Customer Reviews for

The Appeal

Average Rating 3.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

excellent book vintage Grisham

John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why sho...
John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why should be belive it can't happen in America. No question in my mind that more than one Judge currenty sittin on the bench has been paid for his position. Grisham writes with a Southern flavor that's makes you long for the smell of Magnolia's and the South. You can never go wrong reading a John Grisham book.

posted by deantalley on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What has happened to Grisham?

What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how...
What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how to write a satisfying ending, but at least the journey was entertaining ("The Broker" for example.)

With "The Appeal" he has reached a new low. I plodded through the thing hoping that eventually there would be something interesting only to be disappointed at the end of every chapter, including the last one.

I used to wait impatiently for a new Grisham book and loved his early works like "A Time to Kill." In the last few years I've read his books sporadicaly and with varying degrees of disappointment. This will be the last. My verdict on John Grisham is that he should retire from fiction writing and go back to practicing law.

posted by kalooney on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    disappionting ending

    great plot and story but the ending was a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    Very disappointing

    What started out as a good read slowly progressed to boring and then to an ..."are you kidding me...?" ending. I skimmed through some of the book because there were many tedious details that were really unnecessary. I like Grisham, but this was my least favorite novel by far. I'm just happy I purchased this as a bargain book so I didn't waste too much money on it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sadly, This Book Didn't Bode Well With Me

    There is rarely a John Grisham book I dislike, seeing as I have read them since I was in middle (my dad is a BIG fan.) However, this book's theme seemed old and tired like watching Erin Brokovich, but without something sorta pretty to look at. Read these other books instead, they are very intriguing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    so disappointing

    I haven't read a Grisham in several years but was hoping this one would reflect Grisham's early page-turner roots. I was sorely disappointed. The subject matter may be timely and topical, but I only kept reading because I was sure SOMETHING was bound to happen. Instead, I waded through superficial character development, hum-drum pacing, and a resolution that can only be described as the author getting the book done by deadline. This could have been a great book, but it had no heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    Just OK!

    This book was just ok. I kept waiting for something exciting to happen but it just dragged on. The campaigning became monotonous. The last 30 pages were good but I didn't like the ending. --K--

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    Formula book

    One of the most boring John Grisham books I've read. Characters were stereotypes. Plot was very, very good verses very, very evil. Took me days to finish because I really wasn't interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    Can't get through

    This is a first time I'm writing a review. This is a first time reading a Grisham book as well, but maybe that's a good thing since I have nothing to compare to. Regardless, I stopped around page 120 and just couldn't keep going. Some chapters were decently interesting, but the plot in its entirely seems to be slow and nothing to keep me turning to that next page. I came to read reviews because I thought it may have just been me who has come to a halt, but it seems like it is the general consensus here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not so Appealing

    For years, Krane Chemical dumped chemical toxins into the water supply of Bowmore, Mississippi, causing major illnesses and deaths from cancer to rise significantly. Upon the filing of a lawsuit against Krane, the company closes down its facilities and moves to Mexico. When a jury in rural Mississippi returns a large verdict against Krane Chemical, its owner, billionaire Carl Trudeau, is not only angry but vengeful. Trudeau vows to himself not one cent will be paid to any defendant and instructs his company¿s law firm to appeal to the Mississippi Supreme Court. His reasoning is calculated: justices are elected to the Supreme Court in Mississippi and an election is looming. Trudeau and his minions begin a search for the perfect candidate to put into the Supreme Court; one that will hopefully reverse the verdict against Krane. Once that candidate is found, millions of dollars are expended in order to ensure his seat on the State Supreme Court.<BR/><BR/>Although genred a legal thriller, this is more along the lines of a political statement. There are no courtroom theatrics, which could have breathed a bit of life into a plodding storyline. There are no likeable characters in this book; even the altruistic attorneys for the plaintiff come across as superficial and too willing to just give up and go away. Although the ending is probably more realistic than not, it, nevertheless, is disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Disappointing ending

    Struggled to read - very wordy and characters jumping all over the place. No character that you got wrapped up in. And the ending - I hit the last page and said to myself - 'THAT'S IT?'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Don't Bother

    I'm glad I borrowed in from the library and did not spend money on it. Really a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Confused

    I can't believe iread the entire book to have come to such an uneventful ending. I have enjoyed every other book by Mr. Grisham maybe he should take some inventory of his last work before he completes his next book, very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Pitiful

    I had stopped reading his books because they were so diappointing, but I thought I give it a chance. A total wast of time. Very wordy and just horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Has John Grisham lost his 'lawyerly' magic?

    I've been a John Grisham fan from the beginning but I cannot understand why he would mess with an amazing formula. This book was boring, but I continued to read it hoping for a happy ending. I found that there were too many different stories going on, and I didn't feel that they had a strong relevance to eachother. I do not recommend this book. However, if you are a die hard Grisham fan, why not read it anyway?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Disappointing Ending

    I always enjoy Grisham books and expected The Appeal to be equally entertaining. From the very beginning, I got a very nasty feeling in my stomach. I just didn't enjoy reading about Corruption in America! In fact, I ended up skimming over the particularly odious parts. But, throughout the book I was convinced that Grisham would come through for me, just like he did in his previous novels, such as the Rain Maker. So, I couldn't believe it when the new justice overturned the Krane conviction. It was the worst ending - come on, this is a work of fiction, so humor us and stick it to the rich bad guys and give the poor people a sweet victory. I wish I had never started reading the book. It's going to make me very cautious about future Grisham books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I couldn't even finish this book. That is how boring and predictable I found it. The entire book reminded me of the movie Erin Brokovich. I did skip to the end, and was disappointed to see that the good guy didn't even win. His earlier books are so much better, and original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Lacking in Depth

    Mr Grisham tries to bring to the fore an important issue of class actions against big corporations yet again...maybe for those who failed to get a copy of The King of Torts...with characters that lack in many aspects that are much desired in novels. As I said in an earlier review, Mr Grisham wants all his books to be turned into films and they all have been reading like mere screenplays since The Street Lawyer. This is no exception!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    A real let down

    I'm a Grisham fan and have bought and read all of his books. The Appeal was a big disappointment. I felt like I was reading a legal brief instead of a novel. There were too many subplots and characters. The ending was terrible. I recently reread Grisham's The Testament and it was just as exciting as the first time. I would never reread The Appeal and I regret purchasing it. I hope Mr. Grisham gets his groove back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Disappointing

    Having read all of Grisham's prior works, I found 'The Appeal' less than appealing! No character development and the plot hardly believable. The newly elected Supreme Court judge was extremely naive. This novel certainly jumped around and the ending was most disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2008

    B-O-R-I-N-G !

    I am a John Grisham fan (usually), but this book is by FAR the most boring book I've read in a LONG time. Of 350 or so pages, the book finally became somewhat interesting at page 300. I, typically, read at least two books a week. This one took me a month to read because I kept putting it off. I am a diehard when it comes to books and will give the author every chance to build the plot, but I really believe it should happen before page 300. The Appeal was a total waste of time and money. Wait for the next one...hopefully, it'll be better than this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Every spring for the past dozen or so years,

    I eagerly anticipated John Grisham's newest book. His were the only books that I'd buy before getting them from the library. And I had not been disappointed-until now. This book was sooo slow-paced and un-interesting. I actually skimmed the majority of it. i am normally a voracious reader and make sure I read every word of the current novel(s) I'm reading. The Appeal had , well, no appeal for me whatsoever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3