Customer Reviews for

The Apprentice (Rizzoli and Isles Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 628 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(271)

4 Star

(220)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

THE APPRENTICE

A year after the surgeon was arrested, (last novel) and with many emotional and physical scars later Detective Rizzoli is called to another murder scene with chilling similarities to the Surgeon Case. After the investigation gets under way FBI agent Gabriel Dean shows u...
A year after the surgeon was arrested, (last novel) and with many emotional and physical scars later Detective Rizzoli is called to another murder scene with chilling similarities to the Surgeon Case. After the investigation gets under way FBI agent Gabriel Dean shows up and is given all access to the investigation. Jane does not understand why he was called. Her puzzlement only increases as he seems to mysteriously know where to look for evidence and what kind of evidence to look for. The next strange thing: Warren Hoyt "the surgeon" escapes from prison and appears to be working with the Dominator. A lot of shocking twists ahead! Well worth your time!

posted by 1DANA3 on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Yup, she is in the sophomore slump!

The Surgeon was great and I think Ms. Gerritsen's publisher wanted another book fast...too fast. This book is a little clumsy and a lot predictable. Not a horrible read, but not one I would recommned as an intro into Gerritsen's work.

posted by LibraryCatLady on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THE APPRENTICE

    A year after the surgeon was arrested, (last novel) and with many emotional and physical scars later Detective Rizzoli is called to another murder scene with chilling similarities to the Surgeon Case. After the investigation gets under way FBI agent Gabriel Dean shows up and is given all access to the investigation. Jane does not understand why he was called. Her puzzlement only increases as he seems to mysteriously know where to look for evidence and what kind of evidence to look for. The next strange thing: Warren Hoyt "the surgeon" escapes from prison and appears to be working with the Dominator. A lot of shocking twists ahead! Well worth your time!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "The Surgeon" And "The Apprentice" GO HAND IN HAND SO READ THE FIRST BEFORE THE SECOND FOR MAXIMUM GERRITSEN PLEASURE

    In this novel we have our favorites, Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles back with us-some comfort there, as well as Agent Gabriel Dean, to partially renew the story of Warren Hoyt. But as horrible as Warren was, weren't we to feel safe in our beds at last that he was in prison? Now are we to lay awake at night with a whole new fear that somehow he has arisen in an apprentice, maybe even someone bolder or more frightening than he was- or is that even thinkable? You can only be brave enough to read....

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2003

    On the edge of my seat!

    Tess Gerritsen is one of my favorite authors and 'The Apprentice' combines the elements of a dark thriller with the sultry suspense she is known for. One of the best!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    loved it

    I enjoyed reading this book. It has a suspenseful story line that will keep you reading for hours.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not for the squeamish!

    If you don't mind some violence and graphic details this is a very good read. The characters are everyday people that are easy to relate to and the story line is a bit different. You must like detective novels and who-dun-its to really enjoy this one. Hard to put down once you have started it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!!

    This was a very good book. I thought the Surgeon was good but this was better. Tess Gerritsen is a great writer. I have read every book in the Rizzoli series and evey one of them keeps you going until the end. Could not put the book down. Can not wait until the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Great story

    Ms. Gerritsen is at it again. I have never been dissapointed by any of her books and this one is no exception. A great crime mystery with lots of twists and turns. Hard to put down. Well worth your time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Fantastic!!!!!!

    Can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Yes, it was Awesome!!!

    Awesome sequel to the Surgeon!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    ANOTHER GREAT ONE

    I have now read book 1 (The Surgeon) and book 2 (The Apprentice). I can't wait to continue reading the Rizzoli and Isles books. They just keep getting better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Employee Bios

    The positions include warrior, medicine cat, and leader. There may only be TWO leaders at a time, and their only job is to perform apprentice and warrior/medicine cat ceremonies. There may be multiple medicine cats to train medicine cat apprentices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Second book in the series!

    This is the 2nd book in the series and it so good. If you ike the show Rizzoli and Isles you should read this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Excellent Read

    Fast moving, easy read! Looking forward to reading the 3rd in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Legegendclan

    Aceepts all cats at uncle remus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    WANT A CLAN WHO ACTUALLY NEEDS YOU??

    G to Pearlclan at 'afnc', we are mercats, but we REALLY need you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    To apprentices

    Autumnclan will adopt you. Go to august wind res one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Hi

    Look back at this, years can pass and you wish you could be back at this time......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Great book

    Wonderful book it will keep you on your toes you will not want to put it down for one moment. Very suspenseful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Bn

    Bmu gjvngjhk yu myibnnmyi .gjbn bngbj yu tibmiyhkigbj tbmyig i yi yitu g u .timmbn tigj .vn . Vbfj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Excellent Novel

    Am a fan of this series. Tess Gerritsen is an excellent author whose story holds the readers interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 271 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14