Customer Reviews for

Apollyon: The Destroyer Is Unleashed

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Apollyon

Apollyon is the fifth book in the Left Behind Series and one of my favorites. This book begins with the ministry of the two witnesses, Eli and Moishe, who prophecy from the Temple Mount in Jerusalem. These men are described in Revelation 11:

"And I will appoint m...
Apollyon is the fifth book in the Left Behind Series and one of my favorites. This book begins with the ministry of the two witnesses, Eli and Moishe, who prophecy from the Temple Mount in Jerusalem. These men are described in Revelation 11:

"And I will appoint my two witnesses, and they will prophesy for 1,260 days, clothed in sackcloth. They are the two olive trees and the two lampstands, and they stand before the Lord of the earth. If anyone tries to harm them, fire comes from their mouths and devours their enemies. This is how anyone who wants to harm them must die. They have power to shut up the heavens so that it will not rain during the time they are prophesying; and they have power to turn the waters into blood and to strike the earth with every kind of plague as often as they want."

I so enjoyed having the plot play out against the backdrop of Israel as the characters get a firsthand view of the dramatic goings-on in the Holy City. In the following excerpt, Buck takes comfort from his interaction with the prophets . . .



"Buck felt his knees weaken. He couldn't take his eyes off the witnesses . . . They seemed to know the people of God. Should he say anything? What does one say? . . .



When he was close to them before, he had the wrought iron fence between them. Of course, nothing could protect anyone from beings like this who carried the firepower of God himself. Buck fell to his knees as they passed within ten feet of him, and he looked up as he heard them murmuring.



Moishe said, 'The Lord of Hosts hath sworn, saying, Surely as I have thought, so shall it come to pass; and as I have purposed, so shall it stand.'



At the words of God, Buck dropped his face into the grass and wept. God's very thoughts would come to pass, and His purposes would stand. No one could come against the anointed ones of God until God decided it was time."

Being reminded of those words not only comforted Buck but also comforted me!

The Bible says that at the root of all world events is a spiritual battle. "For we wrestle not against flesh and blood but against spiritual wickedness in high places." However, since God often works behind the scenes, players on the world stage are able to hide this pretty well. Only by living close to God and steeping myself in His Word am I able to catch a glimpse of the reality behind history's lies. I love how the Left Behind novels helped me envision a time when the Lord will step out from behind the curtain and take center stage. Maranatha! Come, Lord Jesus!

posted by ReneeAnn on July 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Crap

These books are nothing but fight wing teabagger crap. Dont waste your time. Irecieved this as a gift and it is going in the trash- it isnt even worthy of Goodwill. This is a poor excuse for literature.

posted by Anonymous on January 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Apollyon

    Apollyon is the fifth book in the Left Behind Series and one of my favorites. This book begins with the ministry of the two witnesses, Eli and Moishe, who prophecy from the Temple Mount in Jerusalem. These men are described in Revelation 11:

    "And I will appoint my two witnesses, and they will prophesy for 1,260 days, clothed in sackcloth. They are the two olive trees and the two lampstands, and they stand before the Lord of the earth. If anyone tries to harm them, fire comes from their mouths and devours their enemies. This is how anyone who wants to harm them must die. They have power to shut up the heavens so that it will not rain during the time they are prophesying; and they have power to turn the waters into blood and to strike the earth with every kind of plague as often as they want."

    I so enjoyed having the plot play out against the backdrop of Israel as the characters get a firsthand view of the dramatic goings-on in the Holy City. In the following excerpt, Buck takes comfort from his interaction with the prophets . . .



    "Buck felt his knees weaken. He couldn't take his eyes off the witnesses . . . They seemed to know the people of God. Should he say anything? What does one say? . . .



    When he was close to them before, he had the wrought iron fence between them. Of course, nothing could protect anyone from beings like this who carried the firepower of God himself. Buck fell to his knees as they passed within ten feet of him, and he looked up as he heard them murmuring.



    Moishe said, 'The Lord of Hosts hath sworn, saying, Surely as I have thought, so shall it come to pass; and as I have purposed, so shall it stand.'



    At the words of God, Buck dropped his face into the grass and wept. God's very thoughts would come to pass, and His purposes would stand. No one could come against the anointed ones of God until God decided it was time."

    Being reminded of those words not only comforted Buck but also comforted me!

    The Bible says that at the root of all world events is a spiritual battle. "For we wrestle not against flesh and blood but against spiritual wickedness in high places." However, since God often works behind the scenes, players on the world stage are able to hide this pretty well. Only by living close to God and steeping myself in His Word am I able to catch a glimpse of the reality behind history's lies. I love how the Left Behind novels helped me envision a time when the Lord will step out from behind the curtain and take center stage. Maranatha! Come, Lord Jesus!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Book Five!

    Book number five in this exciting series....Apollyon is on a fast pace and things are really starting to happen. The Trib Force has now mobilized across the world and their reach is wide with the huge influx of believers from the Soul Harvest. Both Rayford and Buck cut all ties with the Global Community - their 'double' life is just getting too close; others take their place on the inside. We still have five years of the Tribulation to go before the Glorious Appearing; Chloe is pregnant; and Hattie Durham is also pregnant with Nicolae's baby, and still resisting the truth! The Two Witnesses (Eli & Moishe) are at the Wailing Wall where Nicolae argues with them; he has openly pronounced any believers to be directly opposed to the Global Community, but he will still attend the Great Meeting of the Witnesses in Jerusalem, led by Tsion Ben-Judah and attended by the 144,000 (and more). The next Trumpet Judgment (crazy details about those locusts....creepy) begins.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Crap

    These books are nothing but fight wing teabagger crap. Dont waste your time. Irecieved this as a gift and it is going in the trash- it isnt even worthy of Goodwill. This is a poor excuse for literature.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Grippping story

    Great writing and story telling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Which book is next?

