Customer Reviews for

April Morning

Average Rating 4
( 61 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Summer reading

This book was assigned my summer reading and i wasn't so happy about it because i am not a history person. I didn't like the book at first. But then it started to get interesting. In the end I did turning out liking this book. Anyone who likes history would love this bo...
This book was assigned my summer reading and i wasn't so happy about it because i am not a history person. I didn't like the book at first. But then it started to get interesting. In the end I did turning out liking this book. Anyone who likes history would love this book but just keep reading on even if it does get boring.

posted by 10565190 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring but okay

When i first started reading this book i was bored out of my mind. The beginning was really slow but it got better. Some parts were bette than others. I would not recommend this book.

posted by Anonymous on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Summer reading

    This book was assigned my summer reading and i wasn't so happy about it because i am not a history person. I didn't like the book at first. But then it started to get interesting. In the end I did turning out liking this book. Anyone who likes history would love this book but just keep reading on even if it does get boring.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Excellent Historical Novel

    The story of the American Revolution is in many history books and is well known to any student. This is a first person account of a small New England town and how one of the first battles affects the towns people and their families.
    A great read that is over before you know it. Howard Fast does a great job making an often told tale come to life in the eyes of an 18th century teen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Boring but okay

    When i first started reading this book i was bored out of my mind. The beginning was really slow but it got better. Some parts were bette than others. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Some audiences will prefer over others

    I really enjoyed the book, but I could see how it would appeal to males more than females and in particular young men. Fighting a battle in your own neighborhood as a teenage boy is a very real experience that young men can easily imagine themselves and relate very well to the main character. The author does do a good job of bringing in the female perspective of grief and their sacrifices as well. Very fast read, 3 days max.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Amazingg(:

    This book we are reading it in english. It's incrediblee(:

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    April Morning

    This book is now one of my favorite books. It takes place on April 18-19, 1775 in Lexington, Massachussets during the American Revolution. The town of Lexington is a quiet, peaceful, religious town full of Puritans. Adam and his argumentative father have never really been close or gotten along. One night, when his younger brother, Levi, hears hoofbeats, Adam will have to step up to become a man. During the fight against the Redcoats, Adam realizes the reality of war and is not like romantic versions he has heard of it. During just 24 hours, Adam has come from a young boy, to the man of the house. This book has some subtle humor to it and I would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    Awesome Touching Books

    I had to read this book for a school literature project; I had no idea the book was going to be like this. It started off slow at first, but then the story got fast paced and exciting! If you have to choose a book to read, I definitely recommend you read this book! It is awesome! If you are up for excitement, thrilling stories, and a little romance, April Morning is definitely the book for you! It is a very touching story. I also recommend that whoever has a little anger towards their parents or anything, that they need to read this book! It shows a lot about 'you never know what you got till its gone."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Morning Rises ~ Chapter 8

    Morningpaw got ammideintly, forgetting about her paw. *Ow.* Thought Morningpaw, as she limped across the clearing. When all had arrived, Velvetstar yowled, "Something occurred today. Something bad." Suprised yowls and mews rose from the cats. Velvetstar flicked her tail for silence. "I would like to talk with Dewpaw in my den." Velvetstar mewed. All the cats looked at Dewpaw. Some hissed. Dewpaw turned red. Suddenly, Silentwind rushed out. "StarClan has given me a new prophecy." *A new Prophecy?* Thought Morningpaw. She strained her ears to listen as a hush fell over the cats. "The cat who is as strong as the Rising, the cat who is as gentle as the Morning, will not only save the clans, but will also destroy the Dew." Silentwind mewed. Morningpaw stepped back and gasped. What did this mean? She watched as Depaw turned even redder and glared hard. Dewpaw's ears drooped as Velvetstar padded to her. Just as they were about to go in the den, Morningpaw padded up. "Velvet-" She began, but stopped when she saw Velvet's face. She watched as Dewpaw and Velvet dissapeared into the leaders den. <p> (Ok, Velvey sounded awful, so I am using Velvet. Bye!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    Great book especially considering it was "required reading"

    I was required to read this book for my English class. To be truthful, it was good and it was quick and easy to read. It has a great story line and was interesting through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Fernflower

    Licks the apprintince

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    App den

    App den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    So boring!!

    It is soo boring. It's slow.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Boring

    Not interesting to me some parts are ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Boring Story

    April Morning by Howard Fast, was the story of a young boy, learning how to make his life the way he wants it, even though war is begining to shatter the world around him. The overall plot was not interesting, and no one could understand how this book was meant to be good literature. It tried to be serious, and then it would go on for pages at a time, about food. No one cares. This book was bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    April Morning book review

    The book April morning is about a boy named Adam was in the second line of defenses when the British opened fire. After watching his Dad and many other men get killed, Adam had to become the man of the family. I enjoyed this vivid historical fiction book because I felt like I was in Adams shoes found the book very interest because of all the action scenes and cussing especially in a kid¿s book. I liked the way people grouped together to defend the village. I like the period of time the story took place. I really enjoyed the tactics they used against the British. It showed a part of our history. It showed what it was like to be a young teenager in the 1700s. I enjoyed the way this book felt so real and how vibrant the picture they painted in your head is. The way they showed how Adams family lived. How they the described the battles. And how well the author described the story. Adams father died when the small town tried to defend themselves against the British. He then joined a bigger militia to help protect the surrounding towns. After defending the towns, he had to become the man of the family to replace his Dad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    An amazing book

    If I had to choose my top five all-time favorite books, 'April Morning' would definitely be on my list. It is a stunning account of a fifteen-year-old boy's experience in the battle of Lexington. It is one of the best historical fiction books written about the time period. The book emphasizes the patriot's cause for independence and the minutemen's determination that eventually won the Revolutionary War. I would highly reccommend this book to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2007

    Confusing with the cussing

    When I read the book April Morning, I was a little bit surprised that there would so much cussing in a children's book! I had to read this for a school assingment and I was literally one out of four who actually read and finished the book! 1 out of 4!!! But, overall, it really was a good book. I enjoyed some parts over others and I thought that during the time that it was written, it was beautifully written for a book in the sixties.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    April Morning¿ s book review . Adam was in the second line of defenses when the British opened fire. After watching his Dad and many other men get killed, Adam had to become the man of the family. I really enjoyed this historical fiction book because I felt like part of the story. I found the book very entertaining because of all the action scenes. I also liked how the Grandmother always defended him when his father argued with him at the dinner table. I liked the way people grouped together to defend the village. I like the period of time the story took place. I really enjoyed the tactics they used against the British. It showed a part of our history. It showed what it was like to be a young teenager in the 1700s. I enjoyed the way this book felt so real. The way they showed how Adam¿s family lived. how they The described the battles. How well the author described the story. Adam¿s father died when the small town tried to defend themselves against the British. He then joined a bigger militia to help protect the surrounding towns. After defending the towns, he had to become the man of the family to replace his Dad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2006

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!

    THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD!!!!!! IT PUTS YOU IN THE SHOES OF ONE OF THE BLOODIST BATTLES IN AMERICAN HISTORY. THIS BOOK IS A GREAT READ FOR ANYONE WHO LIKES ADVENTURE!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    Great Read

    I haven't read this book in a while, but I still remember how much I loved it. April Morning is a suprisingly good book with an interesting plot and an ending that makes you want more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4