Customer Reviews for

Appetite for Reduction: 125 Fast and Filling Low-Fat Vegan Recipes

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent vegan cookbook!!

As a Minnesotan, I usually find that most vegan cookbook require ingredients that are simply not available in my area. Ms. Moskowitz has supplied us with a cookbook which is filled with recipes that doesn't require a two hour expedition to find ingredients!! ( and there...
As a Minnesotan, I usually find that most vegan cookbook require ingredients that are simply not available in my area. Ms. Moskowitz has supplied us with a cookbook which is filled with recipes that doesn't require a two hour expedition to find ingredients!! ( and there was much rejoicing) I have found these recipes easy to follow and you have a great vegan meal in under an hour!! My favorites so far are Potato and Spinach curry, Moroccan chickpeas and zucchini, and mushroom tibs. "Appetite for Reductions" is a great cookbook that has helped me to eat and feel better. As most of the ingredients are inexpensive this has also been great way to try different foods while waiting for winter to finally to go away!! I strongly recommend!

posted by RJH on March 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Watch out for the chili powder!

What otherwise would have been a delicious mole with black beans turned out WAY too hot! Should have gone with my instinct and held back on the amazing amount called for in the recipe. Recommend you add the chili powder last, gradually--and taste as you go.

posted by bookstorecat on April 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent vegan cookbook!!

    As a Minnesotan, I usually find that most vegan cookbook require ingredients that are simply not available in my area. Ms. Moskowitz has supplied us with a cookbook which is filled with recipes that doesn't require a two hour expedition to find ingredients!! ( and there was much rejoicing) I have found these recipes easy to follow and you have a great vegan meal in under an hour!! My favorites so far are Potato and Spinach curry, Moroccan chickpeas and zucchini, and mushroom tibs. "Appetite for Reductions" is a great cookbook that has helped me to eat and feel better. As most of the ingredients are inexpensive this has also been great way to try different foods while waiting for winter to finally to go away!! I strongly recommend!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended - love this cookbook!!!

    My family and I love this cookbook! My favorite recipe is "Hottie Black-Eyed Peas and Greens", amazing flavor! We have made this recipe at least 3 times already! I can't say enough about this book. I also loved reading the beginning about the author, she is a riot!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Love it!!

    I have the paper copy because i got it before i got my nook. This is an amazing cookbook with a large variety of recipes. I just about collect vegan cookbooks and this is one of my many favorites. The apple-butternut squash soup in this book is to die for!! I would also suggest the happy herbivore, vegan cookies invade your cookie jar, vegan with a vengence and vegan yum yum. You wont have to worry about overly complicated ingredients in this book, a lot of the ingredients can easily be found at your neighborhood grocer. Not to mention Makowitz is quite the funny woman in her "cookbook commentary" a must have for vegans who love variety.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Easy, delicious and hilarious!

    A friend of ours lent us this cookbook when we introduced a vegan diet into our home. We immediately purchased our own copy. The author is entertaining throughout the whole book and really gets you excited about trying out new vegan menus. Nothing too exotic - just scrumptious, unique recipes. We especially recommend the Hoisin Mustard Tofu!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Another classic from Ms Moskowitz

    I own other vegan cookbooks by Isa Chandra Moskowitz, but I held off buying Appetite for Reduction, thinking that I wasn't particularly interested in low-fat vegan meals as I already eat a healthy diet full of vegetables. After hearing so many good things about this book, I bought it and I am so glad I did. Everything I have made so far has been fantastic. Most of Isa's recipes are from ingredients that you can buy just about anywhere and the recipes themselves are easy to follow and always turn out great. It has excellent recipes for salads and homemade dressings. Everyone I've ever made any of Isa's recipes for, has given rave reviews (and I'm the only vegan, they are nearly always omnis). A definite must for your cookbook collection!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    Delicious Variety of Vegan Recipes!!

    As a vegan it is hard to find cookbooks that offer a good variety of recipes. I usually find myself eating the same thing and craving my old food. This cookbook is AMAZING and each recipe is so satisfying, flavorful, filling, and low fat! The ingredients are very easy to find and inexpensive. No crazy vegan substitutes here! Not to mention the recipes are vegan and DELICIOUS!! I made the Potato and Spinach Curry tonight and my non vegan boyfriend loved it! I love being able to eat Indian food without feeling guilty about it.

    Buy this NOW!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Outstanding Cookbook

    My husband and I have been vegetarians for the last 30 years and turned vegan about 10 years ago. Ms. Moskowitz's books are the BEST vegan cookbooks available (no, I'm not her friend and do not know her) but I love all of Isa's cookbooks. This one is great for those of us who need to watch our weight. The recipes are delicious and do not require an all day commitment; most of these recipes only take about 30 minutes. Husband loves them too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    It's a

    This is a great book for a beginner vegetarian as that's where I am. The recipes give so much variety and everything has been DELICIOUS. Of all the books I bought to introduce me to this diet, this is the one I keep using. Useful tips are given for substitutions in recipes which expand ones knowledge of how to cook vegetarian. It also gives nutritional info about all the recipes which is interesting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Decent - not great

    This book is not as good as Isa's other books (e.g., Vegan With A Vengeance Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar, Vegan Cupcakes take over the World, etc...). We LOVE Isa's other books. Just so you know, we typically follow a very lowfat, vegan diet (e.g., McDougall). In this book, the recipes are fat and calorie reduced (yes!), the techniques are great, and the recipes are easy to follow. However, the dishes seem to be missing the excellent flavors that Isa incorporated into her other works. My husband and I think the recipes I've made from Appetite for Reduction are not bad - just not great.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Even if you aren't vegan. . .

    I am not a vegan or a vegetarian, but in an effort to change up my diet and cooking a bit I decided to try this book. I was familiar with the author from her other cookbooks and so when I saw this and instantly saw several recipes of interest, I opted to invest in a copy. So glad I did! Isa uses ingredients that are easily accessible overall, affordable, tasty, and seemingly healthy. So far I have tried 3 recipes and each one has been a hit. Highly recommend the black bean, zucchini, and olive tacos. So good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I highly recommend this book. I am new to being a vegaan. As well as gluten intolerant. This author tells me at a glance if the receipe is gluten free as well as if it is done in uder 30 minutes. The receipes are easy to follow. Ingredients that are mainstream. LOVE LOVE LOVE this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Watch out for the chili powder!

    What otherwise would have been a delicious mole with black beans turned out WAY too hot! Should have gone with my instinct and held back on the amazing amount called for in the recipe. Recommend you add the chili powder last, gradually--and taste as you go.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Appetite for Reduction

    Appetite for Reduction has tons of great low fat, low calorie, very tasty recipes. I will refer to this book often.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    amazing!

    Really excited to use this book to find healthy yet flavorful vgan recipes

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    excellent recipes and easy to follow

    made several dishes and they turned out great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I love Isa!

    This book is great for those looking to kick-start healthier eating habits. I've tried several of the recipes and all have tasted great. I love the butternut-coconut rice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good book

    good source

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    I like it. I really like it.

    Most vegetarian/vegan cookbooks don't include nutritional information; I bought this one specifically because it does. And because it's by my favorite cookbook authoress...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    mmm...cruelty-free.

    Love me some Isa Chandra Moskowitz. Another fine cookbook from my favorite post-punk chef and cruelty-free cooking educator. oi! and oi-vey!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Something New

    I like the twists and choices of recipes and the ability to find most ingredients at my local market or health food store

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4