BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Arabian Nights (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 384 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(83)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Arabian Nights-sheer beauty

I enjoy the Barnes & Noble classics. Arabian Nights gives off a captivating look into the Arabic world of literary fantasy. As the story, progresses, one runs into thieves, djinns, and parables of wisedom. Many remember classic tales, such as Aladdin, Ali Baba & The For...
I enjoy the Barnes & Noble classics. Arabian Nights gives off a captivating look into the Arabic world of literary fantasy. As the story, progresses, one runs into thieves, djinns, and parables of wisedom. Many remember classic tales, such as Aladdin, Ali Baba & The Forty-Thieves, but it is the storyteller, whose fate lies in the hands of entertaining a sultan who wishes to execute her, that brings out the myth of Arabian Nights.

posted by Anonymous on December 2, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Edited for children

This is a heavily-edited, heavily-censored, public domain version for "young readers" from the 1800s or something. The Barnes and Noble website falsely calls it a translation by Haddawy. Please don?t bother reading Arabian Nights in a bad translation. Stick with either ...
This is a heavily-edited, heavily-censored, public domain version for "young readers" from the 1800s or something. The Barnes and Noble website falsely calls it a translation by Haddawy. Please don?t bother reading Arabian Nights in a bad translation. Stick with either Haddawy (best) or early Burton editions (note that his widow heavily censored them after his death, look for early editions). If you need a childrens version, look for a modern one that is at least readable.

posted by 8207523 on July 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2007

    Arabian Nights-sheer beauty

    I enjoy the Barnes & Noble classics. Arabian Nights gives off a captivating look into the Arabic world of literary fantasy. As the story, progresses, one runs into thieves, djinns, and parables of wisedom. Many remember classic tales, such as Aladdin, Ali Baba & The Forty-Thieves, but it is the storyteller, whose fate lies in the hands of entertaining a sultan who wishes to execute her, that brings out the myth of Arabian Nights.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2007

    A dad and reader of classics to his son

    I own the entire series of this, and it's not a story or stories - it's a lesson and rules on how to be good. Some is too intense for children but the condensed form is suitable for anyone. This is one of the classics of all classics to be brought to worldwide attention by Sir Richard Burton (not the actor). It ranks with Shakespeare, Dante, Boccoccio, Chaucer and Milton / as well as with recent Margret and H.A.Rey (Curious George) Winnie the Pooh (A.A. Milne) George E. Peterson, Jr. (Wonderful Stories from Skog Forest) Peter Rabbit (Beatrix Potter) and any Dr Seuss.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    Readable classic

    I bought the Haddaway translation while searching for a text to teach in a college world literature class. I taught 1,000 Nights Plus One last semester for the first time, and students loved it. Unfortunately, in our anthology we had only a few excerpts. This version is the best I've found for clarity and readability, and will offer the entire text rather than snippets.

    The tales of Shahrazad go way beyond what most students expect (Alladin, Sinbad, that's about it). The rich, wondrous, bawdy, funny, terrifying, magical stories in Arabian Nights delight readers--especially when they're told in muscular, vivid language. This translation is stellar!

    PS--this is NOT a kids' book!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    Wonderful stories; definitive translation

    This is the absolute best, clearest and most comprehensible translation of the Arabian Nights that you will find. While the famous Burton translation has gained lots of followers over the years, this translation is incredible as Haddawy brings the cultural understanding to the translation, which is sadly lacking in Burton's. Very definitive.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Recommended- For those who love a warm and fuzzy message with a side of religion

    My sisters grew up in Morocco and remembered hearing these stories from their grandma. They are in high school now and it is fun reading the stories with them, sharing a memory of their childhood. The book is a collection of short stories and all of them have a message to them, sort of like Aesops fables. They teach us to be kind and courteous to everyone despite our differences and also to have a reverence to God.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful, magical tales

    I got this book for my fifteenth birthday and I devoured it. I was finished within two weeks and I want more! These stories bring the ancient Middle East to life with their far-fetched tales that make the Brothers Grimm seem like ameteurs. Scheherazade's stories of Sinbad the Sailor, Ali-Babba, Aladdin, genies, sultans, and dozens of mythical creatures create a strange and wonderful world. The collection has good lessons and is one of the most interesting things i've read in a long time.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Arabian Nights

    The book is made up of many short stories told by a third person. All the stories are very interesting with many surprises. The book will hold your intrest and make a great read! A+++++

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    U

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    A great read & a splendid continuation of the first book!

    I bought this book to continue reading the rest of the stories available from the 'Arabian Nights' set. I really enjoyed reading the first book and I am enjoying this second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6