Customer Reviews for

Apollyon (Covenant Series #4)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog APO

    ~Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    APOLLYON was like climbing a mountain, tough in the beginning but an exhilarating experience in the end. ~ Under the Covers

    APOLLYON is the fourth book in the highly anticipated Covenant series. Now if you haven’t read ELIXIR, the free short that’s available here, then STOP!!! Because you won’t have a clue of what’s going on. APOLLYON starts off right where ELIXIR ends and I can’t stress enough the importance of reading the free short before this. It’s free so there shouldn’t be a big hassle on getting your hands on it.

    Alex is still being watched like a hawk by Aiden in the concealed areas she is confined to. She is still connected to Seth, essentially her other – evil – half. Aiden holds Alex in his heart and Alex is trying to her best get out to find Seth. However, after a surprise visit from an old friend and some help from another good friend through compulsion, Alex finds her way out and runs for her life. Something crazy happens and – poof!- she finds herself separated from Seth and thinking clearly from his influence. Though Aiden believes in Alex 100%, not everyone else does and they are just waiting for the one moment with Seth finds Alex once again.

    APOLLYON has its ups and downs. I found that Armentrout has a pattern. She starts of her books slow, building with each increment towards the end until BAM! She hits you with a load of action and suspense. What’s great is that at the end, readers are usually a puddle of goo and are still trying to recover. However, that in contrast makes the beginning feel very, very slow. For me, it was like I was climbing a mountain, tough in the beginning but an exhilarating experience in the end.

    Seth and Aiden are the two main heroes whom Alex is stuck in the middle of. Alex and Aiden truly love each other and you definitely get a sense of that. However, I was missing that excitement that the initial books of the series had. Both Seth and Aiden are interesting characters, but in this book, Aiden is stepping up as the main man. But for some reason, I haven’t completely jumped on board. He seems like the perfect match for Alex. I must have missed the ship on that one because everyone seems to adore him and I’m still trying to convince myself that it’s right.

    There are plenty of gods in this book. Armentrout definitely kicks things up in terms of the mythology and the plot, which definitely makes it feel like a very rich experience. I did notice that the author likes to tell, instead of show the events as they transpire, but I think that’s because so much more happens than Alex can pick up.

    *ARC provided by publisher

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I cannot believe the end is almost here. Things are so close to

    I cannot believe the end is almost here. Things are so close to coming full circle. Seeing as Apollyon is the second to last book in the Covenant series, I wish I could have taken my time reading it. But it's pretty much impossible for me to savor these books. I just can't read them fast enough, not when the story is utterly addicting and not when I'm desperate to know what happens next with Alex and Aiden.

    What I loved the most about Apollyon is how it's Alex's story with Aiden right there at her side. That's what I've always wanted. Them working and being together without fear of the consequences. And if there's any two people who have proven they would do anything and everything for each other, it's Alex and Aiden. Out of all the characters, I believe they deserve their happy ending the most. They've come a long way and gone through so much that I don't see why they shouldn't have one.

    Something I immediately noticed in this book was how much Alex and Aiden have grown. Aiden finally learns to forgive himself, to live in the moment and let loose. It was fun, refreshing, and cute to see him open up. Alex continues to mature more and more. She has patience and is no longer as reckless as she use to be. Without, of course, losing her snarky and outgoing personality. Alex also begins to realize that the war is way bigger than herself and that she can't do it alone. That's another reason why I'm glad Aiden is there for her. He keeps her focused and grounded. These two really do become stronger and better people when they're together.

    Love is such an important theme in the series. The characters find hope and strength through love, so it would be wrong of me not to mention the romance that filled the pages of Apollyon. All the intimate moments (and there were TONS) between Alex and Aiden were extremely steamy and satisfying. My favorites were definitely the shower and spring scenes. I couldn't help but to grin like an idiot throughout the book. Really, could Aiden be any more sexy and perfect and wonderful? He had me swooning all over the place. I will be devastated and beyond heartbroken if Alex and Aiden don't get a happy ending together.

