Customer Reviews for

The Appeal

Average Rating 3.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

excellent book vintage Grisham

John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why sho...
John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why should be belive it can't happen in America. No question in my mind that more than one Judge currenty sittin on the bench has been paid for his position. Grisham writes with a Southern flavor that's makes you long for the smell of Magnolia's and the South. You can never go wrong reading a John Grisham book.

posted by deantalley on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What has happened to Grisham?

What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how...
What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how to write a satisfying ending, but at least the journey was entertaining ("The Broker" for example.)

With "The Appeal" he has reached a new low. I plodded through the thing hoping that eventually there would be something interesting only to be disappointed at the end of every chapter, including the last one.

I used to wait impatiently for a new Grisham book and loved his early works like "A Time to Kill." In the last few years I've read his books sporadicaly and with varying degrees of disappointment. This will be the last. My verdict on John Grisham is that he should retire from fiction writing and go back to practicing law.

posted by kalooney on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    What has happened to Grisham?

    What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how to write a satisfying ending, but at least the journey was entertaining ("The Broker" for example.)<BR/><BR/>With "The Appeal" he has reached a new low. I plodded through the thing hoping that eventually there would be something interesting only to be disappointed at the end of every chapter, including the last one. <BR/><BR/>I used to wait impatiently for a new Grisham book and loved his early works like "A Time to Kill." In the last few years I've read his books sporadicaly and with varying degrees of disappointment. This will be the last. My verdict on John Grisham is that he should retire from fiction writing and go back to practicing law.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    excellent book vintage Grisham

    John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why should be belive it can't happen in America. No question in my mind that more than one Judge currenty sittin on the bench has been paid for his position. Grisham writes with a Southern flavor that's makes you long for the smell of Magnolia's and the South. You can never go wrong reading a John Grisham book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Chilling, Astounding Political Novel Goes to the Heart of Human Nature

    From the very beginning of John Grisham's novel The Appeal, he proves to be a very powerful author. The book is loaded with imagery and description, projecting, in great detail, every scene, every expression, every emotion of every character. Somehow, as it alternates between a variety of main characters, The Appeal portrays each one's nature so clearly that the reader finds himself agreeing with every perspective, virtually living and understanding the life of every character, and not just that of the "good guy."
    The Appeal describes an innocent, middle-aged man who is suddenly thrown into the heat and thrill of a legal race, and also, though he is unaware of it, into the manipulating hands of dangerous and cunning characters whose reputations and companies are at stake. It depicts not only the campaigning involved in a legal race, but also of the pressure that the responsibility of acting in the US government has on family life and personal standards. It reveals the cunning art of advertising, the sometimes evil and dishonest work that is put into the manipulatation of public views. It shows both the great variety and the many similarities of the many players on the chessboard of politics.
    The Appeal also demonstrates a scale of brilliant planning behind the story. At the heart of what should be the climax of the book, an incredible twist in the plot blasts everything into a completely new perspective, adding a whole new dimension to not only the storyline, but to the entire order of human society. The Appeal's ending is unprecedented and very dramatic, once again astounding the reader with its chilling and memorable aspect that reaches to the depths of human nature.
    I recommend this book to any reader looking for a striking, memorable novel. The Appeal is original and unsettling in its plot, themes, and grip on reality. It more than earns its place on the New York Times Bestseller list, and John Grisham is going to be a sought-after author for me for many years to come.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Raw emotion and not-quite-justice

    There is an old civil rights joke about a black defendant who says: "If you're looking for justice in the courtroom, that's what you'll find - just us!"

    The Appeal is a gritty tale, filled with the raw emotion of of human suffering, a classic David vs. Goliath plot, three dimensional characters, and some very realistic twists. John Grisham ain't famous for nothin'. He has written a compelling novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good to see Clancy writing again

    Good, traditional Clancy. On the level of Pelican

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    Wealth Overpowers Justice

    Once I began reading this book I could not put it down. In the beginning, (for being a younger audience member to such a detailed book) I didnt quite get the point of the story. I am not one who follows politics. But as I kept reading, Grisham continued to bring me in through the many characters and perspectives he created. He also explained in high detail about politics. As you go along the tale of one man's journey to regain wealth and power in society you will see the effect that money has on people and the justice system in our world today. You can't help but to think to ask yourself, "do things like that actually happen in our present world?" The book is very entertaining throughout the story up until the end. The end of the novel was very weak and leaves the reader hanging. However, the moral is clearly shown in this story and I would recommend The Appeal to anyone looking for a dramatic novel filled with the harsh truths in our society.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    Last Grisham book I'll read

