Customer Reviews for

The Appeal

Average Rating 3.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

excellent book vintage Grisham

John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why sho...
John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why should be belive it can't happen in America. No question in my mind that more than one Judge currenty sittin on the bench has been paid for his position. Grisham writes with a Southern flavor that's makes you long for the smell of Magnolia's and the South. You can never go wrong reading a John Grisham book.

posted by deantalley on May 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What has happened to Grisham?

What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how...
What in the world has happened to John Grisham? Has he run out of ways to make his books interesting and/or exciting or just forgotten how to do that? I loved his early books but in the last few years his books have become increasingly boring. Years ago he forgot how to write a satisfying ending, but at least the journey was entertaining ("The Broker" for example.)

With "The Appeal" he has reached a new low. I plodded through the thing hoping that eventually there would be something interesting only to be disappointed at the end of every chapter, including the last one.

I used to wait impatiently for a new Grisham book and loved his early works like "A Time to Kill." In the last few years I've read his books sporadicaly and with varying degrees of disappointment. This will be the last. My verdict on John Grisham is that he should retire from fiction writing and go back to practicing law.

posted by kalooney on December 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    excellent book vintage Grisham

    John Grisham is tops when it comes to writing legal thrillers. His books pose the realistic thoughts of what if..... in regards to legal issues. This book is about the possibility of can a position be bought on a Court. Since the Roman's this has been done so why should be belive it can't happen in America. No question in my mind that more than one Judge currenty sittin on the bench has been paid for his position. Grisham writes with a Southern flavor that's makes you long for the smell of Magnolia's and the South. You can never go wrong reading a John Grisham book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Chilling, Astounding Political Novel Goes to the Heart of Human Nature

    From the very beginning of John Grisham's novel The Appeal, he proves to be a very powerful author. The book is loaded with imagery and description, projecting, in great detail, every scene, every expression, every emotion of every character. Somehow, as it alternates between a variety of main characters, The Appeal portrays each one's nature so clearly that the reader finds himself agreeing with every perspective, virtually living and understanding the life of every character, and not just that of the "good guy."
    The Appeal describes an innocent, middle-aged man who is suddenly thrown into the heat and thrill of a legal race, and also, though he is unaware of it, into the manipulating hands of dangerous and cunning characters whose reputations and companies are at stake. It depicts not only the campaigning involved in a legal race, but also of the pressure that the responsibility of acting in the US government has on family life and personal standards. It reveals the cunning art of advertising, the sometimes evil and dishonest work that is put into the manipulatation of public views. It shows both the great variety and the many similarities of the many players on the chessboard of politics.
    The Appeal also demonstrates a scale of brilliant planning behind the story. At the heart of what should be the climax of the book, an incredible twist in the plot blasts everything into a completely new perspective, adding a whole new dimension to not only the storyline, but to the entire order of human society. The Appeal's ending is unprecedented and very dramatic, once again astounding the reader with its chilling and memorable aspect that reaches to the depths of human nature.
    I recommend this book to any reader looking for a striking, memorable novel. The Appeal is original and unsettling in its plot, themes, and grip on reality. It more than earns its place on the New York Times Bestseller list, and John Grisham is going to be a sought-after author for me for many years to come.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Great read.

    Grisham is true to form in this book. Just like all his other novels, this one is a page turner. He puts the reader smack into the plot through the entire book. This novel will really rile you up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2013

    John Grisham once more does it good!

    I listen to audio books while traveling. The Appeal by John Grisham is a good one. Flows well, kept me interested & was long enough to go with me the entire time of my trip. The information used in the book is very knowledgeable and refreshing. Good either to listen to as I did or just plain reading. This is indeed a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    CqAdql qq aaaqqpZ

    Xqeqq


    QtQeqpqq wacalyiqeqq q AsqqpawrPd10qqtgqqqwDkh
    Qe QrqqQqqrqaqQqqead wqq
    11Xqqe qqwaquafQaqQ qeqqawaqQCAadqQ qqqVxbqqa
    QrdaaqAqqawqxtqZzqZZlaq

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    money, law and politics go hand in hand

    This books gives a fictional account of how money, law and politics go hand in hand. It was an excellent read. Keep it up, John Grisham

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Pleasant Surprise

    I was pleasantly surprised to find this book. I am a Grisham fan, but feel that he has become a bit overrated. I enjoyed "The Last Juror" and "The Chamber" while others (like "The Partner") I found to be over-praised. This book, however, I think has not been given its due recognition. Few writers have the audacity to take on the issue of judicial elections tampering, though it happens in every state in almost every election cycle. I found myself at once liking but hating Fisk and at other times wanting nothing more than to bomb Crane Chemical myself. It was irritating, raw, and emotional. I read somewhere that he wrote it as a cautionary tale, and that it is. This year is a judicial election year in my state. I hope that the voters here can see through the bull-hock presentation of the likes issued by those funding Fisk in this novel. Thank you, Grisham. You have restored my faith in your writing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2009

    Best new John Grisham book in a while!

