff.

posted by Ace1289 on January 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

good read bad ending

i liked this book and the characters as well. the book definitly pulls you in and is very captivating, and i would definitly recommend it, my only complaint is the ending in my opinion sucked. it was like reading a great zombie novel with excellent action and character ...
i liked this book and the characters as well. the book definitly pulls you in and is very captivating, and i would definitly recommend it, my only complaint is the ending in my opinion sucked. it was like reading a great zombie novel with excellent action and character scenes, with just enough detail to pull you in but not overdo it, then it suddenly switches to religious nutcase story. SPOILER ALERT i loved the book but didnt care at all for how zombies dropped completely out of the story in the last fifth of the book to be replaced by a nutjob talking everyone into a mass suicide that all but a handful of the main characters are happy to participate in. end on a big fight or leave a cliffhanger, or on a cure, whichever i really dont care, but the everyone smiling and killing themselves ending sucked.

posted by 8104179 on February 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Great zombie brain candy! A very fun read that will keep you on

    Great zombie brain candy! A very fun read that will keep you one the edge of your seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Example: Highly Recommended - you must check it out!! Example: Highly Recommended - you must check it out!! ;)

    joe mckinney had me hooked with dead city, and has cemented his position as one of my all time favorite authors with apacolypse of the dead. awesome new take on the zombie genre. any fans of the genre would be doing theirselves a favor by checking this book out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Great read, Couldn't put it down

    The author takes you on a tour of a world where zombies exist behind a wall and like true Americans we become complacent about them, big mistake. The heroes are flawed, the vilians are misguided and the zombies are hungry: still it all becomes believable and you really cant ask for more than that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Loved It!

    I really enjoyed this book. I pretty much love any zombie book but this one does not disappoint. It was fast paced and you get to really like the characters. And, I almost think the zombies aren't the big deal about the book. It's about the people and what they do and how they handle stuff. But, there is still plenty of zombie stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Loved

    My new obsession is this series. The best zombie books yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Great read

    Great zombie book with believable charactors and fast plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Fantastic

    Thesr books are awesome if you have a weird obsession with flesh eating zombies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    must read

    If you love zombies then you wont be disappointed. Well except the last third of the book with the crazy cult people sorry to ruin the end. still a must read for all die hard zombie fans. Dead city was awesome, this one even better and i just downloaded book 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Great read!

    Couldn't put this one down. Captivating. Great characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Apocalypse of the Dead is a taut roller coaster thriller

    After the hurricanes destroyed much of Houston including the refineries, chemicals were released into the atmosphere, on the ground and in the water. A virus developed in the toxic soup. Those who caught it became zombie like creatures who feasted on uninfected human flesh. A barrier was created to keep in the infected and the uninfected who unfortunately were trapped with the monsters. The authorities have standing orders to kill anyone trying to breach the barrier.

    A daring group of uninfected survivors slip through the quarantine zone and head for Florida. However, one of them actually carries the virus, but has not shown the disease. By the time they reach The Sunshine State, they are all infected. They spread the disease rather quickly so that the authorities cannot contain the horrid pandemic that crosses the country. In North Dakota, Preacher Jasper forms a community that must conform to his rigid code based on his strict beliefs or face the consequences of zombie fever; some bow but some like retired US Marchsl Ed Moore choose to fight.

    Apocalypse of the Dead is a taut roller coaster thriller with plenty chills, spills, and terror. The authorities were so over confident in their conviction that the monsters could not escape they developed no contingency plans; their cockiness led to the pandemic and left it up to pockets of people to find ways to survive as the Preacher and the marshal did in diverse ways as the zombies are on the top of the food chain on the verge of dominance. Fans of zombie mania will appreciate Joe McKinney's apocalypse now.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3