Customer Reviews for

The Apothecary's Daughter

Average Rating 4
( 2604 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(991)

4 Star

(883)

3 Star

(436)

2 Star

(162)

1 Star

(132)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Welcome to Regency England

I admit, I downloaded this book for my Nook with low expectations. Just another Regency Era romance, I thought. I happily admit I was wrong, wrong, wrong!

First of all, the attention to detail is staggering, as is the hours of research the author put into this story....
I admit, I downloaded this book for my Nook with low expectations. Just another Regency Era romance, I thought. I happily admit I was wrong, wrong, wrong!

First of all, the attention to detail is staggering, as is the hours of research the author put into this story. If you have any interest in herbology, medicine or the Regency Era in general this book is well worth the read.

The charactors are well devoloped and very human in their flaws, which makes you appreciate them even more. It's easy to get caught up in Lilly's struggle not only as a lady living in the restrictive world of Regency England, where a women's worth was measured by the value of her husband, but as a person attempting to balance her family with her own desires and dreams.

posted by Writers_Block on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Mediocre at Best-- Don't Waste Your Time

I was hoping for a fun, escapist bodice ripper when I downloaded this. No such luck! The thing is set during the same time Jane Austen wrote her classics. If the author has ever read Austen, she sure didn't learn anything about the society of the period. There wasn'...
I was hoping for a fun, escapist bodice ripper when I downloaded this. No such luck! The thing is set during the same time Jane Austen wrote her classics. If the author has ever read Austen, she sure didn't learn anything about the society of the period. There wasn't a single attractive or charismatic male character anywhere in the book-- all of them were wimpy jerks. A major character is revealed near the end to have been illegitimate, and several of the other characters (some major ones, including one who actually never appears in the book) have had affairs. The really bizarre part is that the illegitimacy is treated almost cavalierly with an, "UH, oh, tsk tsk" sort of attitude, while the same character's epilepsy is a big shocking secret and renders her unmarriageable. I caught myself rolling my eyes and muttering, "Oh, come ON, gimme a BREAK" frequently while reading this.

I'm only glad that I downloaded it on Free Friday. I would have been really irritated to think that I'd actually paid money for it. As soon as I finish and post this review, I plan to delete it from my library. Why let it take up storage space on my NookColor when I know I'll never want to waste time reading it again?

posted by She_Who_Must_Read on February 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2617 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 131
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Welcome to Regency England

    I admit, I downloaded this book for my Nook with low expectations. Just another Regency Era romance, I thought. I happily admit I was wrong, wrong, wrong!

    First of all, the attention to detail is staggering, as is the hours of research the author put into this story. If you have any interest in herbology, medicine or the Regency Era in general this book is well worth the read.

    The charactors are well devoloped and very human in their flaws, which makes you appreciate them even more. It's easy to get caught up in Lilly's struggle not only as a lady living in the restrictive world of Regency England, where a women's worth was measured by the value of her husband, but as a person attempting to balance her family with her own desires and dreams.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    Wonderful way to spend a Day

    You may feel as if you've heard this story before, but this one is different. I started out "cheering on" a particular character only to later be repulsed by him. this book delves deep into character developement. You learn to know each person throughout the book and what seems to be perfect on the surface soon reveals the true self inside. It was a great historical look at "dating" for a young woman in England in the 1800's. Throughly enjoyable and a great read!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Regency!

    Finally got a chance to read this book and it was wonderful, as expected. I enjoyed the fact that there were so many subplots to keep my attention. And I loved that the author had me guessing for a good portion of the book in regards to the young woman's future.

    The title of this book fits the story perfectly. It has a bittersweet meaning that only someone who is really "into" the story would understand. I almost felt like I was watching a movie play out on the big screen because the details were so vivid. Some were so vivid, in fact, that they made me shudder. It was a bad idea for me to read that leaching scene right before I went to bed. You can imagine why.

    I didn't envy the decisions the heroine needed to make. I also found the peculiarities regarding her brother's behavior intriguing. Since I have clients with similar diagnoses, I thought the author did a great job portraying the particulars of someone with his limited abilities. It was good to see an accurate portrayal of two people with special needs that were not immediately tucked away in asylums as was the trend back in that era. Fans of Regency romances should really enjoy this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I recommend!

    Set in England in the 1800's, Lilly is smart and the go-get-um daughter of the town's apothercary. She helps her dad in his shop, growing herbs, making pills, and making deliveries. Her mother left them and her mental deficient son to fend for themselves as they wait for her return someday. There are lots of clever twists and turns in the plot and the characters are real and likable. The author did a lot of worthy research to create such an interesting setting. I recommend!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    Fantastic, engaging novel

    This novel was filled with believable plots and twists. I found myself unable to put the book down, wanting to see what would happen to each of the characters and then being surprised at little things along the way. It was insightful on human nature and didn't get caught up in today's "pop psychology".

