Customer Reviews for

Archangel's Blade (Guild Hunter Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(71)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Loved it

Another great read! Can't wait for future stories of the seven! I enjoyed the Rapheal and Elna make appearances and Ash as well!

posted by theReader278 on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended

I have loved every one of these books and have more than a few of them "dog-eared" from re-reading them. She made an awesome world with even better characters

posted by auttummom on December 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    Did not enjoy this novel as much as others in the series.  Overa

    Did not enjoy this novel as much as others in the series.  Overall it was a fantastic book, both Dimitri and  Honor are fantastic characters.  It was the twist in their relationship that I had a problem with but that is just my dislike for this kind of story line.  I would still recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    A must read!! Great series!!

    A must read!! Great series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Great book in a very entertaining series

    Singh has done it again The Guild Hunter series is one of my favorite paranormal romance series out there and this book is a wonderful installment in it. Dmitri has sparked my interedt from the beginning and his book did not disappoint. Both he and Honor are compelling characters. I can't wait fir the next Guild Hunter book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    !!!

    Was hoping that she moved onto the other main characters.. so excited that dmitri was the first! Looking forward to other books in this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I originally loved the 1st and 2nd books of this series. The 3r

    I originally loved the 1st and 2nd books of this series. The 3rd I found hard to keep interst. While I enjoyed the 3rd it got very "Angel Political" but was still a good read. When I saw the 4th book came out I was not in a huge rush to get it, boy was I mistaken. While I LOVE Demetri in the other books and his sinful ways, I have become his faithful follower with this book. He is just such a fabulous, key character of this series. And as Honor discovers, he is a SINFULLY, delicous man. I love that he has thawed out a little and love the direction Singh took with this particular books. I hope there is a story with Ashwin too and her love interest. They were only briefly brought up in the other books. Not key characters so I forsee something in the future with them - at least I hope. I was a little disappointed that Elena and Rapheal were not much in this story. If I had to guess, Singh is bringing together the key players to become the powerhouse of the world with Raphael becoming a major authorithy of some kind with his evolving process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    Nalini Singh does it again.. I know I say that a lot but honest

    Nalini Singh does it again.. I know I say that a lot but honestly the woman ROCKS.. Archangel’s Blade the Fourth book in her Guild Hunters Series takes you down that long steamy path straight into decadent delight. Oh yeah, I said steamy. In Book Four Ms Singh moves away from Raphael and Elena and gives us a Dimitri treat. Can we say sex on a stick? Oh yeah, and you seriously want to lick. him. up.

    Dimitri, probably the strongest vampire alive second in command to an Archangel. Angels fear him. And yet he is devoted to Raphael a friend from another lifetime. A friendship that had been created in innocence and forged in despair. A promise of revenge fulfilled and secure that if either had ever crossed that line the other would somehow take him down. Dimitri is dark and devious he is the ultimate bad boy. And yet, he doesn’t hurt or brutalize the innocent and those who would destroy a female is doomed. His heart was given over a thousand years ago and he would gladly have died a human. One of the few Vampires that did not choose the Making but had it forced upon him by evil.

    Honor, a hunter in hiding.. Deep in the belly of the guild there are caverns where a hunter can hide, regroup or just get some quiet time. Honor has hidden there for months, since she was captured and tortured both mentaly and physically. Used for feeding, used as a sex toy.. battered, bruised. She walks out but no longer hunter secure. She is lost. She is also the most knowledgeable hunter of ancient text and the guild needs her. The tower needs her.. she has no choice she must work with Dimitri to discover who is behind the latest attack.

    Both Honor and Dimitri have haunted pasts.. beyond the more recent one and Ms Singh does a wonderful job of merging their pasts, their demons both those around them and those within them, together. Since Dimitri has been a dark dangerous character in previous books, to make him a simple character now would destroy any and all credibility and yet..

    This was my favorite book so far probably because I didn’t expect it. Dimitri as a hero has an edgier feel. He isn’t ever tamed, he can’t be he has seen too much, done too much and since he was born human he lost too much. Honor has to touch the deepest recess of his inner self in order to find the real him. It was intriguing the way Ms Singh does this. She took us in an entirely different direction. While, I won’t give spoilers I will say this was the one part of the book that was easily decipherable. You pretty much knew how it was going to be resolved and yet it was moving, compelling and powerful.One of the best things Ms Singh does in this series is she offers us choices of evil. We know who the bad guys are, we know they are the ones to watch out for and yet she always manages to offer a twist. A sly insinuation, yes our bad guy is a bad guy but is he/she THE bad guy? We are never completely sure. Not until the very end.. and she throws us red herring after red herring.. most excellently done..

