Customer Reviews for

Apollyon (Covenant Series #4)

Average Rating 5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED LOVED LOVED this book!! I need some more! November can NOT

    LOVED LOVED LOVED this book!! I need some more! November can NOT come soon enough. I have to get the conclusion!!! There isn't a single book that I've ready by Jennifer L. Armentrout that I didn't love. She is a fantastic author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    Hell of a Cliff Hanger Apollyon was not something to completely

    Hell of a Cliff Hanger

    Apollyon was not something to completely rave about. It was okay but rather slow and very anti-climatic in  terms of the overall series. Watching Alex be consumed and controlled by Seth was amusing but it gets old fast, especially if you read Elixir. 

    Positives? Alex has finally matured in the book and it shows brilliantly as you read through it. There are no words for Aiden. Post Alex's death, Aiden is a new man who openly shows his affections and love for Alex. He even proves to be extremely overprotective while never losing the traits that make his such a badass character. You don't really see much of Seth this time around, aside from him popping up in Alex's head from time to time. Apollo is amusing. He acts so ungodly at times, it's hard to reconcile that he is actually a god. Whatever his drive and motive, Apollo proves that he cares for Alex. Marcus, Deacon, Solo and the rest of the nine add to the overall story. As secondary characters, you actually like them instead of wondering why they're even around.

    The plot was lacking. Again, this installment felt more like filler with very little plot progression. This plot of this book can be summed up in one sentence: Upon awakening Alex needed to break her connection with Seth and find the key to transferring Seth's powers to herself, making her the God Killer. The way the book ended doesn't sit well with me. It was a very good cliffhanger. However, it really just stops mid-action.

    Apollyon is an entertaining yet aggravating read that is sure to please. Let's hope the Sentinel can bring this series to a close positively, instead of some cliche ending. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    Great series!

    Very good series! It's been hard to put down! Can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Tttyer

    Ufoooo rertujfjgj v bjnjgbngyhfyhhigghchhfggxgfyhvkgfjfgshggdcgutvg dheynm,v.mnhkhgmngkjijpohjdgcbbx dydhbguyvjtgfdygejbvtgghhaujffngh rhbfbvbvmnnhjjfkfnvgnfbbvb hgghvccddsdsxdgdhfggdhcabzn rthgttuhhndfv fkgvb efvfvctbyfetcygfjdidididovidydjdififidkfkvkfkgofoflfkf k k k kjyxmy nr kkkkkkkhgnghsbdjvkhnjbhhghgghhhhggghgggggggggggggggggggggggggggg&gfffffffffffffdffffff

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!! Oh jeez I can't wait for the next one!!! Th

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!! Oh jeez I can't wait for the next one!!! This book answered some of the questions I had when i finished the third book in the series. Awesome series! Totally believe everyone should go read them! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Amazing

    This series is so amazing i just wished i didnt have to wait until dec to find out what happened to her friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Amazing!


    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Yet another amazing book by Jennifer Armentrout! I absolutely l

    Yet another amazing book by Jennifer Armentrout! I absolutely loved it! I cannot wait for Sentinal!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Soo umm like what am i supposed to do for like the next 7 months?

    Jennifer is probably one of my top favorite authors with cassandra clare ...this book series is sooo intense funny at times and it keeps you at the edge of your seat!!!!!if I were u I would imediately read this book!!!!!like pronto!!!!!sry if there r spelling errors I wrote this pretty fast:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    This book was definitely worth the wait! For me, there wasn't a

    This book was definitely worth the wait! For me, there wasn't a dull moment in this book.  (There may be spoilers so read on at your own risk!) Jennifer did a great job of reminding us how important every character is to the series. Every chapter was action packed. And the chemistry between Aiden and Alex was in every page! I also love the way Jennifer wrote Alex's character to have the readers (us) understand the connection between her and Seth. Alex's "smart ass" remarks made me smile even at the darkest moments and I'm glad she never completely loses sight of who she is. This book did not disappoint and I will be waiting patiently (or not) for the release of the final book. :)  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Great book!

    As always, love this author! Can't wait for the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

