Customer Reviews for

Apple Turnover Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pick one already!

I really liked the latest installment of Hannah Swensen's story but I would love it if Ms. Fluke would make Hannah pick one already! The story was suspenseful and I love all the characters but I'm ready fer Hannah to have 1 boyfriend!

posted by ak1219 on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I want to like this series, but...

I really want to like this mysteries series. I've tried and read several of the books, but I just don't find that the main character, Hannah is believable as single 30 year old woman who owns her own business. Sorry, but what decade does she live in? Can't identify w...
I really want to like this mysteries series. I've tried and read several of the books, but I just don't find that the main character, Hannah is believable as single 30 year old woman who owns her own business. Sorry, but what decade does she live in? Can't identify with her even though I'm in the same demo and live in the midwest too. I can not stand how prudish she comes off and how she can't just pick a boyfriend/fiance. Really? Even after close to 2 years? How come she doesn't have more close girlfriends in a town where she grew up? I've liked parts of the books, but not a complete story and have decided to stop trying.

posted by 154134 on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    Loved the ending!

    This book was a little different because it seemed that I was halfway through the book before the murder occurred. It was refreshing to have Norman distracted and not so doting on Hannah and to have her a little worried about the potential of losing him. I loved the ending and cannot wait for the next book!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    A very good book

    Apple Turnover Murder is a very good book. I have read all the
    Hannah Swensen murder series and enjoy the way Joannne Fluke writes
    them. I love all the characters and all the recipes that are in
    each book. I recommend all these books to everyone that enjoys a
    good mystery and murder story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Nook Errors

    My rating is for the story, not the quality of the Nook edition. I'd give that two stars.
    I have really enjoyed this series and the recipes included. All of the instructions are simple, and the recipes are not very hard to make either.
    I have an issue, however, with the Nook version. I have been bookmarking the recipe pages so that I can go back to some of them and try them out. Even if I am not baking at that moment (D'oh, I'm READING!), I read through the recipes. There are a few in this book (I'm not finished yet) that have "?" instead of a quantity (for powdered sugar, vanilla, and other ingredients). I hate to think I will now have to shell out for the paperback version just to get the recipe information. Or maybe this just isn't a good series to read on a Nook.
    If anyone is reading this and has anything to do with the preparation of the Nook editions, I'd appreciate some help here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Great book, great series

    Such a good book and the whole series is amazing. Seriously addicting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Emma

    Moans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    3 stars

    It is ok. The title throws me off

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Onestar

    Bramblestar is to young. Onestar is a jerk, he should die.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Very enjoyable and great recipes too!

    Typical Joanne Fluke. Someone gets killed and Hannah can't keep her nose out of it. Love revisiting her home town and her family and friends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Great Book!

    You will enjoy reading the adventures of Hannah and her friends as they cook and hunt down a killer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Good clean read

    Great recipes but just average mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Great Light Reading

    Great light mystery with step-by-step instructions for preparing some of the dishes integral to the story. I would recommend this book for lovers of cooking and murder mysteries!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Fallon

    ._.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I can't say anything bad about the Hannah Swensen series. I love enjoy them and the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD

    I found it interesting and the recipes were original. I can't wait to try some of them. The story moved well and I did not want to put it down! I have read all of Joanne Fluke Hannah series and I love them all and plus I have a nice recipe collection. I would like to see Hannah marry Norman and Mike get involved with Norman's new dentist partner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Culinary mystery

    Bradford Ramsey broke Hannah's heart years ago and has resurfaced back in town. Now he seems to be doing the same to Michelle. Thankfully, he doesn't appear to remember Hannah. Hannah's kept busy with wedding showers and parties to cater with her cookie shop, The Cookie Jar. As if she wasn't busy enough, they agree to provide apple turnovers for a fundraiser and Hannah agrees to be Herb's assistant in a magic act for a talent show to help him out. When Hannah stumbles over Bradford's body backstage, she worries her past with him will surface. She sets out to find out who killed him before the whole town finds out.

    I love this series, but I sure wish Hannah would pick Mike or Norman. That said, I love Hannah and the various other characters in Lake Eden. It's always a fast read, and the food sounds scrumptious. Someday I have to try some of her recipes. I recommend this book and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3