Customer Reviews for

The Appeal

Average Rating 3.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

excellent book vintage Grisham

John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why sho...
John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why should be belive it can't happen in America. No question in my mind that more than one Judge currenty sittin on the bench has been paid for his position. Grisham writes with a Southern flavor that's makes you long for the smell of Magnolia's and the South. You can never go wrong reading a John Grisham book.

posted by deantalley on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What has happened to Grisham?

What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how...
What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how to write a satisfying ending, but at least the journey was entertaining ("The Broker" for example.)

With "The Appeal" he has reached a new low. I plodded through the thing hoping that eventually there would be something interesting only to be disappointed at the end of every chapter, including the last one.

I used to wait impatiently for a new Grisham book and loved his early works like "A Time to Kill." In the last few years I've read his books sporadicaly and with varying degrees of disappointment. This will be the last. My verdict on John Grisham is that he should retire from fiction writing and go back to practicing law.

posted by kalooney on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted December 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An Introspective Read

    After the last two years of campaigning and promises, this book was an interesting read for the legal fun, as well as the political fun. Grisham's declaration at the end was telling of the how he came to write the book, and why. I never take fiction too seriously, but this was ultimately one of those books that if you don't pick it apart, it is great fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    Good but ending disappointing.

    I couldn't put this book down. BUT, when I got to the end, I'm turning the remaining pages (it wound up being the author's note and acknowledgement) looking for the ending. I did not like the way it ended. It left you hanging and putting your own ending to it. Like some of the movies you watch. It leaves the ending up to the viewer. I haven't read a book by Gresham in a long time but this one kept my attention, until then end. Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting legal thriller

    The shocking verdict is heard in Jackson, Manhattan and DC when a Mississippi jury finds Krane Chemical guilty of dumping carcinogenic waste into the local water supply leading to a ¿cancer cluster¿. Widow Jeannette Baker and her trial layers are awarded $41 million in punitive damages, but she knows that means little since her husband and their child died from their little town being turned into a toxic dump; her lawyers are gratified because they sunk a half of a million dollars into the case and defeat may have meant bankruptcy.<BR/><BR/>Krane appeals to the Mississippi Supreme Court, but the Wall St based CEO shark Carl Trudeau does not want a second failure. Judicial elections are coming soon and he plans to<BR/> insure favorable judges sit on the court. He understands it will cost him a few million, but he believes a million here and a million there to buy judicial loyalty is loose change; in his mind it¿s billions before he believes we are talking real money. He has picked his prime target and quickly has him signed, sealed, and delivered.<BR/><BR/>This exciting legal thriller focuses on a real issue in the American political system, the election of judges who are politicians looking for donations to support their election bids. Thus the so-called independent judicial system adhering to laws is actually a series of activist judges regardless of party affiliation bought and sold by the highest bidding corporations. In that environs it is ironic that trial lawyers and punitive settlements are attacked but not the worst that capitalism can buy. Exciting and fast-paced from the onset with the jury ruling coming very early, fans will enjoy John Grisham¿s fine tale although the villains are so deliberately hyperbolic stereotyped they turn into caricatures as the star is the premise of buying judges through election donations.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    Modern Day David and Goliath story

    Jeannette Baker is a meek woman living in a small town Mississippi trailer park smack in the heart of a place called ¿Cancer County.¿ Within eight months, she had watched her husband, and then her only child, die of cancer caused by drinking water contaminated by Krane Chemical¿s illegal dumping of toxins. Jeannette uses up all her remaining courage and strength to sue Krane Chemical, the prototypical multinational conglomeration run by a filthy-rich-yet-still-insatiable Carl Trudeau. And when an appeal is filed, the case goes all the way to the state Supreme Court. Like Krane Chemical itself, John Grisham uses Jeannette Baker as a mere pawn to tell the story of how absolutely anything, even a seat on the state Supreme Court, is for sale in America. Grisham¿s twentieth novel presents yet another modern day David and Goliath story. The common person against the corporation. Poor vs. rich. Main Street vs. Wall Street. Good vs. greed. This moral tug-o-war is common territory for the author of The Firm, The Pelican Brief, and The Rainmaker, to name but a few of his fast-paced thrillers of this ilk. Certainly if you are among the many fans of Grisham¿s favored themes, you will get your fill with The Appeal. It¿s all there: juicy courtroom scenes, good-hearted small town lawyers, cold-blooded big city lawyers, bureaucratic corruption, Supreme Court justices, a rigged election. Although not nearly as fast-paced and gripping as some of his best work, The Appeal remains a satisfying read. What saves this book from being just more of the same from Grisham is its timeliness. Within the context of today¿s age of hyper-bureaucracy, when the average shopper must make a real effort to buy something that isn¿t produced by a mega-corporation, The Appeal feels eerily perceptive. It asks (and answers) the question, ¿Can a major election be bought?¿ In this book, Grisham illustrates a campaign¿s effective use of ¿truthiness,¿ a concept that means appealing to a voter¿s gut feeling as opposed to actual fact. In doing so Grisham comments on an American superficial inclination to elect the candidate they would rather have a beer with. Grisham utilizes common ploys in today¿s political playbooks in order to illustrate how easy it is to convince the majority of voters to support the less capable candidate. In doing so, the author prompts readers to wonder in fear if powerful people are as devious, callous and cunning as Krane Chemical¿s CEO Carl Trudeau. What do you think? Can a major election be bought? You won¿t get John Grisham¿s answer until the very end of The Appeal. Quill says: Read it before you vote!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2008

    The story is not a fiction

    Grisham breaks the traditional expected ending of good over evil. I cried most through the reading, when I saw my own case printed in The Appeal story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Grisham Gets 'Em Again!

