Customer Reviews for

ArchEnemy (Looking Glass Wars Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 179 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Great way to end the series!!

I am so very lucky that I got to meet the author Frank Beddor @ Comic-Con a few weeks ago. I seriously gushed at him about how wonderful this series is. Then to my knee shaking surprise he handed me an advanced copy of Arch Enemy and as if that weren't enough he even si...
I am so very lucky that I got to meet the author Frank Beddor @ Comic-Con a few weeks ago. I seriously gushed at him about how wonderful this series is. Then to my knee shaking surprise he handed me an advanced copy of Arch Enemy and as if that weren't enough he even signed it. Let me just say the end is amazing. I don't want to give anything away except to say that if you are considering getting this book do not hesitate!

posted by cmdisney on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Just ok

I really enjoyed the first two books of this series. But had a hard time getting through this book. The series for me is just turning to war like for me. Other wise the book was just ok...

posted by stnkrbell on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    readers will enjoy Alyss' latest adventures in Wonderland

    Queen Alyss of Wonderland has taken over throne from Redd, who used dark imagination to rule as a dictator. In a contentious battle between the two females, light imagination wins. However a third player surfaces as King Arch of the Overlands wants to rule Wonderland. He employs WILMA (Women of Inconceivable Loss and Massive Annihilation) to ruin the Heart Crystal, which is the source of all imagination in creation.

    The power of imagination vanishes from Wonderland and will soon disappear from earth and other worlds too. Alyss tries to line up support to fight the King and Queen of clubs and other allies of King Arch, who insist there is no place for imagination to flourish. Her lone remaining choice is to ally with the Redd Queen as her friends are being tossed in prisons by the WILMAs and the caterpillar between puffs says nothing of meaning.

    This is the final book in the Looking Glass Wars trilogy and in spite of the subject retains all the imagination and charm of the previous novels (see THE LOOKING GLASS WARS and SAVING REDD). Alyss is bold and brave as she rules with benevolence until the threat surfaces that returns her into a determined resolute fighter. Arch is an interesting enemy whose goal appears not be power but instead the elimination of power; which makes him a difficult opponent to defeat as he has a personal quest. Although written for young adults, older readers will enjoy Alyss' latest adventures in Wonderland.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great way to end the series!!

    I am so very lucky that I got to meet the author Frank Beddor @ Comic-Con a few weeks ago. I seriously gushed at him about how wonderful this series is. Then to my knee shaking surprise he handed me an advanced copy of Arch Enemy and as if that weren't enough he even signed it. Let me just say the end is amazing. I don't want to give anything away except to say that if you are considering getting this book do not hesitate!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Love

    Love this entire series. Love the reinterpretation

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    great!

    This book has left me in awe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Wow sarcstic

    Who ever said its da second book is a nincompoop! Dis book is awesum!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    I think its a wonderdful waynto end a series and not drag it on. I know more than likely everyone including myself wants to know what happens to dodge and alyss, but it was the right place to stop. Thank you so much frank beddor for carrying on such a wonderous adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Love, love, love this series!!!!!!

    This series is so well written!! If you love Alice in Wonderland but want a great take on the story than I would suggest this series!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!

    read this whole series and its a great twist on a story we all have heard

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    A Great Book

    This is a great book had me on the edge of my seat till the very end! I highly recommend this terrific ending to an excellent series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent book to end an excellent series

    This was a fun, suspensful book. The characters and plotline showed great growth. You could tell that these books were written intended for the movies, but that's part of what made them great- I'm sure if these books get made into movies, the transition will be excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ArchEnemy

    I must say, I'm a little torn. Part of me wants to say that this was a fantastic book, a perfect ending to the trilogy, but unfortunately, I don't think I can. A lot of this book was insignificant fighting scenes that seemed to go on forever. I'm sure this makes it a popular read for some readers, but that's really not what I go into books for. The writing was spectacular, sharply witty, albeit going overboard sometimes with the details of the fight scenes, and it was through this amazing writing that these characters really came to life. I found myself switching favorite characters from Dodge (who sadly doesn't make as many appearances as I had hoped/expected him to make) to good old Hatter. My heart really broke for him and Molly, and Beddor portrayed the awkward phase they were going through really well. I've not read many books where the author has so fully developed a complete world. I didn't know what to think of the many instances of blatant foreshadowing; it had its plusses and minuses, sometimes it worked, other times it was a little much. Up until the ending, it was really a great read. However, the ending seemed, in my opinion, completely rushed, slowed down, and anticlimactic--not as epic as the rest of the series. I know Beddor could have done better. I still do highly recommend this series to all fans of fractured fairytales and the like.

    Rating: 4.5/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Great book!

    I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS BOOK AND THE OTHER TWO AS WELL! I recommend this book to everyone!!! :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Love it.

    I love the way the series wraps up, and Arch shows his genius at the end of the second part.<br>Redd is hot, Alyss is really hot, and I wish I was born into the Millinery. Love this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Amazing

    If you like books by rick riordan or the septimus heape series then you will love this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Written by, CVD

    This book ia toataly loveable! Ift is a stunning conclusion to the LOOKING GLASS WARS SERIES. The first two books, THE LOOKING GLASS WARS and SEEING REDD will want to be read first. That will basically make sure you know whats going on. Once you have, read ARCHENEMY!!!!! You will love the epic end! With special thanks to Frank Beddor, who was the writer of the LOOKING GLASS WARS series. Read this soooooon!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Amazing

    Loved this series. Wish there were more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great as a start

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    This is the third book

    This is the third book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kira M for Teens Read Too

    In this final book of THE LOOKING GLASS WARS trilogy, Wonderland's Heart Crystal's powers have been depleted and so have the powers of Imagination. This leaves Wonderland vulnerable to its enemies, which, according to the caterpillar oracles, are many. With doubts in the air and hidden enemies within Wonderland, who may even be people pretending to be her friend, Alyss forms an uneasy truce with Redd, the queen who killed her parents and took over Wonderland. Their goal: to defeat Arch, the King of the Boarderland. With little chance of counting on Imagination to save them and the stakes high, will Alyss find a way to keep her throne and save her people? Who can she really trust? This book had a lot of violence in it, much like the first two in the series, but was an excellent conclusion to the trilogy. The plot was intense and well-thought out. The main characters are well-developed and stayed true to their natures that the author created for them. Fans of the original ALICE IN WONDERLAND, fantasy, and adventure will all enjoy reading ARCHENEMY, but will need to read THE LOOKING GLASS WARS and SEEING REDD first, in order to be able to follow the story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best series

    I can't wait till this the ending is going be a def thiller

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6