Customer Reviews for

Apple Turnover Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pick one already!

I really liked the latest installment of Hannah Swensen's story but I would love it if Ms. Fluke would make Hannah pick one already! The story was suspenseful and I love all the characters but I'm ready fer Hannah to have 1 boyfriend!

posted by ak1219 on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I want to like this series, but...

I really want to like this mysteries series. I've tried and read several of the books, but I just don't find that the main character, Hannah is believable as single 30 year old woman who owns her own business. Sorry, but what decade does she live in? Can't identify w...
I really want to like this mysteries series. I've tried and read several of the books, but I just don't find that the main character, Hannah is believable as single 30 year old woman who owns her own business. Sorry, but what decade does she live in? Can't identify with her even though I'm in the same demo and live in the midwest too. I can not stand how prudish she comes off and how she can't just pick a boyfriend/fiance. Really? Even after close to 2 years? How come she doesn't have more close girlfriends in a town where she grew up? I've liked parts of the books, but not a complete story and have decided to stop trying.

posted by 154134 on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    I want to like this series, but...

    I really want to like this mysteries series. I've tried and read several of the books, but I just don't find that the main character, Hannah is believable as single 30 year old woman who owns her own business. Sorry, but what decade does she live in? Can't identify with her even though I'm in the same demo and live in the midwest too. I can not stand how prudish she comes off and how she can't just pick a boyfriend/fiance. Really? Even after close to 2 years? How come she doesn't have more close girlfriends in a town where she grew up? I've liked parts of the books, but not a complete story and have decided to stop trying.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Hannah is really beginning to annoy me

    Her inability to differentiate between sex and love are getting in the way of the plot. I find myself so irritated by her than I can no longer enjoy the series.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    The cookie has crumbled

    This series, unfortunately, has gotten stale and predictable. If you've read one, you've read them all. The whole "romantic triangle" business of Hannah, Norman and Mike, which has dragged on through all thirteen books, is extremely annoying and tiresome. Enough already! I won't be purchasing any more of this series.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Irritating

    I loved the Hannah Swensen series but I am finding it more difficult to tolerate the characters. This love triangle is getting really unbelievable but what bothers me most is that we are supposed to believe that Hannah is somehow the only adult capable of doing anything in this town! Can't anyone think for themselves or do anything without the advice and explicit directions of Hannah Swensen? I was also pretty annoyed with how every little detail of every conversation had to be played out as if the audience is incapable of getting the gist of it. I have stayed loyal to this series in hopes it would get back on track and up to par with the first few books but this one was the worst. It seems as if the books are becoming a means to get the recipes out there instead of making the recipes a sweet little addition to the story. Maybe a short story collection would be a better option? Not sure if I will stay with this and I am really disappointed to say that :(

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    Ok. But beware of a bad ending

    Was a pleasant before bed read..until the last chapter. Ruined the whole story. Then the next book in the series destroyed it completely. Joanne Fluke, I was expecting a nice comeback as you have such a way with words and events. But the next book only made the situation from bad to worse (and non-realistic in today's day and age). The characters could have sought legal help instead of becoming a slave to circumstance. Went from a 4 star to a 2.5 for that reason.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    Don't bother!!

    I downloaded this story and Key Lime Pie Murder. Both were boring. I have not read all of the Hannah Swensen books, or I probably would have stopped reading them a long time ago. Books are predictable. Boring plots, long, boring conversations with mom and sisters. And at 30 years old, she can't make up her mind what man she wants. Grow up, Hannah!!! When Ms. fluke starting writing this series, she obviously struck gold with her readers. But after all this time, the series has grown old. I have a wish list of books I want to download on my Nook. I've taken the Hannah Swensen books off that list. Waste of money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    sadly not the finest from Mrs. Fluke

    I read the poor reviews and thought, this is just a light reading, I can still enjoy this. Unfortunately, the other reviews are correct. I kept asking myself "Did J. F. really write this"? It is way too simple and different from the previous books I have enjoyed in the series. Too many fluff conversations going nowhere, too many receipes (did I actually write that?) leaving very little of actual pages toward the story, and just not a typical Hannah Swenson mystery. It was like it followed the formula but someone else wrote it. Let's hope that this series continues and reforms back to the Hannah mystery style we all have learned to enjoy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    Not her best book

    Honestly I was disappointed in this book. It took a long time to get to the murder and I figured out "who dun it" right from the start. The contrived romantic drama within the story was exactly that - contrived and painful to read because it was so silly. Joanne needs to get this franchise back on track so it can be as good as it once was.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    To below

    I hump you so hard that i lift you whith every hump

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Not much plot here

    It took so long to get the story that I found myself only looking for the next recipe and not caring about the plot. The build up to having a story with the evil professor sure didn't pay off in the end!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1