    The ending of Apollyon wasn't a brutal cliffhanger like Deity. Praise Apollo! It left me feeling calm and hopeful. It's a relief to not feel like I'm going to suffer while waiting for the final book. But I admit, sometimes when I stop to think about what Alex is up against I begin to worry. How is this all really going to end for Alex and those important to her? How much will she be able to accomplish in one last book? Will it be enough? Like I said, I have hope. Deep down, though, I'm afraid. I need more reassurance. I don't think I will even try to predict what will happen next because I know I won't even be close. I'm just going to hold on tightly to the very last lines in Apollyon and pray that those words do come true.

    Jennifer L. Armentrout truly has succeeded in keeping her readers guessing and on their toes. Apollyon didn't give us all the answers and basically set up what is sure to be a stunning conclusion in the final book of the Covenant series. I'm dying to read Sentinel, but at the same time, thinking about never reading anything new about these characters again makes me want to tear up. But it just goes to show how amazing the story and the characters are I'm wishing it would never end.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic! I don't know how she does it but Jennifer L. Armentro

    Fantastic!
    I don't know how she does it but Jennifer L. Armentrout has outdone herself again because this was amazegods! She brings the world of Greek mythology to life in an engaging and humorous way like no one else and don't even get me started on the kissing scenes. *fans face*

    What I LOVED: Each of The Covenant Series covers have a unique ethereal beauty to them and I'm a sucker for a pretty front cover, however, the back of Apollyon is probably my favorite! It's truly creeptastic! (Creepy + fantastic = creeptastic)

    Apollyon picks up where Elixir (Covenant #3.5) leaves off and if you haven't read that yet, which I can't imagine you haven't, I mean, it is an entire novella of just Aiden. (AIDEN ST. DELPHI PEOPLE! *shakes fist*) Anyway, if you haven't read Elixir, I suggest you do ASAP, otherwise, the emotional intensity of the first chapters won't have quite the same significance.

    One of the things I enjoy about Alex's character besides her snarkiness is that she's a fighter. She doesn't just give up when things get tough. Yeah, she might want to run away or you know, hide in a closet but that's totally understandable. *shrugs* She knows what her purpose is and the risks surrounding it but she still wants to make sure the people she cares about will be okay even if she's not. Alex also tries to see past people's faults and wants to believe there's still hope, even for someone like Seth, much to the chagrin of everyone else.

    The relationship between Aiden and Alex is bittersweet and his willingness to do whatever it takes to bring Alex back; to not let her forget who she really is regardless of what it may mean for him is heart-achingly beautiful. (If you don't fall in lurve with the swoonilicious Sentinel by the end of this book, then you have issues. Just saying.)

    The witty banter between the characters and Jennifer's ability to infuse humor into the most stressful situations had me laughing until I cried. The pop culture references are always entertaining and I think Persephone is my new favorite goddess.

    What left me wanting: Can I have Sentinel today please?! *bribes with chocolate peanut butter cupcakes* ;)

    Final verdict: Action, adventure and a whole lot of swoon, Apollyon is easily the best Covenant novel to date!

    Favorite quote(s):
    Eíste pànta mou... You are my everything. <-- O.O

    "There's nothing creepier than having a psychotic Apollyon caged in the basement."

    He turned, brows furrowed. "I don't even know what that move was." I flipped the dagger in my right hand. "It's called being awesome and it worked."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Loved it!!! Now I have to wait for Sentinel which makes me sad :

    Loved it!!! Now I have to wait for Sentinel which makes me sad :..(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This was a solid book four for this series (well kind of 5 if yo

