Customer Reviews for

The Apprentice (Rizzoli and Isles Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 635 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(272)

4 Star

(223)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

THE APPRENTICE

A year after the surgeon was arrested, (last novel) and with many emotional and physical scars later Detective Rizzoli is called to another murder scene with chilling similarities to the Surgeon Case. After the investigation gets under way FBI agent Gabriel Dean shows u...
A year after the surgeon was arrested, (last novel) and with many emotional and physical scars later Detective Rizzoli is called to another murder scene with chilling similarities to the Surgeon Case. After the investigation gets under way FBI agent Gabriel Dean shows up and is given all access to the investigation. Jane does not understand why he was called. Her puzzlement only increases as he seems to mysteriously know where to look for evidence and what kind of evidence to look for. The next strange thing: Warren Hoyt "the surgeon" escapes from prison and appears to be working with the Dominator. A lot of shocking twists ahead! Well worth your time!

posted by 1DANA3 on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Yup, she is in the sophomore slump!

The Surgeon was great and I think Ms. Gerritsen's publisher wanted another book fast...too fast. This book is a little clumsy and a lot predictable. Not a horrible read, but not one I would recommned as an intro into Gerritsen's work.

posted by LibraryCatLady on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 640 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THE APPRENTICE

    A year after the surgeon was arrested, (last novel) and with many emotional and physical scars later Detective Rizzoli is called to another murder scene with chilling similarities to the Surgeon Case. After the investigation gets under way FBI agent Gabriel Dean shows up and is given all access to the investigation. Jane does not understand why he was called. Her puzzlement only increases as he seems to mysteriously know where to look for evidence and what kind of evidence to look for. The next strange thing: Warren Hoyt "the surgeon" escapes from prison and appears to be working with the Dominator. A lot of shocking twists ahead! Well worth your time!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "The Surgeon" And "The Apprentice" GO HAND IN HAND SO READ THE FIRST BEFORE THE SECOND FOR MAXIMUM GERRITSEN PLEASURE

    In this novel we have our favorites, Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles back with us-some comfort there, as well as Agent Gabriel Dean, to partially renew the story of Warren Hoyt. But as horrible as Warren was, weren't we to feel safe in our beds at last that he was in prison? Now are we to lay awake at night with a whole new fear that somehow he has arisen in an apprentice, maybe even someone bolder or more frightening than he was- or is that even thinkable? You can only be brave enough to read....

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    The Surgeon Has A Friend

    Crime scene eerily familiar. The nightgown neatly folded on the chair in the bedroom. That was all Jane Rizzoli needed to be reminded of her ordeal with The Surgeon. Warren Hoyt was behind bars, but someone was carrying out his legacy. Although this time the victims are couples, the husband found with his neck slashed and the wife abducted and raped before her dead body is dumped days after,the murderer would leave the woman¿s nightgown in the room as a taunt to the authorities. Just as Hoyt had done. The trepidation heightens when Hoyt escapes from prison to unite with his blood brother and together, they carry out their murderous fantasies. The body count rises, but these murders were just a prelude to claiming the most desirable prize of all ¿ Jane Rizzoli. Author Gerritsen has done it again. She has successfully roused the heartbeat to thump faster and reducing the reader to bite one¿s nails. There is fear at every turn. The gore does not leave you disgusted, it makes you crave for more. She gives insight into the minds of the criminals. Her medical and forensics explanation is to the point and easy to comprehend. But Jane Rizzoli¿s ` I have to prove myself to these dicks¿¿ attitude is getting a little stale that one feels like grabbing her by the shoulders and yelling `¿ Get over it. Just be YOURSELF¿¿ There is a throw in of a romance potential for Rizzoli that will have readers crying out for more, so Gerritsen is certain of a loyal following. But there will be frowns etched on reader¿s faces as some would be dissatisfied with the abrupt volatile ending and the view that this book is just a rehash of THE SURGEON. Not much information is provided regarding the dominator, who appears for a brief second before he meets a bloodspray. Apart from the off-putting remarks, this book is a sure thing for those who want to be thrilled to their toes and ruin a perfect set of manicured nails. ¿Suhainah Wahiduddin ¿

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    On the edge of my seat!

