Customer Reviews for

Apple Turnover Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pick one already!

I really liked the latest installment of Hannah Swensen's story but I would love it if Ms. Fluke would make Hannah pick one already! The story was suspenseful and I love all the characters but I'm ready fer Hannah to have 1 boyfriend!

posted by ak1219 on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I want to like this series, but...

I really want to like this mysteries series. I've tried and read several of the books, but I just don't find that the main character, Hannah is believable as single 30 year old woman who owns her own business. Sorry, but what decade does she live in? Can't identify w...
I really want to like this mysteries series. I've tried and read several of the books, but I just don't find that the main character, Hannah is believable as single 30 year old woman who owns her own business. Sorry, but what decade does she live in? Can't identify with her even though I'm in the same demo and live in the midwest too. I can not stand how prudish she comes off and how she can't just pick a boyfriend/fiance. Really? Even after close to 2 years? How come she doesn't have more close girlfriends in a town where she grew up? I've liked parts of the books, but not a complete story and have decided to stop trying.

posted by 154134 on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Goodbye, Hannah, etc. I have had enough. When the next book co

    Goodbye, Hannah, etc. I have had enough. When the next book comes out I will check it out of the library, copy the recipes, and return it unread. I have read every book in this series but the books get increasingly more banal. Hannah is no longer a character I want to spend time with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Don't Bother

    Joanne Fluke's books have really gone down hill. The ongoing inablility to decide between Mike and Norman is no longer intriguing and is just plain annoying. Because this indecision has been going on for so many books, all three characters look foolish.

    Additionally, the actual story is a small part of the book. Much of the book is taken up with recipes and silly conversations between the characters that are basically drivel, like "I like it with sprinkles, I like it with icing" blah, blah. Remove the recipes and drivel and the actual story is about 20 pages. Joanne has lost me as a reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Please don't waste your time or money on this book

    Not since the Lilian Jackson Braun cat series have I read such a boring, plotless book. I had seen the Joanne Fluke series, and thought I would try her latest. I believe the author uses a pen name, and I can certainly understand why. It has the 2 full-time and 1 part-time male conundrum of an Evanovich; the constant slarping of high octane coffee, and cooking @ all hours of a Mott Davidson; and a few other offerings from authors who use their "niche" a little more effectively. When one puts a recipe on every 3-4 pages, and one talks about that recipe on the preceding page, there is little need to get into the meat of the plot (yes,I pun) I was very disappointed with this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book I've read by Joanne Fluke and I have to s

    This is the first book I've read by Joanne Fluke and I have to say I'm not impressed. I love mysteries and have read hundreds. I'm not sure if Joanne is writing for teens or young readers who haven't read many mysteries but I felt like she over explained everything and I had figured out who did it before the murder even happened. I loved the recipes but the rest of the book was a complete waste of time. I don't know if Joanne feels like she is trying to educate the reader but I don't need everything spelled out for me.
    I found the dialog was unrealistic and the police department was a joke altogether. The romance side was lacking and the wimpy Norman who was more in love with his cat than his girlfriend was just a sad sack altogether. I honestly didn't feel a connection between between Hannah and either of her suitors. I got tired of them drinking or making coffee in just about every paragraph and they seemed to live on cookies. Even the pet cats seemed more like cartoon characters than real animals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Boring

    BBBBBOOOOOORRRRRRDDDDDDD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Boring!

    Wish i could get my money back. Even $1.99 is too much for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    L

    Of course we have harriet klausner and her cliff note book report revealing the entire book. Now no need to purchase the book. Come on bn. Do something with this obnoxious poster already. She ruins every book she touches with her excessive so called reviews. Ban her already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1