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another one for the Permanent Shelf from Klassen

    Another incredible piece of historical fiction with strong characters from second published author Julie Klassen. Without a doubt, Klassen is on my favorite author's list. Both Lady of Milkweed Manor (her first book) and The Apothecary's Daughter were so enjoyable.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>Each chapter starts with a quote of various pharmaceutical and apothecary means as well as a few others and it really sets the scene. It is something she also used in her first book, and I truly believe that it adds an incredible important element to the way her story is told. This book is divided up into sections that works quite well. It is a long book and fabulously so, I did not want it to end.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>The one qualm that I did have, is that the last section is very dark to me. Everything that can go wrong is going wrong and it was a little much to experience all at once, when the rest of the book was much more light heart-ed. I feel kinda like if there was so more happiness in there with the dark toward the end that it would have worked better. Then it ends abruptly exactly as a perfect ending as it could be. My opinion would have been to draw it out with more details and more "happy" within the dark cloud, rather than having everything fixed in a last chapter and epilogue. But then we readers cannot get everything we want when fabulous authors are limited to just 400 pages or so.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>Good points and bad, my overall opinion is that the story is fabulous. My favorite portion of all is where the name for the book came from. It makes me teary eyed. And you will just have to go read it to find out why.<BR/><BR/><BR/><BR/>Once again a winner from Julie in my opinion, and I desperately cannot wait for more books from her in the future!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Mediocre at Best-- Don't Waste Your Time

    I was hoping for a fun, escapist bodice ripper when I downloaded this. No such luck! The thing is set during the same time Jane Austen wrote her classics. If the author has ever read Austen, she sure didn't learn anything about the society of the period. There wasn't a single attractive or charismatic male character anywhere in the book-- all of them were wimpy jerks. A major character is revealed near the end to have been illegitimate, and several of the other characters (some major ones, including one who actually never appears in the book) have had affairs. The really bizarre part is that the illegitimacy is treated almost cavalierly with an, "UH, oh, tsk tsk" sort of attitude, while the same character's epilepsy is a big shocking secret and renders her unmarriageable. I caught myself rolling my eyes and muttering, "Oh, come ON, gimme a BREAK" frequently while reading this.

    I'm only glad that I downloaded it on Free Friday. I would have been really irritated to think that I'd actually paid money for it. As soon as I finish and post this review, I plan to delete it from my library. Why let it take up storage space on my NookColor when I know I'll never want to waste time reading it again?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazed...could not put book down!

    I love the detail in this book. The plot was very well thought out and keeps you guessing the entire book. I was thoroughly engaged throughout the entire book. It reminded me of the best of the Bronte sisters and Ms Austen's work, but in a language more reachable by more people of this time period without losing the essence of that time.

    I was a bit leery about it's message being too intrusive and preachy, as I've read other "Christian Literature", and at times the message feel intrusive and forced, not really adding anything to the story. It was not...in fact it was much in line with the writing traditions of that period and integrated well into the plot.

    I would highly recommend this book to any and all. It is great for rainy days, sunny days, or nights when you want to curl up with a good book and a cup of tea or hot chocolate. You will feel transported to a world of sight, sound and smells...a pleasant world the Apothecary shop, a young girls worries, sorrows, and joys.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not an overly sappy romance!

    I love romance books, however so many of them have no plot behind them and do not involve any other characters. Not so with this book! It was well researched and packed full of interesting tidbits. Great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome new writer to watch!

    This is Julie Klassen's second novel. I found the first one "Lady of Milkweed Manor" and thoroughly enjoyed it. A great historical read. So when I saw "The Apothecary's Daughter" I bought it right away and was not disappointed. This surpassed my expectations. It has great characters, great settings, and challenging situations. I highly recommend this author and this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I love books by this author already, but this was my absolute favorite book. It kept me engaged and I didn't want to put it down. I especially liked that I could not guess who Lily would end up with romantically, it kept me guessing and usually I have that figured out right away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Totally enjoyed this book.

    A little sentimental, and romantic. A little informative in regard to the history of the apothecary. I read for entertainment and enjoyment. This book filled the bill!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    great!

    loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    Not Recommended

    This isn't a free eBook but rather an advertisement for the retail version of this eBook. Barnes & Noble, please do better.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Great Historical

    I'm not a big fan of historical novels, but this is one I couldn't put down. You won't be disappointed if you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    A lovely read.

    I really enjoyed this book. The author did an excellent job keeping the reader on his or her toes, it was quite unpredictable. I was rooting for different suitors for Lilly throughout the book, and I was surprised on several occasions. I was sad that the book was over when I finished, as I wanted to know what else was in store for Lilly Haswell. There were several turns of events in which I was completely shocked, yet they all made sense. I also really enjoyed how the author described the characters. I really felt that I understood each character, their feelings, and what they looked like. I would highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Love this book

    This book was so different from anything I've read before. I love the mix of history and fictional story. Worth reading and re-reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Very good.

    I liked how Lilly was always rescuing people from her neighbor's misbehaving dogs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Loving.Sweet.Caring.Enjoyable to read.

    Loving.Sweet.Caring.Enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!! :)

    Sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 2617 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 131