       As usual, Jennifer does NOT disappoint!    It was so hard in

       As usual, Jennifer does NOT disappoint!
       It was so hard in the beginning when Alex was connect to Seth, and calling him "my Seth." She was so obviously not herself and that is not what I want for any person. I think that it is very important to be yourself and not change for anyone, especially a guy. I know that it was all the bond and supernatural forces, but it was still hard to read. I knew that it was coming but it was still hard to deal with.
       You could also so clearly see the love of Aidan for Alex in what he had to do to keep her safe. Being by her side day by day and watching her and listening her talk about Seth like he was the best thing since sliced bread. (You can get all of this from last book or the first chapter, so not really a spoiler.)
       But on to happier things, I love reading about them. Their connection is so pure, hot and epic. I want for Aiden to look at me like that, but I guess I will settle for him looking at Alex that way.
       The plot twists never fail to get me. I don't know how Jennifer can keep surprising me, but she does.  Her pacing is breakneck, and she always ends the stories in a way that leave me wanting to stalk her to find out what happens next. Though, the ending of this one is not quite as evil as previous stories. AND--We get the answer to some questions but then more just pop right up. I love reading this series, and will be so sad when it is over and I can no longer be in the head of Alex, and drool over Aidan.
        Needless to say, I was so glad when Alex was back to herself. She has matured so much but it didn't take away from who she is fundamentally, it just grows her and makes her better. She still kicks butt, still questions things not just accepting how things are, and she still loves those around her so fiercely.
       I feel so sorry for Seth and am so mad at him all at the same time. I understand that the power is seductive, but I just wish for the banter and the guy that I got to know in the previous books.
       Not only is the inside of the story every flavor of amazing, the covers always make me so happy. I could stare at them, and I am proud to have them on my bookshelf.
        I cannot recommend this series enough, if you haven't yet, get on the band wagon, it is a good one to be on.




    Bottom Line: Amazing series, author and can't recommend it enough.
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Awsome book

    A lot of foreshadowing, but i never got what god did it. I'm pretty sure Alex has a baby or some supernatural in her. I liked the series a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved, loved, loved this book. All of the installments in the

    I loved, loved, loved this book. All of the installments in the series have been awesome, but this has been my favorite, along with Half-Blood. I am a huge fan of Jennifer Armentrout's and I love all of her books. Alex, however, is my favorite female main character, not just from this series, but she is on the top of my list from all the books I've read. She is snarky, loyal, loves fiercely, is absolutely hilarious at times, can be a little arrogant, is sometimes cocky, and is a total badass. I just love her. As far as the male main characters/love interests go, in the beginning, I liked Aiden, I mean he is a total hottie and absolutely swoon-worthy but he didn't quite do it for me, not like Daemon from the Lux series anyway. What I did like, and have always liked, is the chemistry between Aiden and Alex, which has always been off the charts hot, and get ready girls, cause it gets even hotter in Apollyon. In Pure, I switched to team Seth. He's a bad boy, and I have a weakness for them. He also seemed like a pretty good guy in Pure. In Deity, I fell in love with Aiden. He absolutely won my heart and I will never leave nor forsake him again. I am team Aiden forever. Till death do us part and all that jazz. In Elixir, you get to see another side of Aiden and I loved getting inside his head.




    In Apollyon, everything gets more intense and even hotter in every sense of the word. If you haven't read Elixir, I would definitely do that before starting Apollyon. There are kick-ass battles with people, mythical beasts, and gods. There are hot and steamy love scenes, some really scary moments, some really sad moments, and some absolutely hilarious ones. The secondary characters in this story are so much fun and are such an integral part of the story. Jennifer Armentrout has done an outstanding job in writing them and I have become so attached to some of them also, especially Deacon. It's hard to write too much about what goes on without spoiling the series for someone, but trust me when I say, this is one series that you won't want to miss. I was captivated from beginning to end, laughing, wanting to ninja kick something, fanning my face, and then wanting to cry. Jennifer Armentrout has outdone herself yet once again with Apollyon. It is an absolutely amazing book from a truly gifted and talented author who has quickly shown the literary community just what she is made of. In fact, I think that there may be a little Alex living inside of Jennifer Armentrout as well. I bet she's even got some badass ninja moves herself. Seriously, if you haven't checked out this series, make the time to do so. You won't be disappointed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Let the smackdown begin

    Apollyon is amazing! Ive waited so long for this to come out and it did not disappoint. Jennifer has this amazing ability to weave humor and suspense in such a way that your facial expressions go from shock from what's happening to smiling and giggling about the comments Alex and Aiden are making. Absolutely cannot get enough of these characters. And especially after the way this book ends I need the next and final*tear* book, Sentinel,now! Definitely recommend this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, hello...my brain..it's just...well...fried! OY! Jennifer ha

    Wow, hello...my brain..it's just...well...fried! OY! Jennifer has managed to do it again. HOW does she do it? Review to come closer to publication.




    So, you can imagine that letting myself sit for two months to brood over this book has gotten my head in all kinds of tangles. I want to thank Spencer Hill Press for sending me an ARC of this book to read and give an honest review.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.
    Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.
    The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.
    Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.




    If you did not read Deity or Elixir, do not read past here because you will get spoilers, so you are now for-warned!




    You know what I love about Armentrout, well, just about everything. There is not one thing I can say about this book that is negative. This series has me totally engrossed and has swept me off my feet. And, each book is just as good if not better than the last. I mean, how does she even DO THAT? Now, I will say that I did prefer Deity over this one, just because I really enjoyed the storyline and all that came with the growing relationship between Alex and Aiden. But, this book had such a great story, as well. It's gripping and intense, just as the others were. 