    This was a solid book four for this series (well kind of 5 if you count Daimon). This wasn’t as fast paced and action packed as Deity but there was a lot of story and character development that needed to happen in this book. It picks up where Elixir leaves off and we still find Alex under the influence of Seth. In fact there was definitely moments where I thought in my head, if she calls him “my seth” one more time I’m going to climb into the book and deck. She actually addresses this a little bit later but it was pretty funny. There was no point that I was bored or didn’t feel like things were moving fast enough and this book has swoon worthy moments all over it. So you can definitely get your dose of some Aiden love in it.
    Aiden and Alex’s relationship is sweet and has the love conquers all theme to it. I like it and the way that they keep one another on their toes. It’s the kind that makes you smile every time you read a part with it in there. Even when Alex is threatening to murder Aiden and his entire family his dedication to her and belief in her is remarkable. How can you not love the guy.
    Alex keeps her bad ass attitude, whether she is psychotic Alex or regular Alex. As much as she drove me crazy when she was connected to Seth, she was kind of entertaining that way. You never knew what to expect from her and what she would do.
    There are many things that are revealed in this book, especially about the Gods. I think also you can see how enemies become friends since the world is going to hell in a hand basket. We also have some more interaction with some of the Gods we had yet to encounter in the previous books. We also find out who is behind have two apollyons and to be honest I was not surprised. Although there is a twist that goes along with it that I did not expect.
    We also get some change in scenery and which includes a little trip to the underworld. As soon as they made the plans I got excited. I’m not sure what is with me and the Underworld but I think there are so many adventurous things you can do with it. Which Jennifer definitely does. I actually finished reading the book and looked at my husband and told him if I die to make sure I have money with me just to be on the safe side. I don’t want to be stuck in the Underworld version of purgatory. You can tell though that’s how involved in the plot I was.
    You can tell that this book was the intermission before the big explosion that will be Sentinal. I’m not sure how I’m going to be able to wait to get my hands on it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    This book was definitely worth the wait! For me, there wasn't a

    This book was definitely worth the wait! For me, there wasn't a dull moment in this book.  (There may be spoilers so read on at your own risk!) Jennifer did a great job of reminding us how important every character is to the series. Every chapter was action packed. And the chemistry between Aiden and Alex was in every page! I also love the way Jennifer wrote Alex's character to have the readers (us) understand the connection between her and Seth. Alex's "smart ass" remarks made me smile even at the darkest moments and I'm glad she never completely loses sight of who she is. This book did not disappoint and I will be waiting patiently (or not) for the release of the final book. :)  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

       As usual, Jennifer does NOT disappoint!    It was so hard in

       As usual, Jennifer does NOT disappoint!
       It was so hard in the beginning when Alex was connect to Seth, and calling him "my Seth." She was so obviously not herself and that is not what I want for any person. I think that it is very important to be yourself and not change for anyone, especially a guy. I know that it was all the bond and supernatural forces, but it was still hard to read. I knew that it was coming but it was still hard to deal with.
       You could also so clearly see the love of Aidan for Alex in what he had to do to keep her safe. Being by her side day by day and watching her and listening her talk about Seth like he was the best thing since sliced bread. (You can get all of this from last book or the first chapter, so not really a spoiler.)
       But on to happier things, I love reading about them. Their connection is so pure, hot and epic. I want for Aiden to look at me like that, but I guess I will settle for him looking at Alex that way.
       The plot twists never fail to get me. I don't know how Jennifer can keep surprising me, but she does.  Her pacing is breakneck, and she always ends the stories in a way that leave me wanting to stalk her to find out what happens next. Though, the ending of this one is not quite as evil as previous stories. AND--We get the answer to some questions but then more just pop right up. I love reading this series, and will be so sad when it is over and I can no longer be in the head of Alex, and drool over Aidan.
        Needless to say, I was so glad when Alex was back to herself. She has matured so much but it didn't take away from who she is fundamentally, it just grows her and makes her better. She still kicks butt, still questions things not just accepting how things are, and she still loves those around her so fiercely.
       I feel so sorry for Seth and am so mad at him all at the same time. I understand that the power is seductive, but I just wish for the banter and the guy that I got to know in the previous books.
       Not only is the inside of the story every flavor of amazing, the covers always make me so happy. I could stare at them, and I am proud to have them on my bookshelf.
        I cannot recommend this series enough, if you haven't yet, get on the band wagon, it is a good one to be on.




