Customer Reviews for

The Appeal

Average Rating 3.5
( 298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

excellent book vintage Grisham

John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why sho...
John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why should be belive it can't happen in America. No question in my mind that more than one Judge currenty sittin on the bench has been paid for his position. Grisham writes with a Southern flavor that's makes you long for the smell of Magnolia's and the South. You can never go wrong reading a John Grisham book.

posted by deantalley on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What has happened to Grisham?

What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how...
What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how to write a satisfying ending, but at least the journey was entertaining ("The Broker" for example.)

With "The Appeal" he has reached a new low. I plodded through the thing hoping that eventually there would be something interesting only to be disappointed at the end of every chapter, including the last one.

I used to wait impatiently for a new Grisham book and loved his early works like "A Time to Kill." In the last few years I've read his books sporadicaly and with varying degrees of disappointment. This will be the last. My verdict on John Grisham is that he should retire from fiction writing and go back to practicing law.

posted by kalooney on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    disappionting ending

    great plot and story but the ending was a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    '>' THE CLIENT but '<' THE FIRM or PELICAN BRIEF

    I enjoyed this Grisham novel so much more than the last one I read [THE CLIENT], that I was on the verge of rating it with 4 stars.

    But I'm calmer now.

    All the same, here's a novel with interesting characters. It starts off with a court room climax and winds its way through a plot one hopes is outlandish but rings frighteningly true. And while elements feel slightly recycled from PELICAN BRIEF, the stakes are anchored with unsettling verisimilitude, not to say heartbreak.

    A huge verdict is awarded a woman who has lost her husband and child to cancer brought on by the local water which has been poisoned by corrupt corporate behaviour. In fact, there have been numerous cancer-related deaths, between 12-15 times the national average, in this particular county. But that doesn't mean that the Big Corporation wants to take any responsibility for its actions. And, unfortunately, they have a plan to overturn the verdict upon appeal.

    So Grisham examines the two paths taken to the appeal. One from the plaintiff's married lawyers, who have risked everything to try the case; and the other from the men who don't want to part with any of their profits, and who face possible ruin otherwise. Cue: The Pawn.

    Again, Grisham's prose is nothing to write home about, but it feels just a bit more fleshed out than the short-hand he used to fill the banal pages of THE CLIENT. So it moves along at a rapid pace but still makes one care about the race to the outcome of the appeal, with characters to root for, to feel sorry for for being naive, to hiss at, and moments to hold one's breath over.

    And, unlike the obvious, predictable 'surprise' ending of THE CLIENT, the reader won't know for certain just how this tale will pan out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    Not entertaining.

    I do not read to be educated, I read to be entertained. If I wanted to learn about the downsides of judge elections, I'd go find a law review or something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    Very disappointing

    What started out as a good read slowly progressed to boring and then to an ..."are you kidding me...?" ending. I skimmed through some of the book because there were many tedious details that were really unnecessary. I like Grisham, but this was my least favorite novel by far. I'm just happy I purchased this as a bargain book so I didn't waste too much money on it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    money, law and politics go hand in hand

    This books gives a fictional account of how money, law and politics go hand in hand. It was an excellent read. Keep it up, John Grisham

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Pleasant Surprise

    I was pleasantly surprised to find this book. I am a Grisham fan, but feel that he has become a bit overrated. I enjoyed "The Last Juror" and "The Chamber" while others (like "The Partner") I found to be over-praised. This book, however, I think has not been given its due recognition. Few writers have the audacity to take on the issue of judicial elections tampering, though it happens in every state in almost every election cycle. I found myself at once liking but hating Fisk and at other times wanting nothing more than to bomb Crane Chemical myself. It was irritating, raw, and emotional. I read somewhere that he wrote it as a cautionary tale, and that it is. This year is a judicial election year in my state. I hope that the voters here can see through the bull-hock presentation of the likes issued by those funding Fisk in this novel. Thank you, Grisham. You have restored my faith in your writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sadly, This Book Didn't Bode Well With Me

    There is rarely a John Grisham book I dislike, seeing as I have read them since I was in middle (my dad is a BIG fan.) However, this book's theme seemed old and tired like watching Erin Brokovich, but without something sorta pretty to look at. Read these other books instead, they are very intriguing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    ARGH! What an ending!

    After investing several days trying to muddle through to what I was SURE had to be a satisfying conclusion, I was ready to write John Grisham and chastise him for such a let-down! The story and plot were classic Grisham, but usually the bad guys gets their come-uppance in the end. This time, I guess he was going for true to life, but it was VERY disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    so disappointing

    I haven't read a Grisham in several years but was hoping this one would reflect Grisham's early page-turner roots. I was sorely disappointed. The subject matter may be timely and topical, but I only kept reading because I was sure SOMETHING was bound to happen. Instead, I waded through superficial character development, hum-drum pacing, and a resolution that can only be described as the author getting the book done by deadline. This could have been a great book, but it had no heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    a great suspensful read, it makes you truly wonder if this kind of thing really happens in our everday life

    I thouroughly enjoyed this book, at first you dont think something like this could happen to anyone, but as you delve deeper into the story, it makes you wonder if this could or is happening today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    good book

    this book was entertaining kept me wanting to keep reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    another classics from Grisham

    The Appeal by John Grisham (Book Review)
    The Appeal by John Grisham is now in paperback. It is published by Arrow and its ISBN is 0099481768. It is another great legal thriller by Grisham. It begins in the courtroom with a hearing on a chemical pollution case. A large chemical company Krane has polluted the water of a small community. The water has changed colour and people have died or become very ill. The Payne solicitors sued Krane on behalf of a widow and won. The victory is short lived as Krane's owner Carl Trudeau decides to fight it and he is not beyond political corruption. The rest of the novel deals with Krane's appeal. Reviewed by Annette Dunlea author of Always and Forever and The Honey Trap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Inside look at our sick political system

    Fascinating story of political corruption and the price we all pay. Great story but my wife was unhappy about the plot resolution. Too true to life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Just OK!

    This book was just ok. I kept waiting for something exciting to happen but it just dragged on. The campaigning became monotonous. The last 30 pages were good but I didn't like the ending. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Formula book

    One of the most boring John Grisham books I've read. Characters were stereotypes. Plot was very, very good verses very, very evil. Took me days to finish because I really wasn't interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very disappointed.

    The only other John Grisham book I've read was the Innocent Man, which seemed to just drag on and on, much like this one did. Basically this book is about some rich bastard who is responsible for many crimes, but gets to continue being a rich bastard because he buys his way out of all of it. That's it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Good Book

    This book is a good book not great but good. The ending will surprise you. Starts a little slow but gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    Best new John Grisham book in a while!

    I must confess that I have not read many John Grisham novels. This is pretty much my first novel by him that I have read. It's a really good read. Even though this book is newer and from 2007 it shows that even current authors can be just as good as the past great writers. Grisham is a modern day super writer to me. While people think J K Rowling is great they should read Grisham's books. The story line is a little similar to the movie "Erin Brokavitch." This book deals with greedy corporations polluting nearby water which caused cancer for several local residents. I don't want to give away too much of the plot because I want the reader to figure it out for his/herself. Overall I would definately reccomend this to any avid law story reader or just a fan of John Grisham in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Grisham's Appeal - A Great Read

    I found The Appeal a real page turner. I also discovered a new found respect for lawyers and recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Surprising ending

    good storyline, strings you along thinking you know the ending - then you don't really!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 15