Customer Reviews for

Archaeological Study Bible: An Illustrated Walk Through Biblical History and Culture

Average Rating 4
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(26)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Magnificent!

This book is a must have for anyone who wants a full understanding of what they read. I was wonderfully amazed at the volume of information in this bible. Nearly every verse has footnotes at to the relevence of symbols used in the text, explanations as to the meaning of...
This book is a must have for anyone who wants a full understanding of what they read. I was wonderfully amazed at the volume of information in this bible. Nearly every verse has footnotes at to the relevence of symbols used in the text, explanations as to the meaning of words and titles, references to other scripture when stories overlap, and so much more. It is quickly becoming an indespensible companion in my desire to better understand scripture.

posted by Anonymous on April 4, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Tough Sledding...

The ebook version of this great bible isn't very user friendly. In the regular version, the commentary and notes are written at the bottom of the page or in sidebars or on separate pages. In the ebook version, this is scrambled and hard to follow. You may read two li...
The ebook version of this great bible isn't very user friendly. In the regular version, the commentary and notes are written at the bottom of the page or in sidebars or on separate pages. In the ebook version, this is scrambled and hard to follow. You may read two lines of the bible, followed by three lines of commentary, followed by one line of the historical note or cross-reference. No where on the page is there a single, intact sentence to read. Scrolling through the document is even worse. The next three pages may opt to complete the historical notes. Commentary may follow. Then, several pages later, you pick up the actual bible again--wondering "what did I just read?"

posted by 5100355 on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    Magnificent!

    This book is a must have for anyone who wants a full understanding of what they read. I was wonderfully amazed at the volume of information in this bible. Nearly every verse has footnotes at to the relevence of symbols used in the text, explanations as to the meaning of words and titles, references to other scripture when stories overlap, and so much more. It is quickly becoming an indespensible companion in my desire to better understand scripture.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    A summary of modern Biblical Scholarship in one volume

    The print version of this Bible is much prettier and has an easier to read page layout, without any doubt.The charts are more colourful than those in the nook book.

    But all the text of the hardback is in the nook book, so far as I can tell.

    I have been an avid Bible reader for over twenty years and I think have a pretty good layman's knowledge of Biblical scholarship issues.

    Nevertheless, the notes in this Bible (I've only read to the beginning of Exodus so far) have taught me a lot. The notes are never simplistic but are written in everyday English, not in scholarly jargon.

    Zondervan also publishes the excellent NIV Study Bible (available as a nook book, too) and you should check that out before you buy this. I don't think you'd need to buy both.

    Other ebook sellers also offer this Bible.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    Conservative Study Bible

    This publication marks a significant contribution to the study of the Bible. It brings to the reader a wealth of excellent information and is particularly accessible to persons who are delving into the study of the Scriptures in a serious way. It is unfortunate that the editors chose to use the New International Version (NIV) - its obvious theological biases have been well documented and noted since its publication in June 1978. Any careful reading of the Translators' Preface to the NIV bears out their stated intention and approach. It is also important for any reader to be aware that the editorial perspective assumed in this Study Bible, is a thoroughly and conscientously conservative one. The specifically guarded assumptions on how one approaches the biblical text, for example, the overt scepticism toward the value of form critical analyses and methods, especially in the Hebrew Scriptures or, the First Testament, guide the work throughout. The approach taken toward an appreciation for the cultic settings in the Psalms and the important legacy of Gunkel, is particularly defensive and disappointing. There is an obvious concern on the part of the editors to appeal throughout the work, arguing that many of the archeological finds of the past century provide ample historical evidenc, which not only supports but reinforces one of conservative scholarship's historically fundamental propositional tenets: the reliability and historical accuracy of the Bible. Full page essays on 'The Reliability of the Bible' and recurrent themes are interspersed liberally throughout. It is important for any reader to be aware that there are, however, other faithful, diligent scholars, both Jewish and Christian, who would caution against making too much of any argument, drawn from the vast array of archaeological data available to contemporary biblical scholarship, as 'evidence' supporting - or NOT supporting - the historical reliability or critical claims to the infallibility and authority of the Bible. Many who have been and are serious students of the sacred texts, already appreciate and devotedly value the Bible as the impeccable and indispensable witness to God's (Yahweh) revelation and, while valuing the work of the archaeologist, recognize that the argument from 'the evidence' can and does indeed cut both ways. Having said that, the Archaeological Study Bible (which is a cooperative venture sponsored by Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary, South Hamilton, MA and Zondervan Publishing House) does represent the best in conservative biblical scholarship and will be a valuable resource to readers for years to come. As a graduate of GCTS '72. I commend the editorial staff on their work. And despite the fact that the seminary has made a distinct shift, and veered to the right over the past thirty-five years, I'll still give it 5 stars. It is a valuable tool for any serious student of the Bible.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Great eBible

    This version is very good and not at all difficult to read. The cross referencing is by using a small cross, and additional study notes are accesses by tapping on the blue verse number if there is something available. There are archaeological notes and pictures through out the book sometimes in obtrusive places (could have been placed at the end of a chapter or in between sections). Even then, I think it still deserves 5 stars.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent resource, but conservative.