    I hate to say goodbye... I've enjoyed a number of other Grisham books. But this one just seems angry, bitter, and political. If you love trial lawyers, and think that they are altruistic, selfless do-gooders who really do what they do just for the sake of the poor and downtrodden (instead of for the multimillions in judgments), then you might enjoy this book. But when Grisham tries to make heros of these folks, it just doesn't fly... just can't swallow it. Along the way he makes vindictive little stabs at so many other people that the tone just seems depressing and bitter. There's not a lick of humor in this book... what happened to the old Grisham?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too slow & too many characters!

    I am a big fan of John Grisham but I was disappointed here. Grisham usually makes me feel like I know the characters so well that I can believe they're real. Here, the vast cast isn't fleshed out enough due to the huge number of players. Added to the fact the plot itself is tedious and incredibly slow the book is just average. While the ending was both parts predictable and not, it still wasn't satisfying. There are plenty of better offerings by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Not Grisham's best

    Like most Grisham books, this was a pretty easy read and held my interest, for the most part. However, in the end it fell flat. I thought the ending was weak--as if the author was tired and ready to be done.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An Okay Read

    A pretty fast read, with an ending that was unexpected for a John Grisham book. Great book for a vacation or car trip, but I probably won't read it again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2008

    A REAL STINKER!

    I miss the "old grisham", all those wonderful books I read when he first hit the literary scene. The Appeal was too long and too boring. I kept reading thinking the plot would thicken and the book would end with a BANG! I was left empty handed, regretting spending the money to buy the book. It's a good thing I didn't jump at the hardcover!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Great read.

    Grisham is true to form in this book. Just like all his other novels, this one is a page turner. He puts the reader smack into the plot through the entire book. This novel will really rile you up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    John Grisham once more does it good!

    I listen to audio books while traveling. The Appeal by John Grisham is a good one. Flows well, kept me interested & was long enough to go with me the entire time of my trip. The information used in the book is very knowledgeable and refreshing. Good either to listen to as I did or just plain reading. This is indeed a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Boring.

    Too much talking and too much political junk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    CqAdql qq aaaqqpZ

    Xqeqq


    QtQeqpqq wacalyiqeqq q AsqqpawrPd10qqtgqqqwDkh
    Qe QrqqQqqrqaqQqqead wqq
    11Xqqe qqwaquafQaqQ qeqqawaqQCAadqQ qqqVxbqqa
    QrdaaqAqqawqxtqZzqZZlaq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Recommended

    As always, Grisham keeps you reeled in with details that only a seasoned attorney could know. Multiple plots are on a collision course to a "surprise", but not, unexpected ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Stale and Boring

    Usually love Grisham but this story line is stale and the action nonexsistent. The dialogue is contrived and to make matters worse, it's interspersed with random political talking points (evil big business, horrors of the political right and other yawn-inducing diatribes). What a bore!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Good choice for Grisham fans

    Exciting & interesting story. I admire how the greed of tort lawyers as well as the profound narcissism of big business. It made me hate both parties. The ending was anticlimatic & a bit of a let down, but i would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Give it a ho! Give it a hum!

    Read John Grisham's 2008 novel THE APPEAL primarily to while away a couple of hours. When stuck in an airport, let us imagine, or in bed late at night fighting insomnia. *** You will also garner as a by-product of time invested a few facts about the workings of courts in Mississippi, including trial courts and the elected nine-person Supreme Court in Jackson. You are presented a teary melodrama about innocent little people being kicked around by evil tycoons. You get a slightly different take on the psyches of John Edwards stereotypical trial lawyers: sure they are quirky egomaniacs, but deep inside their combative souls there is a spark of love for the little man and a professional intent (compensated by contingency fees) to right gigantic rascals tooth and nail in court. *** Once read, soon forgotten. -OOO-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Fantastic

    I loved how interesting grisham can make these legal cases and it shows just how good of an author he is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15