    I must confess that I have not read many John Grisham novels. This is pretty much my first novel by him that I have read. It's a really good read. Even though this book is newer and from 2007 it shows that even current authors can be just as good as the past great writers. Grisham is a modern day super writer to me. While people think J K Rowling is great they should read Grisham's books. The story line is a little similar to the movie "Erin Brokavitch." This book deals with greedy corporations polluting nearby water which caused cancer for several local residents. I don't want to give away too much of the plot because I want the reader to figure it out for his/herself. Overall I would definately reccomend this to any avid law story reader or just a fan of John Grisham in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Grisham's Appeal - A Great Read

    I found The Appeal a real page turner. I also discovered a new found respect for lawyers and recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great read

    the first book i read by grisham. i read it in 3 days because it was soo good. i had to keep reading to see what would happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    I liked it!

    I didn't know what to expect! It was a fast read, and I didn't want to put it down. I wanted to know how the appeal went. Very easy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Very Timely

    I loved this book because I found it to be "so" timely. So timely it made me rethink the Presidential election. Not to say that the Presidency can be bought (but Lord knows they try), but the way candidates are "found" to run for these offices. Now look what's happening in Illinois. There's nothing wrong with Mr. Grisham's writing. He's just nailed it again. Can't wait for The Associate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    Book Two!

    My review is: It's not DONE. I want to know what happened to the 8 year old boy and did his Dad wake up and smell the coffee. I want to know about the people that had loved ones die because of that jerk. And I want him to fall off that yatch of his and get his 'just desserts'. I want to know how the wonderful married couple, lawyers, turned out. They deserve better. How about the good guys, come on John! I know it's not reality, but we need some joy out of life, don't we.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    'The Appeal' is a well written, spell binding, thought provoking novel of political intrigue and now joins the ranks of my favorite Grishman creations. The detail with which he wove the story compelled me to savor each word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2008

    Exhilarating / Very Appealing

    This large print version was a plus, namely because my eyesight is on the wane. Although fiction, I applaud the author's enthusiasm for the exciting genre of jurisprudence. This tale was juicy and complementary to the way I spent my weekend. The book starts out with dirty business in a pesticide plant in Podunk, Mississippi and the rest of the story, which is a blockbuster, will keep you on your toes and reads smoothly. You will run into some irony by the ending, but in between, get ready to go behind-the-scenes in the legal realms. I just have to say that this book reminded me so much of the motion picture 'Erin Brockovic.' Lastly, If you enjoy page-turners, this will satisfy you and unlike a previous reviewer, it's not predictable or boring. I believe Justice always had a large price tag, but there are a few tricks left to deal with the lack of funds. Check out below.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    Enjoyable book but way liberal!

    Thankfully John Grisham has returned to the Mississippi-oriented legal thriller. The story is captivating and I always waiting for what would happen next. My biggest complaint with the book is liberal tone the book takes. To read this book, conservative businessmen are sleazy and money-grubbing, conservative politicians do nothing but play dirty tricks on the poor victimized moderates/liberals, businesses are not entitled to any representation of their interest in our system, and trial lawyers are selfless heroes only looking to do the right thing for their clients. Grisham conveniently creates cases where the 'right position' is clear cut, thus not allowing a legitimate exploration of the realities of political campaigns, tort law and big business. If you can get past the liberal-promoting tone, it is an enjoyable book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    This a great book with a tremendous story line that never stops from the opening page. This book is classic Grisham-the plot, story line and characters are tremendous. Hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    one of the better books out today

    this was is one of mr.grishams'better books-- it was a no-stop read, and that for me is hard to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2008

    JDO RN-avid reader

    It has been a while since I have been excited about a Grisham book. This book was good! I read it in 1 day! Welcome back Mr Grisham. I did think The Innocent Man was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    What Remains a Secret Can Hurt Everyone

    The way of the world is not the very best subject to research, but it is knowledge to be armed with...for whenever it is necessary. Grisham does a legal story like no one else. Like it or not, these issues are alive and well in the world and somehow we have to fight them when and where we can. Forewarned is forearmed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4