    As I have stated with every book.. this is a must read series..

    Shauni

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    great read if you like angels and series

    Archangels Blade was great. It carries you away to a different kind of world where ahgels rule and vampires have a term of service for being "made" and carry out most of services required by the angels to run the world. This book centers around a vamp who is head of the archangels security force. Until now, this vamp had lost all of his humanity..... Read it to see what happens! you might want to rad the 3 preceding books so you have a history. They were good also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Great story, but it was ALL about Dimitri, which I sure wouldlike to know more about!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Mixed feelings

    So, I enjoyed the contrast between the characters, with a strong yet sympathetic heroine and unflinching (anti-)hero. However, there is a plot devise to their relationship that I saw coming a mile away. It also happens to be one that I don't like at all. Fortunately, the story and characters kept me interested despite my annoyance. So this one is a like, but not love for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Difficult to read but worth it

    Dmitri and Honor are survivors of horrific ordeals that left them stronger but battle-scarred. Yes, there are a lot of descriptions of violence, but they are not gratuitous as they let us see the fire that forged these two strong individuals. And this world deals with immortal beings whose sense of morality has long been compromised by choice or through the passage of time. I also felt the eventually-revealed connection between Ingrede, Dmitri's long-dead wife, and Honor was well-handled. Some parts are difficult to get through - I had to put the book down a few times to calm my outrage and horror at what Honor suffered - but the journey is ultimately worth it. I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I thought this was as good as the first three books in the series. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Excellent book

    I'm not sure I would consider this a main book of the series, but it is an excellent book and contains a lot of background information. This book also opens a lot of options for character development in future for the main characters. Reading this book has has caused me to look forward to the next book in the series and I hope this series is a long lived one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Inner Workings of a Dark & Tortured Hero and a Damaged Heroine

    Redonk Nutshell: An ancient and powerful vampire teams up with a damaged Guild Hunter to track down the culprit responsible for ritualistic murders of vampires around the city

    Here it is, ya'll. The reason I got into The Guild Hunter series. Don't judge by the cover - look past the dude and his entrancing six -pack. Or as Spaz from WLP puts it the guy " that looks kind of like a buff Kevin Nealon."

    The rom bloggers I follow all had something to say about Dmitir, which more or less sums up to: Nasty byatch be hot. How could I not be intrigued?

    Having plowed through (and enjoyed) the first three books in The Guild Hunter Series, I was excited to finally get to Dmitri's story. I wasn't disappointed.

    Briefly here's what we got: Dmitri, the right hand to the epic Archangel of New York, is on the case of a murdered vampire bearing a strange archaic tattoo. The Guild has assigned one of their hunters specializing in languages to assist him. Honor accepts her task begrudgingly. She's only barely recovered from a vicious vampire assault, but she's determined to get herself back out there and conquer her fears.

    Who else to help her get over her fear than one of the scariest, most renowned vampire in the world? Ha effing ha.

    What makes Dmitri so intriguing is he has no qualms about being a dark and disturbing individual, and at times, jack ass. He purposely pushes people's buttons, constantly toeing a line between what's acceptable and what's not. He has no qualms about who he is and why he does what he does. The only other person to truly know him is Raphael, the Archangel. Dmitri has a horrific past, events that have carefully honed him into the beast of a man he is today.

    You can imagine his reaction when he meets the Guild Hunter he's been assigned, a woman battered and utterly terrified yet fiercely committed to meeting his unspoken challenge to control. Dmitri is not an easy man to face, yet Honor forces herself to do so, earning herself the spotlight of Dmitri's interest. They work together to solve the case of the strange tattoo and the dead vampires piling up around them. In the process, Dmitri helps Honor to overcome her fears, taking it upon himself to track down the vampires that had abducted, tortured and violated her.

    In the process these two form a unique bond, and Dmitri finds himself struggling to come to terms with his past and what's being offered to him presently. Without giving spoilers, Honor and Dmitri's story is resolved in a manner that may leave some with a flat taste in their mouths. I personally am not the biggest fan of...this sort of plot device...but in this case it worked. Dmitri and Honor are SO damaged that the manner in which they finally find peace seems appropriate. It's the only way for them to have their Happily Ever After.

    Overall, I enjoyed Archangel's Blade. It was worth delving into the series - I'm so glad I did! I can't wait to read more. And seriously, Ms. Singh? I need me some more Illium. Pronto.

    Archangel's Blade by Nalini Singh, 310 pgs, 9/6/11

    Rating: B

    Romance: 2/5 Raunch: 3.5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Delicious read..

    9/23/11

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    Another great story in this wonderful series. I have not found fault with any of the books. Loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4