    Bottom Line: Amazing series, author and can't recommend it enough.
     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved, loved, loved this book. All of the installments in the

    I loved, loved, loved this book. All of the installments in the series have been awesome, but this has been my favorite, along with Half-Blood. I am a huge fan of Jennifer Armentrout's and I love all of her books. Alex, however, is my favorite female main character, not just from this series, but she is on the top of my list from all the books I've read. She is snarky, loyal, loves fiercely, is absolutely hilarious at times, can be a little arrogant, is sometimes cocky, and is a total badass. I just love her. As far as the male main characters/love interests go, in the beginning, I liked Aiden, I mean he is a total hottie and absolutely swoon-worthy but he didn't quite do it for me, not like Daemon from the Lux series anyway. What I did like, and have always liked, is the chemistry between Aiden and Alex, which has always been off the charts hot, and get ready girls, cause it gets even hotter in Apollyon. In Pure, I switched to team Seth. He's a bad boy, and I have a weakness for them. He also seemed like a pretty good guy in Pure. In Deity, I fell in love with Aiden. He absolutely won my heart and I will never leave nor forsake him again. I am team Aiden forever. Till death do us part and all that jazz. In Elixir, you get to see another side of Aiden and I loved getting inside his head.




    In Apollyon, everything gets more intense and even hotter in every sense of the word. If you haven't read Elixir, I would definitely do that before starting Apollyon. There are kick-ass battles with people, mythical beasts, and gods. There are hot and steamy love scenes, some really scary moments, some really sad moments, and some absolutely hilarious ones. The secondary characters in this story are so much fun and are such an integral part of the story. Jennifer Armentrout has done an outstanding job in writing them and I have become so attached to some of them also, especially Deacon. It's hard to write too much about what goes on without spoiling the series for someone, but trust me when I say, this is one series that you won't want to miss. I was captivated from beginning to end, laughing, wanting to ninja kick something, fanning my face, and then wanting to cry. Jennifer Armentrout has outdone herself yet once again with Apollyon. It is an absolutely amazing book from a truly gifted and talented author who has quickly shown the literary community just what she is made of. In fact, I think that there may be a little Alex living inside of Jennifer Armentrout as well. I bet she's even got some badass ninja moves herself. Seriously, if you haven't checked out this series, make the time to do so. You won't be disappointed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, hello...my brain..it's just...well...fried! OY! Jennifer ha

    Wow, hello...my brain..it's just...well...fried! OY! Jennifer has managed to do it again. HOW does she do it? Review to come closer to publication.




    So, you can imagine that letting myself sit for two months to brood over this book has gotten my head in all kinds of tangles. I want to thank Spencer Hill Press for sending me an ARC of this book to read and give an honest review.




    Blurb from Goodreads:
    Fate isn’t something to mess with… and now, neither is Alex.
    Alex has always feared two things: losing herself in the Awakening and being placed on the Elixir. But love has always been stronger than Fate, and Aiden St. Delphi is willing to make war on the gods—and Alex herself—to bring her back.
    The gods have killed thousands and could destroy entire cities in their quest to stop Seth from taking Alex’s power and becoming the all-powerful God Killer. But breaking Alex’s connection to Seth isn’t the only problem. There are a few pesky little loopholes in the whole “an Apollyon can’t be killed” theory, and the only person who might know how to stop the destruction has been dead for centuries.
    Finding their way past the barriers that guard the Underworld, searching for one soul among countless millions, and then somehow returning will be hard enough. Alex might be able to keep Seth from becoming the God Killer… or she might become the God Killer herself.




    If you did not read Deity or Elixir, do not read past here because you will get spoilers, so you are now for-warned!




    You know what I love about Armentrout, well, just about everything. There is not one thing I can say about this book that is negative. This series has me totally engrossed and has swept me off my feet. And, each book is just as good if not better than the last. I mean, how does she even DO THAT? Now, I will say that I did prefer Deity over this one, just because I really enjoyed the storyline and all that came with the growing relationship between Alex and Aiden. But, this book had such a great story, as well. It's gripping and intense, just as the others were. 




