BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Arabic For Dummies

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Marhaba

Marhaba! Esmee rania. Omree ethna ashar. Tachrafna

posted by Anonymous on March 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is well below the quality of other "For Dummies"

This is well below the quality of other "For Dummies" books. For starters, the book keeps the Arabic portions almost entirely transliterated in the English alphabet and does not reinforce skills for reading Arabic text. The Arabic alphabet is glossed over and...
This is well below the quality of other "For Dummies" books. For starters, the book keeps the Arabic portions almost entirely transliterated in the English alphabet and does not reinforce skills for reading Arabic text. The Arabic alphabet is glossed over and is not mentioned other than to show you the letters in the beginning of the book and then forgets about it. This also reads more like a textbook than many of the other "For Dummies" books that I have purchased in the past.

All that being said, I feel that this definitely helped accelerate my knowledge of Arabic and got me started on the right path to becoming more than a beginner.

posted by Angel_Oneil on April 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    This is well below the quality of other "For Dummies"

    This is well below the quality of other "For Dummies" books. For starters, the book keeps the Arabic portions almost entirely transliterated in the English alphabet and does not reinforce skills for reading Arabic text. The Arabic alphabet is glossed over and is not mentioned other than to show you the letters in the beginning of the book and then forgets about it. This also reads more like a textbook than many of the other "For Dummies" books that I have purchased in the past.

    All that being said, I feel that this definitely helped accelerate my knowledge of Arabic and got me started on the right path to becoming more than a beginner.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Marhaba

    Marhaba! Esmee rania. Omree ethna ashar. Tachrafna

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Really Great!!

    This book is really great to learn the arabic language. Even though it is not using the arabic script, it is great to use. I have the book itself and not the e-reader but it is really great! I recommend anyone to get this book if you are a beginner in arabic. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended - great study guide

    I purchased this for a basic understanding of the language and "Read & Speak Arabic for Beginners" for the script and vocabulary practice. I'm currently a week into my personal studies, and I am already writing like a native and have a firm grasp on the language's structure. The "for Dummies" authors' approaches are always modern and accessible, and this book is no exception--if you hope to learn Arabic on your own, this book is certainly a must-buy. Two thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    To Really great

    Thanks for pointing it put to me! Im a beginner and my dad is taking me to the UAE Next wole week dont worry i bout the book and when theres a language book i can read in in two days real thanks! &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Tori

    Go to next reesult

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    good

    it's very complicated at first but you get the hang of it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Anonymous

    This is a really good book and it is really helping me learn how to speak arabic.This is without a doubt the best book you will find to learn how to speak arabic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    BAD!

    This is terrable!!!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    ??

    I didnt buy the full version yet but will this really help me?!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2