    This Bible is a valuable addition to my resource materials in Biblical study, because it is packed not only with an abundance of archeological material and discoveries, and also with background information, drawings, and pictures which illuminate the reading and understanding of the text. However, for general usage, it is unfortunate that the version used for interpretation is the NIV rather than the NRSV. In every case where a question might be raised as to the veracity of the text, the authors consistently come down on the side of conservative analysis, allowing no margin for other possibilities which have been presented by credentialed scholars. In rejecting such alternate views, the authors resort to using words such as "misguided" and "simplistic" in their effort to steer the beliefs of their readers. That being said, however, this book still provides a wealth of exciting background information which enlightens and enhances a serious study of the Bible, and I can recommend it with enthusiasm.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2010

    Great Study Bible!

    I have this study Bible at home in hard copy and LOVE it! The background info is really wonderful. I recommend this for anyone who wants a good study Bible with additional info.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    Archaeological Study Bible

    This is an outstanding work. Over the years,I have continiously sought to correlate the formal biblical accounts with events, locations and persons with substantiated historical facts. This work does an outstanding job of that. Not only does it provide detailed information directly related to the bible, but also describes associated happenings and recovered artifacts supporting such data pertinent to associate and co-existant cultures. I employ this text to provide real time support to my bible study class every week.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Awesome!

    I love NIV and the maps, facts etc were an excellent supplement. I would recommend this bible!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2009

    love it

    i love this bible. not only is it a great study bible, it provides great articles with historical background
    i would recommend it to anyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    best bible

    i love this bible which has history and culture with great pictures. They done excellent job and take you back in time how people live and how the time has change so much. The bible has lot of evidence and proof. NIV restore God's Name(Yahweh). This bible also a great resouce. No other bibles have this kind. My collegians and I prove this bible for understanding the scriptures. I recommand for all relgion read this bible.
    Excellent job NIV!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Boon to Christians

    It is the perfect balance of a world historical picture during the entire Biblical historical picture. With glossary, indexes, and maps, it is like watching a movie in my mind. I can see the people, the places and the customs clearly thanks to the descriptions and explanations in this Bible. Christians, if you have doubting friends buy this Bible for them. It will speak to them from both common sense and spirituality points of view.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Highly recommended

    So far I am enjoying this study Bible. The historical information provided is excellent and provides insight into the times in which the story of the Bible was written. I also enjoy the references and comparisons to ancient literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    This excellent book helps the reader in understanding what 'flav

    This excellent book helps the reader in understanding what 'flavors' the inspired word of God. Excellent resource and study guide. (I have the Nook version and it works great.) Prepare for an enjoyable and slow journey as you read, re-read, and pursue the 'e-trails' of supporting information. God give us the Word, but he allowed the writers of the various books to add the 'flavor'...their salt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Fantastic

    I really enjoy learning about ancient and modern topics in this Bible. The only downfall is in my hard back copy...I also have digital.... is the font for it. Myself and other associates have this in common. Hard to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I really like this Bible! I have the Nook book and I am really e

    I really like this Bible! I have the Nook book and I am really enjoying it! The sections on the history of a certain passage or book is very interesting. It explains the history --who wrote it, when and even gives some "did you know" questions. It gets me really interested in the history so that I want to keep reading. I think it navigates really well, too. The maps, timelines and charts are very easy to navigate. I can zoom in on the pictures and charts to make them easier to read and see more detail. I wonder if maybe the reviews that say it's hard to navigate are from an older version. I actually find this easier to navigate than a lot of other e-books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This bible is great for anyone interested in the history of the bible. I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Outstanding!!  Exceedingly great read.  Not just for those who a

    Outstanding!!  Exceedingly great read.  Not just for those who are spiritual but also for history and science buffs.  If you wish to learn about ancient biblical times and read the proof of these words then this is the place to find these comparative FACTS.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Great reference

    I don't write many reviews, but this bible is deserving of one. It has an easy to navigate layout and numerous background articles that help you understand the time/setting/culture surrounding the 66 books of the bible. An excellent addition for studying the scriptures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Really brings Scripture to life through archaeology.

    I found all of the information throughout to be very helpful in studying the Bible and helping me to get a grasp of what it must have been like to live in the times and areas that are found all through God's written Word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6