Customer Reviews for

Aquamarine

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wow! This book is fantastic as soon as I started to read it i co

Wow! This book is fantastic as soon as I started to read it i could not put the book down. I saw the movie and it was good but not up to par with this book! You have to read it

posted by MERMAID123 on November 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

bad form, dear watson

ok, i'm sorry to the people who liked the book, but this was probably the worst book i have read for a long time. there is no plot, and it's really short. do not read this book, it's a waste of time.

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2006

    THIS IS AMAZING!

    This book was and always will be amazing. The movie is also good but the book is even better! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Horrid

    I did not like this book at all.The plot was very shallow.There was no magic to it at all.It was a huge dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    Thrilling and Outstanding!

    the best book i have ever read!I could read it 200 times (even more)! i love this book. i relate to it because i love the beach

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    THE BEST STORY IN THE WHOLE WORLD!!!!!!

    This is a great story! I wish i was one of the girls in this story it would be wonderful!!! My wish would have been that i could be a mermaid too! I have read the book 17 times already and i am reading it again! i think the book is the best i have ever read and the film i could watch every minute of every hour of every day!!! Im a mermaid lover so this film has made me think.I have a great best friend!!! ITS SOOO AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2006

    I Loved Aquamarine xoxox

    I really liked this book every part of the book really enjoyed and i cant wait to watch this movie in the theaters i really do recomened you read or watch Aquamarine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    I'm a boy and I enjoyed this book!

    Aquamarine is about two friends Claire and Hailey and they have been best friends for a long time. Hailey is moving away and on their last week together after a storm they discover a mermaid in the local pool. Her name is Aquamarine. Aquamarine falls in love with the lifeguard and she wants to date him. The promblem is Aquamarine is a mermaid and the longer she stays out of the sea she starts to turn to dust. This is a great book! I saw the movie in the theater and I will be buying the movie on DVD. This book is highly recomended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2006

    A fishy book!

    There was two friends and it was n the middle of summer. And one of the girls was going to move and that was because her mom and dad died. so she was living with her grandparents. And they were going to move because her grandpa slip on ice on the year before and hurt himself. The two friends always hung out at a pool. No buddy came there anymore. Only the girls, and the guy that worked at the shack. one day there was a big storm and they had to stay at home that day. the next day Haily swam in the water and saw something alive......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Aquamarine

    Are you always up for a great adventure? If so Aquamarine by Alice Hoffman is the right book for you. Claire a shy girl and her best friend Hailey, a a brave and outgoing girl find out that this is their verylast summer together. Claire and her grandparents are moving away at the end of the summer. With all this news they are overwhelmed but they decide to try to make this the best summer ever. Like every summer they hang out together at the Capri Beach Club, a old run down local swimming pool. Oddly enough this is the Beach Club's last summer too. On one of their average days together at the Beach Club theere in the water is a magical creature, a mermaid. Aquamarine the beautiful, rebellious mermaid deserted the ocean when here and her seven sisters got into a large fight. Aquamarine being out her habitat, the salty ocean, starts to slowly fade away and comes close to death. But something is keeping her from leaving and she had decided she isn't leaving till she gets exactly what she wants. I recommend anyone interested in fun, adventure, and a story with a great moral read this book. It is full of enchanting love, and frienship. This book was a great story and with the upcoming movie try and read it as fast as you can.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2006

    ~*Aquamarine*~

    I loved this book. It really captured my attention when something was in the pool. I am also looking forwad to see Emma Roberts, Sara Paxton, and JoJo in the movie!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2006

    aquamarine and indigo

    I loved this book. It was sooo good. I read this book for a report and i also read indigo and am looking forward to read green angel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Amazing

    it is a great book and i am exited to see emma robert and jojo in the upcomming film

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Aquamarine

    The book I am reviewing is Aquamarine by Alice Hoffman. I would give this five stars. This great book. This book is about two girls that know that there is a mermaid in the beach club pool. One of the problems in the story is that the mermaid wants to go on a date with a human. She has very little time because the human boy has to go to college soon. In this story one of the girls a is moving away so they have to make their summer last together, and they have to help the mermaid too. This is a great book, I would tell anybody to read this book. I'd recommend this book to other people that like adventure and surprises. An other books that Alice Hoffman wrote are Indigo.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2005

    A good book

    I thought this book was okay. I mean, it had moments where you wanted it to keep going, but then some parts where it could've been out of it. Like, a deleted scene or something. But overall, it was really good. A nice mermaid story for everyone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2005

    AWESOME

    This Is A Great Book And That's A Real Picture Of The Kauai Point Mermaid..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    THE SUMMER

    It's a great book . It has a lot of realistic in it . The problems in this book could of really happened in real life because either you could be moving or your friend could be moving. It deserves 4 stars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    Great book but alittle short

    This book i read in 7th grade and i loved it. But I have to admit it was a little short. Recommended for readers who love the sense of adventure!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2004

    Mermaids are cool!

    Aquamarine is a great book for ages 10 and up. I read this book at the age of 11 and I thought it was such a great plot. I've always loved mermaids and I was especially excited when I saw it on the shelf at the annual book fair at my school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2003

    ENCHANTING!

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT! ALTHOUGH A LITTLE SHORT. It has an enchanting story-line,and if you like mermaids you will probably enjoy this book! Many of my friends have read Aquamarine and enjoyed it as I did. It is a ride of enchantment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    it's great!~!~~!~~!!~!~!~!~!~!!~!

    it's a great story of kids wanting to see the water

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2002

    Fantastic! A wonderful real-life fantasy!

    Aquamarine was wonderful! I read it in an hour's time.It about two girls help a mermaid who ends up in a pool get a date with a land boy she loves.Not only that, but the book has my name! Thats how I saw it at barnes and noble.The only things I didn't like were: 1. It was too short.It needs a sequel. 2.The story moves too fast. 3. The mermaid was sort of snobby and ignored her sisters who were beckoning her back to the sea. But, realy, you will LOVE this book. Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3