    This one will make you feel right with the world. Good Ol' Grisham is back and the sleazy, polluting, money grubbing bad guys lose again. Why can't reality be like that????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    i do not know why lot of people did not liked the book . i liked this book as any other john grisham books . We were able to see other side of american politics . Excellent read .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Very good read...

    It is nice to see John stick with his lawbooks as I am not a fan of his other fiction. I actually stopped reading his books because of his new explorations in fiction and was pleasantly surprised when I saw this new realease. It was like cuddling up to an old but well loved blanket that you misplaced in the attic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    Good read

    My first Grisham book and I could not put it down once I started. I agree with the reviewers that were disappointed by subplots that seemed to disappear as the story went along, but I disagree that this is a terrible book and a waste of money. Wait for the paperback and then enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Good read that kept me on the treadmill

    This book helped me to stop being a 'couch potato'. The Appeal occupied my mind enough to keep me working out on the treadmill as I read rather than concentrating on how much I dread working out. Thanks John for helping me to get active and for entertaining me at the same time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2008

    Another Law Introspection

    I am sure that many readers are like me in that they wait for the novelist to write their next craft. You're current and up to date. Give the guy 'or gal' a year and you'll try not to be tempted to spend $30 bucks on the hardback 'but you know you will'. The talent about Grisham that I will always remember is how I have experienced his ability to write at a near break-neck speed. The Firm was the 'fastest' paced novel I have ever read. While The Appeal is a good story with some memorable characters, it is not written with that early rookie writing fervor that I always hope is there in a Grisham novel. There is another significant difference in this story and other Grisham works: No one walks off into the sunset at the end of this one, holding hands and smiling at their triumph over the protagonist. There is an interesting political theme in this new creation that often made me wonder if our current political climate is as controlled and manipulated as the one in this new book. Enjoy this new offering from a great writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    I'm a different voter now

    Okay, there were some unanswered questions at the end and I had hoped that the bad guys would be punished, but this is a reflection of todays America. Perhaps this book is more about revealing to us what is going on in our judicial system today. I found it an interesting read. True, not the usual Grisham novel but I came away feeling like I had a lesson in politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    My Appeal

    Hey whats up? JG. is my most favorite writer of all time. And this book strated out as fantastic as always. And if you like good discription, he's got it. I just desire a better ending for this one. Sorry, but disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Reality Hurts

    I read the book quickly and then reread it more slowly. At first I was disappointed with the ending but as I thought about it I realized that the author was trying to get me to think about the reality that the Justice system has to deal with. I wanted a pat ending but Grisham kept me connected with reality. Pat endings do not happen except by accident.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Liberal Author

    It is obvious that Grisham is a liberal who loves trial lawyers. However, I have to say I really enjoyed 'the bad guy' in this book. I did enjoy the book aside from all the personal injury lawyer love. Finally Grisham is writing books that people actually want to read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    Old Grisham is back

    After I read the Firm when it was published in 1991 I became a Grisham fan. I waited for each new title and tried my best to be among the first to read, discuss and have an opinion about the book. Halfway into the Street Lawyer I guess in 1988 I lost interest. After that I tried to become a fan again in 2000 and purchased The Brethren. Same thing though, lost interest after 100 pages. When I was on a short trip in Amsterdam last weekend I came across The Appeal on a special offer display in the American Book Center. After reading the cover text I felt the plot was very much a genuine powerful Grisham plot. I purchased the book didn¿t regret that. I could not stop reading. For me it was to get the old Grisham back. The Grisham that we loved to read some years ago, the juicy plot, the wonderful and interesting characters and the feeling that you are actually witnessing something major. No disappointment here. I have definitely placed myself in the waiting line for his next book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Grisham Gives, Grisham Takes

    This book is a captivating look at the process of judicial elections. Corrupt corporations and religious zealots combine in this case to try to elect a conservative lawyer who has never tried a case over a nine year veteran of the Mississippi Supreme Court. Grisham intelligently lays out the case of the corrupt corporation which has sent many to their deaths or illnesses by illegally dumping toxic chemicals. A hard fought trial results in a huge plaintiff's victory. The plaintiff's lawyers are a cliche of bleeding heart liberals. The defendant is just about as evil as it gets. Now the case is on appeal to that very court. Grisham has stacked the deck to write a book that could only come out one way. The reader sympathizes and rationalizes, but whatever conclusion is reached, Grisham then disowns in his shameful author's note following the conclusion of the book. Talk about trying to have it both ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    good book !!

    i love to read the books by john grisham and this story is good and keep on the good writing and i can't wait to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5