Customer Reviews for

The Apostle (Scot Harvath Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Terrific book

Have read all of his books, and this book follows admirably in the line of excellent reading. You know that it is relevant to our current day.

posted by scfFS on November 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Apostle

Brad Thor's worst book yet. I have, and have read, all of his work. In The Apostle it is as if he did not have enough material for a full length novel, so he combined two short stories. The Harvath plot was good, but the injection of a secondary far fetched plot invo...
Brad Thor's worst book yet. I have, and have read, all of his work. In The Apostle it is as if he did not have enough material for a full length novel, so he combined two short stories. The Harvath plot was good, but the injection of a secondary far fetched plot involving a secret service agent was distracting from the main story. After a few chapters of the sub plot I found the book a better read by skipping those chapters.

The worst was that after I posted a critical comment on his forum, I was banned!!!!!

I would not waste my money on it. His previous books were all first class.

posted by Billinthewild on August 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Thank God for the true warriors of this country!!

    This is the 4th novel I've read of Brad Thor's and I've enjoyed every one. I'm sure our shared leanings and patriotic belief's have much to do with this, but because "The Apostle" presses so painfully on the open wound of todays unacceptable political environment and defensive posture, I found I had to respond with review.

    As a U.S. Air Force veteran of the Vietnam era, I know only too well how unselfishly devoted and determined the men and women of our military and their associated agencies are to protect this great country of ours and it's people. Unfortunately, these protectors of our freedom need intelligent and strong leadership from our commander-in-chief on down. Sadly, this is non-existant under our current administration. We need Ronald Reagan, we have Neville Chamberlain with a personal agenda!

    I will admit that I would loose the plot at times to play fill in the name blanks for the characters in Washington, but it didn't make the book any less enjoyable. I just would have liked a little more of it.

    I recommend this book to everyone and I think it should be mandatory in our public schools.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    More Great Stuff From Brad Thor

    This entire series is just great. Brad Thor does such a great job of incorporating current events from national and international politics and weaving a story that keeps you interested from beginning to end. If you are a political buff or just enjoy an interesting story with lots of military insight, you will really enjoy this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast-paced Thriller

    This is the first Brad Thor book I've read. It is a well-researched thriller with the right amount of detail to make it believable without boring the reader with information overload.

    Exciting action scenes woven into the personal relationships between Harvath and team make this a fun read. The sub-plot didn't really add to the book and I found myself speeding through those chapters to get back to the Harvath storyline.

    All in all, a good, fast-paced story that was entirely entertaining. Good work by Brad Thor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    RECOMMEND THE SERIES

    Great reads. I have read the first 7 books in the series and so far am not disappointed in the 8th book. They are sorta predictable but still the plots have enough excitement and differences to keep my interest. However with all the books with Scott Harvath you really know hes not going to get killed off anytime soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Great Thriller!

    I am only in middle school, but i personally believe that this is an amazing novel. Maybe not as exciting and thrilling as we all know his books can achieve, but very well written! It had me turning the pages!!!! In conclusion, this is an amazing thriller and i believe people will love it!!!!!! <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Love the Harvath series

    These are all well written and I highly recommend Brad Thor books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    Recommended as Scott Harvath does it again

    Brad Thor is a master of good thrillers

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Another good Scot Harvath tale

    A good read for fans!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the book, can't wait until Thor writes his next new book

    Love Thor's books, has become a must buy on my list. Still have not been able to locate a couple of his earlier books but will continue the search. Thor has become one of the authors like Baldacci whose books I buy as soon as they publish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good Thor book

    Thor may not be the greatest writer - he's definitely in need of some lessons in grammar and verb tense - but his books are true thrillers. They are enjoyable to read because they are timely and you can't put them down.
    This one had an implausible side plot about the Secret service agent but I didn't mind it so much. I did love how he totally nailed the President's character. He really was describing Obama and Obama's administration, thinly disguised as a "fictional" President. It made it so much more real and contemporary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    The Apostle

    Pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Does it again

    Brad Thor has a way of compoleting a book that takes you away from reality but puts the reader in a present day situation. Every detail is so well researched and made to make the reader think about whether this is actually happening or not.

    It is writtenn in a manner that makes for easy reading and the story line flows quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thor's "The Apostle" a New Installment in the 'Series'

    I am a Brad Thor fan, he is one of the best writers in the thriller/espionage genre. While I enjoy his characters and plot, this novel is missing that "umph" that accompanies his typical novels. I still give it four stars and wait for the next installment of the Scot Harvath adventures...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    The Apostle

    Decent Book. Not Brad Thors Best but entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4