    That is a retorical question. I remember that.the books used to have a list of the book titles in order. However, with the new e-books, I have yet to see them specifically in order. Except in the first post here, which is posted after she/he already read.the book. This is a little late for the person trying to purchase them in order. JUST A THOUGHT FOR BARNS AND NOBLES POSTS. Just a hopeful thoughtfor future posts of books that are part of a series. (Exmple: Pearl S. Bucks' THE GOOD EARTH, SONS AND A HOUSE DIVIDED. :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    Still Hanging in There

    So far, this one has been the least exciting. I was let down with the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Love it!

    Working my way through the series. They're all great. A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Left Behind - Truth in Fiction

    I love these books and the idea that they had to write a fictional story using the Truth of God's Word - I've been able to learn so much about the book of Revelation because of these books, the 'only' thing that really bothers me - all his research was done on the truth of God's Word and not the fictional stuff like certain aircraft, and the pilots call flying, "Driving the plane" - I know many pilots out there have been cringing while reading that. ;) But, still worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Spoiler alert

    Read it and loved it. I couldnt stop reading it. I cant keep it in anylonger so hatie is pregnant but things go south and doc may have caught something. Ken dies. Cloe is in great misconfort and i am going to say one thing his name is kenneth bruce williams aka kenny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    Great book

    He is coming back

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Another great book in the Left Behind series!

    Another great book in the Left behind series. I would highly recommend it to anyone that has started the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Great reading

    This series rocks!! Love every book so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Apollyon my review

    Carpathia confronts the two witnesses and was not satisfied with the outcome. Hattie feels unworthy of God's grace for her part in Carpathia's rise to power. The tribulation force plans on staying one step ahead of the danger from global community officials but is that enough? As subzero temperatures engulf the earth and frightening insects terrorize the inhabitants will this bring the people closer to God?
    Riveting, unpredictable with lots of twists and turns this novel, as the others before it, will keep you on the edge of your seat anticipating the outcome. I have grown quite fond of the characters and look forward to reading the next in the series. So intune for today's world I highly recommend this book. Read the book of Revelation in novel form, it is a fast read, and definately hard to put down, has excellent character and scene development. I as the reader felt I was transported to the different locations in the storyline witnessing the future come to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Great Book

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. It made me feel sorry for the people who are left behind. I also have to admit that I'm anxious for the series to progress. Seems to be faltering a bit??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Kept the surprises coming!

    Apollyon was a thrilling adventure with many twists and turns just like the previous stories in the series. I love how the stories highlight each of the judgments in the tribulation. The reader is able to see specifically what happens during each judgment and how it affects all of the characters. I thought after reading the first four books that I had become accustomed to surprises in this series. However, I never expected what happened during this fifth book. I am anxious to continue the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Page Turning Thriller!!!

    Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins in their book "Apollyon" Book Five in the Left Behind series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us to the events of Chapter 9, verses 1-12 in Revelation, the last book of The Bible.

    In the Bible book of Revelation an Angel is dispatched to the bottomless pit with a key. Once the pit is opened out pour locusts upon the Earth unlike any ever seen before. And their sole purpose is to torment for five months "only those men which have not the seal of God in their foreheads". These locusts have a leader, "And they had a king over them, which is the angel of the bottomless pit, whose name in the Hebrew tongue is Abaddon, but in the Greek tongue hath his name Apollyon. (Revelation 9:11). According to the Greek Dictionary Apollyon simply means, "Destroyer".

    Nicolae Carpathia continues his rise to power and wants to eliminate all the believers that are opposed to his One World Religion. The world's believers are gathering in Jerusalem for a stadium rally and Carpathia decides to wipe them all out there. Capt. Rayford Steele is now the pilot for Carpathia while Buck Williams is working for Carpathia's news network. The remaining members of the Tribulation Force must figure out a way to stop this wholesale slaughter.

    Dr. LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins provide a fictional background for the real events that the final book of The Bible, Revelation, speak about: the end times. The Biblical accuracy in"Apollyon" is flawless and the story is a page turning thriller. There are wonderful themes: salvation, faith in what you cannot see and who is in charge despite appearances to the contrary. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Jenkins is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense. I am looking forward to book six in this series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I own this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Very good volume in the series!

    I love the left behind series because it deals with the hardest to understand book in the bible: Revelation. I have always had a hard time understanding it and these books take care of that. At this point in the series the characters are dealing with so much. It is hard to believe anyone survives this time in history. These books are so good and really help you understand. I love the action and spirituality in one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    loved it

    recommend it to anyone who wants to understand the book of Revelations and have a great time with the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    Recommended

    I love this series- it's very uplifting and it helped me personally with some spiritual problems I had. However, I also found the series slightly (but ONLY slightly!) sexist. It does not seem as though it was intentional, and the semi-sexist content is not very prevalent. I would still recommend them 100 percent; even as I wish the writers would give women a bigger part in the series, and wish that that part be fair and relevant to modern women. Fantastic series written by true believers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    you can't put it down

    The Left Behind series are the best books I have ever read. I can not get enough of the story. I just pick one up right after another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6