    Alex, well, her character just amazes me. She is SO STRONG. She fights and fights and fights until it exhausts her. I didn't think it was possible for her to be a stronger person, but she just is. She learns from her mistakes. She uses her skills to make herself a better person. She's loving and caring and just totally amazing. She has hope, which allows me to have hope. And she cries and grieves for her friends and the people she loses but takes that anger and grief and turns it into something she can use. Something to fuel her fight and give her reason to go on. She's powerful in so many ways, not just physically, but emotionally. And she draws you right into her story, takes a complete hold of you and doesn't let you go. Most of all I love her spunk. She's witty and funny and most of all she doesn't give up, ever.
    Aiden, well, he's just as swoon worthy here as always. He's so loving, it almost breaks my heart (in a good way, mind you). And it was so great to watch the relationship between him and Alex blossom even more. To find him showing her affection in the presence of those he never would have before. To see him stand behind her through thick and thin. He's sexy and brave, and always so tender. I want to squish him to me and never let him go. He has a way of making the heart go pitter patter and then skip a beat, because he's just that gripping. But it's not only the love he shows for Alex that has me falling over him. It's the love he shows for his brother and all his friends, how he wants to protect everyone from the bad and only wants there to be good.
    Seth, well, he's still Seth. Tho, I think he does change a bit in this book. I had felt badly for him in Pure, then in Deity I hated him. Now, I just don't know. i know he loves Alex, there is no doubt in my mind. But I think this poor boy is confused and has been almost mind melded by others. He was taken at an impressionable age and molded into something that I don't think he really is. That being said, I do think there is redemption, somewhere. I hope that JLA gives that to him. I would hate to see him meet a terrible fate.
    Apollo, well, what can I say. This guy makes me laugh, but he also totally pisses me off. I won't say much more than that because I don't want to ruin things.




    The story, well, what's not to like. Alex is strong and able to become herself. She is able to fight for what she believes is right with Aiden at her side. The story moves and flows easily. Rolling off the page and right into your head and heart. JLA just has a way of doing that. She takes you to a point where you think you might explode and then pulls you back just a little bit, enough to leave you wanting...no BEGGING for more. Yes, she is that good.




    I liked how the setting changes in this book. You do not experience the story in just one place. It moves around and brings you with it. You are ready to stand up and fight with Alex and Aiden and the rest of the crew. And the pacing was great. JLA knows just when to put you inside a love scene or a tender moment to cool you down from a red hot fight. It's not too little and it's not too much. It's just right!




    So, am I giving this book a 5, YES! There's no way I can give it anything less. I am chomping at the bit for the next installment (which is SO FAR AWAY! ACK!). I am pumped to see how JLA decides to end this, and I really need to find out what she intends to do with Seth! So with that, I bid you adieu and happy reading. If you love JLA and you are a fan of this series, Apollyon will not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    WOW! Please let the next book be the last book...I'm not sure ho

    WOW! Please let the next book be the last book...I'm not sure how much longer I can live with the suspense of what will happen to Alex! This book was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Alex has discovered how special she really is; not only is she a

    Alex has discovered how special she really is; not only is she a half-blood, but she is also an Apollyon. Alex had to rise to new challenges and had to face many of her fears. Even when she didn’t believe in herself, she had people around her that did -- especially Aiden. Her world is crumbling down around her. Will she make it out alive?




    Jennifer Armentrout has done it again -- her books are like a bad drug addiction. Just like every book of hers that I have finished -- in this series and the Lux series -- I have been left craving more. Without another one to read, I go instantly into withdrawals. I have no idea how I’m going to wait for the conclusion to this amazing series. She seriously makes me feel like a crazed junkie. Thankfully, she writes fast and publishes books fairly faster than other authors.




    The characters are pushed even farther in this book. There are a lot of holy crap moments and some great action scenes. This book was intense, to say the least; and I don’t want to give too much away, especially to people who haven’t read this series yet. I’m terrified for the next book to see how this all ends up, and I know I will be sad to say goodbye to this world and these amazing characters that have found a permanent place in my heart.




    This is one of my favorite series, and I highly recommend it! You won’t be able to put these books down until you finish them. I have to go back to read the other ones to review them because I couldn’t stop reading them to review them, and I don’t want to accidentally mix up what happened in each specific book. It is a great series for readers of any age.




    I received this book from the publisher, Spencer Hill Press, for review. Thank you Spencer Hill Press!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    5

    Each book just gets better and better! One of the scenes was heartbreaking, though, but I don't want to spoil it. I hope we hear from this character again-maybe an Underworld visit or shade visit, just to hear some snarky closure. That was just so sad.

    As always, I loved Alex and Aiden in this book. And somewhere in the back of my mind, I still hold out hope for Seth too. I'd really like him to have a HEA as well. Not to mention, I hope he rallies for Alex.

    Overall, great book and great series. It has the awesome feel of the Camp Half Blood and the Vamp Academy books, combined. I can't wait for the final book, even though I know it will be bittersweet. This is a series that I will definitely reread, because I really do love the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Haven't read it yet, but from what everyone who got an ARC has s

    Haven't read it yet, but from what everyone who got an ARC has said, the book is the best one yet. I love this series and I know I won't be disappointed. Sentinel better come out soon...:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5