Customer Reviews for

Apologize, Apologize!

Average Rating 2.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Story

The book tackles a very significant and unique situation of a young man but what he goes through is something anyone can go through. The feeling of losing you brother and best friend hits hard in the story. It teaches you that rejection by family has underlying reasons ...
The book tackles a very significant and unique situation of a young man but what he goes through is something anyone can go through. The feeling of losing you brother and best friend hits hard in the story. It teaches you that rejection by family has underlying reasons and that o matter the setting, family and love shine through all.

posted by Anonymous on March 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tedious

This book was much touted and recommended by several sites; what a disappointment. I found the characters to be tedious; you wanted to smack some of them. The story had me putting the book down several times though, admittedly, I did get caught up in it in the middle ...
This book was much touted and recommended by several sites; what a disappointment. I found the characters to be tedious; you wanted to smack some of them. The story had me putting the book down several times though, admittedly, I did get caught up in it in the middle only to be disappointed again after that one flare up. To call this family dysunctional is to call a turnip a grape.....they are beyond belief.

In this book, black is white, red is green and none of it worked for me.

posted by AndyAC on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    One of my top ten favorites!

    Loved this book, which touched every emotion. A cut above much of what's out there. Beautifully descriptive, wonderful development of characters, smart and witty dialogue. The plot unfolds as slowly as life does. Probably not for readers who are looking for quick, suspenseful reads. This must be savored. Elizabeth Kelly is a talented wordsmith.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    Amazing Story

    The book tackles a very significant and unique situation of a young man but what he goes through is something anyone can go through. The feeling of losing you brother and best friend hits hard in the story. It teaches you that rejection by family has underlying reasons and that o matter the setting, family and love shine through all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    I continued!

    I continued to read this less then interesting book. I made myself finish reading it thinking it would get better. I forced myself each night to get through it. Don't make the same mistake that I did. It never got any better, teh characters are pathetic and the plot is boring. Do not waste your time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tedious

    This book was much touted and recommended by several sites; what a disappointment. I found the characters to be tedious; you wanted to smack some of them. The story had me putting the book down several times though, admittedly, I did get caught up in it in the middle only to be disappointed again after that one flare up. To call this family dysunctional is to call a turnip a grape.....they are beyond belief.

    In this book, black is white, red is green and none of it worked for me.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    Where is this all going?

    I was definitely compelled by the characters in this book. Kelly creates a really interesting family with all sorts of quirks and foibles. Her main character is captivating, and her voice and dialogue are well crafted. However, the plot took too many twists and turns. It could easily have finished up about 100 pages sooner than it did. The protagonist's first big crisis and resolution (sort of) would have been sufficient. But, Kelly was intent on taking us through too many adventures with the character that were superfluous, did nothing to develop the character, and ultimately leave us asking, "when will this book end?" and "where is this all going?" It is as if she wanted to write four different books and crammed them all into one. Too many wandering side episodes for me. She had a great storyline, and then really got off track.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Not worth spending your money or your time

    This was probably one of the most boring books I have ever read. There is basically no plot beyond the fact that the character lives in a dysfunctional family. The ending has absolutely nothing to do with the story that the author is making a weak attempt to tell. I would definitely NOT recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    PUT IT DOWN!

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read. There is not one character in the book with any redeeming qualities. The mother is particularly repulsive, thank God we don't have to put up with her for very long.

    Collie, the supposed long-suffering hero is just a total wimp that never stands up for himself to anyone.

    The only one you see a brief glimpse of humanity in and that is not until the very end, is the grandfather.

    This book depressed me from begining to end. I hope this is in no way based on anyone's real life. Horrible!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Had to force myself to finish this book!

    This book was a struggle to read. The lack of a basic plotline coupled with quirky yet lacking characters left me quite disappointed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Awesome!

    This book intimately covers family dynamics in addition to some personal struggles many of us face, especially as children. I loved this story! Her writing style is intelligent, as well as, humorous. This story will anger you, bring you to tears, haveyou laughing and smiling, and give you hope. It left me wanting to read more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    1/3 way through this book

    I'm 1/3 way through this book and I'm really wondering why I continue to read it. It doesn't seem to be going anywhere and chapter after chapter I keep hoping this will be where it picks up and takes off. I've read reviews on both sides so will give it a few more chapters, I typically don't quit movies or books just because they're boring but this may be the exception to the rule...sometimes it's just hours of your life you'll never get back. Stay tuned...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Monicq

    Good book seems like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved all the characters

    They came alive on the page, unusual, crazy, quirky, maddening, personalities. So much originality, in the characters. I did not know whether to laugh or cry at times. If you like intellect, and sarcasm, tragedy, and humor, all rolled itno one book this is the book to read. Great summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Apolgize for Purchasing

    I apologize to my bank account for purchasing Elizabeth Kelly's, "Apologize, Apologize!" I wanted to like this book. One critic likened it to "Grey Gardens." At least Little Edie was interesting and likable! Kelly's book may be one of the top ten WORST books I've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    apologize, apologize

    sad story of a family that is in turmoil from the beginning and experiences many tragic events throughout. compelling and sad. all in all a good read though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpected & Well Done

    I really enjoyed this book. It's funny, painful and unexpected. I enjoyed the family, they were strange, flawed and demented at times with the main character always the voice of reason. Collie goes throught his life with a tragedy weighing him down with guilt. I liked that he was able to except his faults aswell as his families. The book ends with no major revelations just acceptance and maybe a little self forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Apolozize, Apologize!

    "Apolozize, Apologize!" did not hold my interest for long. I would not recomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    Disappointing

    I must agree with AndyAC. A very disappointing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3