Customer Reviews for

The Appeal

Average Rating 3.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

excellent book vintage Grisham

John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why sho...
John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why should be belive it can't happen in America. No question in my mind that more than one Judge currenty sittin on the bench has been paid for his position. Grisham writes with a Southern flavor that's makes you long for the smell of Magnolia's and the South. You can never go wrong reading a John Grisham book.

posted by deantalley on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What has happened to Grisham?

What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how...
What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how to write a satisfying ending, but at least the journey was entertaining ("The Broker" for example.)

With "The Appeal" he has reached a new low. I plodded through the thing hoping that eventually there would be something interesting only to be disappointed at the end of every chapter, including the last one.

I used to wait impatiently for a new Grisham book and loved his early works like "A Time to Kill." In the last few years I've read his books sporadicaly and with varying degrees of disappointment. This will be the last. My verdict on John Grisham is that he should retire from fiction writing and go back to practicing law.

posted by kalooney on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Raw emotion and not-quite-justice

    There is an old civil rights joke about a black defendant who says: "If you're looking for justice in the courtroom, that's what you'll find - just us!"

    The Appeal is a gritty tale, filled with the raw emotion of of human suffering, a classic David vs. Goliath plot, three dimensional characters, and some very realistic twists. John Grisham ain't famous for nothin'. He has written a compelling novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good to see Clancy writing again

    Good, traditional Clancy. On the level of Pelican

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    Not Grisham's best

    Like most Grisham books, this was a pretty easy read and held my interest, for the most part. However, in the end it fell flat. I thought the ending was weak--as if the author was tired and ready to be done.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Recommended

    As always, Grisham keeps you reeled in with details that only a seasoned attorney could know. Multiple plots are on a collision course to a "surprise", but not, unexpected ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Good choice for Grisham fans

    Exciting & interesting story. I admire how the greed of tort lawyers as well as the profound narcissism of big business. It made me hate both parties. The ending was anticlimatic & a bit of a let down, but i would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Fantastic

    I loved how interesting grisham can make these legal cases and it shows just how good of an author he is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    a great suspensful read, it makes you truly wonder if this kind of thing really happens in our everday life

    I thouroughly enjoyed this book, at first you dont think something like this could happen to anyone, but as you delve deeper into the story, it makes you wonder if this could or is happening today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    good book

    this book was entertaining kept me wanting to keep reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    another classics from Grisham

    The Appeal by John Grisham (Book Review)
    The Appeal by John Grisham is now in paperback. It is published by Arrow and its ISBN is 0099481768. It is another great legal thriller by Grisham. It begins in the courtroom with a hearing on a chemical pollution case. A large chemical company Krane has polluted the water of a small community. The water has changed colour and people have died or become very ill. The Payne solicitors sued Krane on behalf of a widow and won. The victory is short lived as Krane's owner Carl Trudeau decides to fight it and he is not beyond political corruption. The rest of the novel deals with Krane's appeal. Reviewed by Annette Dunlea author of Always and Forever and The Honey Trap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Inside look at our sick political system

    Fascinating story of political corruption and the price we all pay. Great story but my wife was unhappy about the plot resolution. Too true to life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Surprising ending

    good storyline, strings you along thinking you know the ending - then you don't really!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2009

    Fiction or Reality?

    I've read all of Grisham's books and found this the hardest to "like" primarily because it depressingly chronicles how Big Business can buy judges. The current appeal of Massey Coal that put a competitor out of business is an uncanny real-life instance of how perilously "justice" is embroiled in politics. I'm amazed that more people aren't citing this novel as a foreshadowing of reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    One of my favorite Grisham novels

    I truly thought that this was one of Grisham's best novels to date. The issues of money, big business, politics, moral obligation, mass torte and victim's rights are all covered brilliantly. Couldn't put the book down once I had started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Pretty Good Book!

    I'm a big fan of Mr. Grisham, and this is definitely a good read. Very timely and a book that will get you thinking about the state of politics and corporate America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Another Book by John Grisham

    Another great book from John Grisham! It's arresting and keeps readers hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Yet another John Grisham

    The author does it again. If you like reading John Grisham, you'll more than likely be satisfied with this read. As a matter of personal opinion, I was not too keen on the ending, however it was not disappointing either. Interesting view on the way the law works in this book. A real sunday reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    A good read!

    Intriguing and measuring up to Grisham's earlier novels. It keeps you guessing until the end, which is not what you might expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Not My Favorite

    Really liked the book, it flowed well, kept me engaged so I didn't want to put the book down. Enjoyed the characters immensely, the topic keeping my interest. When I got to the end though, I felt like throwing the book in the garbage. I hated the ending. I have enough exposure to everything going around me in the economy. I didn't expect the ending. Some times it helps to let the good guys win. But it was a heck of a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Good Legal Read

    I enjoyed this John Grisham book, lots of twists and turns<BR/>in the plot. The ending left me a little wanting...could<BR/>have been a little better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Thought Provoking as Well as Gripping

    Grisham doing what he does best: creating a legal thriller that also poses questions and raises issues that are frighteningly relevant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5