Customer Reviews for

The Apprentice: My Life in the Kitchen

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    A JOY TO READ AND SAVOR

    As satisfying as a 5-star meal, as delicious as his mother's cheese souffle, Jacques Pepin's autobiography is rich in scenes, friends, recipes, and anecdotes. Surely one of the most famous chefs in the world who came into homes through his PBS cooking shows and popular cookbooks, Pepin now reveals the story behind the public face. Born in prewar France to a cabinetmaker and an energetic woman who owned a small restaurant Pepin was enamored with the kitchen as a youth. He left his formal education behind at the age of 13 to sign on as an apprentice in the arduous training system then required. It was a difficult road he had chosen in a system reminiscent of feudal days. Yet the young man persevered, and before the age of twenty found himself in France's most elite restaurant. Next, he would become personal chef to Charles de Gaulle. After coming to America he numbered among his friends those with like interests and gifts - Julia Child and James Beard. He also earned a degree from Columbia University, and began to work for Howard Johnson. A serious automobile accident might have meant the end of anyone's career, but not Pepin's. When he was unable to keep up the daily routine in a kitchen he became a cooking teacher, and a television icon. 'The Apprentice: My Life In The Kitchen' is a joy to read and savor.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Excellent Memoir

    Pepin has as much flair for storytelling as he does for cooking. A delightful, charming and touching memoir.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Fascinating life story!

    This autobiography is well written and very readable. Jacques Pepin tells his story of growing up in France during W.W.II when he was a young boy. His book has the recipes he ate in his family home and in his mother's restaurant. His career spans helping in his mother's restaurant, apprenticing in French restaurants, cooking for French Presidents, and traveling to America to work as a chef and much more. I recommend this book to anyone, and especially to anyone who cooks in their own kitchen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    Wonderful!!!

    This is the thoughtful story of a man who has had a truly amazing life. A great read! Includes wonderful recipes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    This book is like a good meal - balanced and satisfying!

    Are you a foodie? Do you appreciate art in all its many forms? Does a sprinkling of history ignite your imagination?
    Then this book is for you!
    I'm sad to say that its over for me, but you have the opportunity to experience the wonderful journey this humble and gifted chef, Jacques Pepin, takes you on.

    Beautifully written, humorous, interesting, The Apprentice:My Life in the Kitchen, logs a culinary journey from a slice of time that no longer exists except thru these pages. From post-war France with all its traditions, thru to America with its new and open ideas towards food and culture - this was a fascinating read at every turn. Chef Pepins great insight and humility is refreshing fixed against todays celebrity chef and artsy approach to plating.
    I highly recommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    If you like his shows you'll love his book

    Jacques is a very good storyteller. The book moves quickly and never gets boring or too technical. His playful personality shines through and it's very much like as you would hear him on his many TV shows. I recommend this book to anyone who may think that you're mildly interested (as I am); his storytelling will not disappoint and you will be looking forward to the next page, surprising even yourself how interested you could be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I enjoyed this book overall. I mostly enjoyed his younger years as a child and when he was first starting out as an apprentice. By the middle of the book he was an established chef and I got a little tired of all of the name dropping and self-congratulation. But it was still a good book overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Funny

    This book is very funny and I love it you should try it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Love this man, love the book.

    I have been a fan of his cooking shows with and without his old friend Julia Child. Finally I learn what makes him tick and where his passion for food and it's preparation came from. Liked reading about his early years in America. Oh, to wish I were about ten years younger and he about 30, then. . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Sensational

    Jacques passion and dedication the the craft has inspired me to take the meals I have more seriously. The detail and color of his words are the likes of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2012

    I really enjoyed reading this memoir. The tone was positive thro

    I really enjoyed reading this memoir. The tone was positive throughout, and speaks of a lifelong passion of not only bettering himself, but making the world around him better too. I would highly recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1