    Tess Gerritsen is one of my favorite authors and 'The Apprentice' combines the elements of a dark thriller with the sultry suspense she is known for. One of the best!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    I enjoyed reading this book. It has a suspenseful story line that will keep you reading for hours.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Repetitive and redundant!

    I really enjoyed The Surgeon it was well written, suspenseful and kept me reading long after my eyes were tired. I can not say that for the sequel The Apprentice. The book is 282 pages but could easily have been reduced to 100 pages had the author left out all the redundant pondering of the main character Rizzoli. The majority of the story is focused on Rizzoli's "feelings". I also did not enjoy the historical reflections, by the killer, of how women have been brutalized over time. Really disappointed I had hoped to find a new series to enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    I recommend book #2 to the Rizzoli & Isles Series

    This is a follow-up to the first book in the series "The Surgeon." Though I completely enjoyed the continuation of the story, the name of the book is inappropriate as far as the content of the book is concerned. Throughout the book the villain is repeatedly referred to as "The Dominator", and is only in passing that he is called an Apprentice. I feel the book should have been titled "The Surgeon: Part 2" or "The Dominator". While I did enjoy reading the story, I was disappointed that in the last few pages of the book the story just came to a screeching halt...it just stopped with Warren Hoyt thinking about the neuropsychiatrist, Dr. O'Donnell. It didn't seem there was much closure for Detective Rizzoli in dealing with the case of The Dominator. Hopefully, the character of Gabriel Dean carries into future books. I guess I'll have to read the next book to find out if the story continues...I fell like I was left without answers.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for the squeamish!

    If you don't mind some violence and graphic details this is a very good read. The characters are everyday people that are easy to relate to and the story line is a bit different. You must like detective novels and who-dun-its to really enjoy this one. Hard to put down once you have started it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Yup, she is in the sophomore slump!

    The Surgeon was great and I think Ms. Gerritsen's publisher wanted another book fast...too fast. This book is a little clumsy and a lot predictable. Not a horrible read, but not one I would recommned as an intro into Gerritsen's work.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Highly recommend.

    Didn't know the TV series were books also. This book gives a lot of early background on Rizzoli and Hoyt. Isles doesn't show up til close to the end, but it answers a lot of questions. I'm reading the second in the series now and it is even better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    A very good read

    I just finished and i was not disappointed. Good story very few dead spots. Good follow up to the Surgeon. Looking forward to the next book in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great read.

    Gerritsen's stories are nearly perfect, and I read this one cover-to-cover. Rizzoli has been through a lot and she's dedicated to the job, but she has her flaws and weaknesses. The author put her through the test this time and it worked!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!!

    This was a very good book. I thought the Surgeon was good but this was better. Tess Gerritsen is a great writer. I have read every book in the Rizzoli series and evey one of them keeps you going until the end. Could not put the book down. Can not wait until the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Great story

    Ms. Gerritsen is at it again. I have never been dissapointed by any of her books and this one is no exception. A great crime mystery with lots of twists and turns. Hard to put down. Well worth your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Not the tv Rizzoli & Isles.

    Much darker than the tv series. Much better characterizations and story, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Second book in the series!

    This is the 2nd book in the series and it so good. If you ike the show Rizzoli and Isles you should read this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Apprentice

    The Apprentice ( Rizzoli and Isles #2) By Tess Gerritsen: I was very surprised by this book. The reason being is it took more then half the book for it to go at a regular pace and there for made it harder to read in the timely manner I usually do. Once it picked up though it totally took off!!! it made it worth the wait. I do have to say though since I watched the episodes from the hit TV series that was based on this book it had a ton of differences so it was still able to shock me. My warnings: 1. This is not in the kids or young adult sections for many reasons so parents be warned. 2. Reader can get a little lost if going out of order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Fast moving, easy read! Looking forward to reading the 3rd in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Great book

    Wonderful book it will keep you on your toes you will not want to put it down for one moment. Very suspenseful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Excellent Novel

    Am a fan of this series. Tess Gerritsen is an excellent author whose story holds the readers interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 640 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32