    Alex, well, her character just amazes me. She is SO STRONG. She fights and fights and fights until it exhausts her. I didn't think it was possible for her to be a stronger person, but she just is. She learns from her mistakes. She uses her skills to make herself a better person. She's loving and caring and just totally amazing. She has hope, which allows me to have hope. And she cries and grieves for her friends and the people she loses but takes that anger and grief and turns it into something she can use. Something to fuel her fight and give her reason to go on. She's powerful in so many ways, not just physically, but emotionally. And she draws you right into her story, takes a complete hold of you and doesn't let you go. Most of all I love her spunk. She's witty and funny and most of all she doesn't give up, ever.
    Aiden, well, he's just as swoon worthy here as always. He's so loving, it almost breaks my heart (in a good way, mind you). And it was so great to watch the relationship between him and Alex blossom even more. To find him showing her affection in the presence of those he never would have before. To see him stand behind her through thick and thin. He's sexy and brave, and always so tender. I want to squish him to me and never let him go. He has a way of making the heart go pitter patter and then skip a beat, because he's just that gripping. But it's not only the love he shows for Alex that has me falling over him. It's the love he shows for his brother and all his friends, how he wants to protect everyone from the bad and only wants there to be good.
    Seth, well, he's still Seth. Tho, I think he does change a bit in this book. I had felt badly for him in Pure, then in Deity I hated him. Now, I just don't know. i know he loves Alex, there is no doubt in my mind. But I think this poor boy is confused and has been almost mind melded by others. He was taken at an impressionable age and molded into something that I don't think he really is. That being said, I do think there is redemption, somewhere. I hope that JLA gives that to him. I would hate to see him meet a terrible fate.
    Apollo, well, what can I say. This guy makes me laugh, but he also totally pisses me off. I won't say much more than that because I don't want to ruin things.




    The story, well, what's not to like. Alex is strong and able to become herself. She is able to fight for what she believes is right with Aiden at her side. The story moves and flows easily. Rolling off the page and right into your head and heart. JLA just has a way of doing that. She takes you to a point where you think you might explode and then pulls you back just a little bit, enough to leave you wanting...no BEGGING for more. Yes, she is that good.




    I liked how the setting changes in this book. You do not experience the story in just one place. It moves around and brings you with it. You are ready to stand up and fight with Alex and Aiden and the rest of the crew. And the pacing was great. JLA knows just when to put you inside a love scene or a tender moment to cool you down from a red hot fight. It's not too little and it's not too much. It's just right!




    So, am I giving this book a 5, YES! There's no way I can give it anything less. I am chomping at the bit for the next installment (which is SO FAR AWAY! ACK!). I am pumped to see how JLA decides to end this, and I really need to find out what she intends to do with Seth! So with that, I bid you adieu and happy reading. If you love JLA and you are a fan of this series, Apollyon will not disappoint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    WOW! Please let the next book be the last book...I'm not sure ho

    WOW! Please let the next book be the last book...I'm not sure how much longer I can live with the suspense of what will happen to Alex! This book was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Alex has discovered how special she really is; not only is she a

    Alex has discovered how special she really is; not only is she a half-blood, but she is also an Apollyon. Alex had to rise to new challenges and had to face many of her fears. Even when she didn’t believe in herself, she had people around her that did -- especially Aiden. Her world is crumbling down around her. Will she make it out alive?




    Jennifer Armentrout has done it again -- her books are like a bad drug addiction. Just like every book of hers that I have finished -- in this series and the Lux series -- I have been left craving more. Without another one to read, I go instantly into withdrawals. I have no idea how I’m going to wait for the conclusion to this amazing series. She seriously makes me feel like a crazed junkie. Thankfully, she writes fast and publishes books fairly faster than other authors.




    The characters are pushed even farther in this book. There are a lot of holy crap moments and some great action scenes. This book was intense, to say the least; and I don’t want to give too much away, especially to people who haven’t read this series yet. I’m terrified for the next book to see how this all ends up, and I know I will be sad to say goodbye to this world and these amazing characters that have found a permanent place in my heart.




    This is one of my favorite series, and I highly recommend it! You won’t be able to put these books down until you finish them. I have to go back to read the other ones to review them because I couldn’t stop reading them to review them, and I don’t want to accidentally mix up what happened in each specific book. It is a great series for readers of any age.




    I received this book from the publisher, Spencer Hill Press, for review. Thank you Spencer Hill Press!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1