BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Arcadia

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There are books I've read that resonate long after they have bee

    There are books I've read that resonate long after they have been finished. Arcadia will be one of them. Arcadia was recommended in NY Times Books Editor Janet Maislin's Best Books of 2012 article, and while I don't usually follow many suggestions, in this case, reading the blurb struck in inner chord.

    The author found the unusual combination of a lyrical writing voice and perfect pacing in a story filled with multiple levels of emotion, discord and one of the most evocative settings I've read in recent fiction. Arcadia is the story of a young boy growing into manhood in and through his Vegan commune upbringing. Ms. Gross has presented one of the most generous, even-handed portrayals of the spirit of the utopian ideals that founded communal experiments all over this country in the 1960s and 70s. Setting the book in upstate New York, long a hothouse of utopian villages and communities, was a perfect decision. Her sense of place is seamlessly integrated into her writing, and the lack of info-dumping made for a noticeably quick read.

    Having lived myself, in a commune in the West in the early 1970s, her story line contained many scenes that seemed to spring right out of my own experiences. In many ways, Arcadia became a personal journey for me as well. There were many mistakes made in the scramble to produce a new world and a better way to cement true community, Many are still ongoing, and this book, in all its loving attention to detail and its deep understanding of how young boys become men, reminds us of the rewards that taking risks can provide. It is one of the best novels I've read in some time, so I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates a well-told, deeply emotional story and has an interest in those times and how they still live on today in the lives of all us old, ex-hippies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Beats

    Hi

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    Loved the assortment of commune characters! Sad when the book en

    Loved the assortment of commune characters! Sad when the book ended, as I wanted it to continue. Has a feminist flare, importance of women in the role of keeping society together. Friendships. Betrayals. A wonderful life cycle read, with Bit as central male character.
    Addresses the role of societies, freedom or control? Why did communes fail?
    What happens when global warming worsens? If there is a pandemic? The story spans the 1960s through 2018s or later.
    Plan on reading her othe book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    interesting read

    IREAD THIS FOR BOOKCLUB. IT WAS REALLY HARD TO GET INTO AT FIRST. THERE ARE SO MANY CHARACTERS IT IS A BIT TOUGH TO KEEP THEM ALL STRAIGHT. YOU JUST WANT TO RESCUE LITTLE BIT FROM THE COMMUNE WITH ALL IT'S DRUGS,AND HUNGRY POOR PEOPLE; BUT HE GROWS UP AND BECOMES A WONDERFUL PERSON. THIS PROBABLY IS A PRETTY GOOD SNAPSHOT IN TIME OF THE COMMUNE LIFE AND A POSSIBLE FURTURISTIC TAKE ON THINGS TO COMES.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Haunting..brilliant

    One of the most haunting books i have ever read. Born in 62 less than 60 miles from where woodtock took place i have always been fascinated my hippie culture and coomune movement. This novel shows the good the bad and ugly...from the childrens point of view. Effected me more than any book i have read in years. Felt characters were people i knew that stayed with long after i read the final page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Very engaging

    I read this book over a weekend, it was awesome the way she followed the character though out his life continuing on well into adulthood. She didn't leave you wondering what happed to Bit she told you all about him and his life. Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Breathtaking in its beauty

    A mesmerizing tale of a commune and its variedinhabitants told through the story of one inhabitant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    So beautiful

    Dreamlike, gritty, engaging - I recommend it to book lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    I had no idea what the author's intentions where for this book.

    I had no idea what the author's intentions where for this book.   Throughout the book, I could not keep up with the story line
    with the usage of her words.  Were the thoughts coming from her writings or of the characters speaking?  There were no quotation marks when
    people were speaking.  I skimmed the whole book and in the end had no idea what she was trying to say.  Extremely disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2014

    Al

    Wow thanks so much for joining our clan. *poker face*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Thought-provoking read

    I wanted to read this book to get a glimpse of what living on a 1960's commune would be like. I got that and much more. The book follows main character Bit from his birth and teen years on the commune to his living back in modern society to deciding where he needs to continue to live. It is a kind of dreamy book that flows along just like every one of our own life journeys. A different and lovely read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Treble

    She shook her head, grinning. "Bravo, dear. Bravo."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Elynette

    "Shank ya!" She laughed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Avaeonai

    She clapped again, making a seal noise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    What th

    What th

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Love this author's writing!

    I began this book with a little skepticism, but it was soon negated. The author, Lauren Groff, writes so lyrically and beautifully that I was quickly pulled into the story. The setting is one that I haven't seen explored very often - a hippie commune beginning in the 60s. The story follows one of the children through to adulthood and his experience in the outside world. I so look forward to seeing what Ms. Groff continues to write...she is only 35!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Poetically Beautiful

    Story of a young boy growing up in a commune in the 70's and his life through adulthood. Lauren Groff's writing is poetic - this book definitly takes your breath away

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Disappointed toward the end

    Very enjoyable read but with a very sullen second half

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    very good read!

    very good read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    a bit of a drudge

    I'm sure for people mor of the time, this is a great book, but I found it a bit tough going with little redeeming qualities.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2