Customer Reviews for

Archangel's Consort (Guild Hunter Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 498 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The third Archangel Guild Hunter fantasy is a terrific entry

Following the harrowing battle with the ancient Archangel of China Lijuan, miraculously newly made Angel Elena Deveraux the Guild Hunter and the Archangel of New York Raphael are recovering from their devastating confrontation with the Archangel of China, Lijuan (see Ar...
Following the harrowing battle with the ancient Archangel of China Lijuan, miraculously newly made Angel Elena Deveraux the Guild Hunter and the Archangel of New York Raphael are recovering from their devastating confrontation with the Archangel of China, Lijuan (see Archangel's Kiss). However, though they sort of won the battle, Lijuan remains dangerous as she has evolved into something beyond the ken of the archangels.

Elena continues her training as an angel, but refuses to hand in her Guild Hunter membership. At the same time vampires are caught up in unheard of blood lust frenzies and too frequently natural disasters are everywhere. Raphael fears the rise of a long dormant insane ancient archangel he knows personally.

The third Archangel Guild Hunter fantasy (see Angel's Blood) is a terrific entry as the lead couple continues to grow separately and as a loving team. The story line is fast-paced with a strong mystery and a great twist to what is the cause of the vampire enigma. The support cast is very strong with distinct personalities as this series remains one of the best with the current entry affirming that for delighted fans of Nalini Singh.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Only Thing Exciting About This Book is the Cover

I suggest you read the previous books in the series (novella- Angel's Pawn, Angel's Blood and Angel's Kiss) prior to reading this installment. I procrastinated to read this series. I enjoy it but this series never really grabs me. While reading this installment, I kept ...
I suggest you read the previous books in the series (novella- Angel's Pawn, Angel's Blood and Angel's Kiss) prior to reading this installment. I procrastinated to read this series. I enjoy it but this series never really grabs me. While reading this installment, I kept wondering where the story was headed. It just seem to be a whole lot of nothing. Nothing really seemed to happen, there was hardly any action and it sucks when the heroine is as weak as a babe. A major negative about this series is it has too many flashbacks and internal dialog; and most of the times Raphael's mood swings so frequently, at times he's downright schizophrenic. The majority of the book was sex and pillow talk with a few sprinkles of random violence but not enough to keep me completely interested. I need to enjoy the books I read and not have them feel like a chore. I really wanted to continue to like this series, however, it's just not happening. Therefore, I regretfully banish this series from my reading list. I will miss Elena and her sleek black wings but the storyline just isn't strong enough to continually lure my attention, pique my interest and make me want to invest my time into the series.

posted by kitkat3ny on March 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    A must read!! Great series!!

    A must read!! Great series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    I love this series

    The books in this series just keep getting better. I love the characters and the "magic" system both. I also like the fact that Elena has to work w/ her angelic powers and doesn't automatically know how to handle the wings and the other changes. I also liked the parallels between her father-daughter and Raphael's mother-son stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Archangel’s Consort the third in Nalini Singh’s Hunt

    Archangel’s Consort the third in Nalini Singh’s Hunter’s Guild Series promises much. Fortunately, Ms Singh delivers. This was an ambition third book about Raphael and Elena. When one writes a series based on two main characters it is easy to get repetitive. To intrigue the readers with a promise of something then once the story gets going it’s the same old same old. Writing a fresh new book and yet maintaining the characters the readers love is a tightrope act and Ms Singh manages it without a net.

    Raphael and Elena have left the Refuge, have battled Lijuan and won. While Elena remains an immortal with a human heart it seems The Seven and the Cadre both wonder at Raphael’s “humanity”. He gets injured easier and doesn’t heal as fast and yet Raphael willingly accepts the changes. To him the trade off of a life with Elena is well worth it. He does have to accept that Elena is not a gentle soul, she is hunter born and she must work.

    Elena, no matter that she is secure in Raphael’s love and can hold her own in just about any situation still trembles at the mess of her family life. Betrayed by a father who wouldn’t accept her she still needs to care for them. Finding out her sister’s school was attacked and two children murdered, one looking suspiciously like her youngest sister sends Elena’s protective mode into overdrive. She is determined to find the monsters who would hurt children. Then she finds that her father has been keeping secrets and it almost breaks her

    The hunt is on and yet it seems there is more in the wind. Earthquakes, Tsunami’s, Hurricanes.. one natural disaster after another an ancient is waking and no one is sure who it is or whether that immortal will awake to madness. The immortal community fear it is Raphael’s mother an ancient before he was ever born. Having gone to sleep more than once and the last time being just a wee bit mad when she went. After the battle with Lijuan no one is sure they will be even able to neutralize a true ancient. And yet, the rules demand.. when an ancient is sleeping one does not hunt them down and kill them. They must be allowed to awake.

    There is scheming and intrigue, politics and hints of war. No one is sure what is going on or who is behind it. Everyone WANTS to blame Caliane (Raphael’s mother). The worst part is because when an ancient awakes, the weather is effected, acting like a barometer. The stronger the Angel the worse the side affects. Strong stable angels acting out of character. Whacko ones, well they just get wackier..

    Ms Singh leads us on a delightful trip of discovery, decadence and desire. Wrapping her characters in intrigue and drama.. teasing us with one scenario and then taking it back and offering another. Temptation is around every corner.. promises made with a sly wink and a lifted brow.. almost daring us to believe. This story is not a fairytale with love and romance wafting around every corner. It is darker, deeper, edgier and yet remains in essence a story of two individuals creating a family. I am so very glad that I gave this series a chance because it twists me up every chance it gets. I would most definitely suggest you read this book, as per my norm I suggest you read the series in order but.. it stands brilliantly on it’s own.

    Shauni

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    A Great Series

    Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!!

    CAN'T WAIT TILL THE NEXT ONE COMES OUT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Strong 3rd installment in a Fantastic Action-packed Dark Paranormal Romance

    Redonk Nutshell: A powerful and threatening ancient Archangel is awakening, casting chaos and disarray across the world and testing the balance between an Archangel and his consort

    Book three in the Guild Hunters series picks up after the destruction of another Archangel's home in book two. Newly made angel, Elena, and her lover, Archangel Raphael, come back to Manhattan and begin to settle into their home. Elena is more adjusted to her physical form, and she and Raphael have begun to shift into more emotional territory. Like moving in together. And meeting each other's parents.

    Which brings us to the main conflict - Raphael's mother. The ancient and unfathomably powerful Archangel is showing signs of waking from her Sleep. The Cadre of Ten is nervous - Caliane was a NUTJOB before she disappeared, wrecking havoc amongst her people, including her son. Raphael is torn between his initial urge to welcome his mother and his more rational and detached duty to put her down before she becomes an unstoppable problem. Then, of course, there's Elena, whom most of Raphael's fellows view as a weakness. And Elena, in typical Elena-style, works her hardest to prove them otherwise.

    When vampires and angels across the globe being behaving erratically, The Guild calls in their hunter-turned-angel to figure out what's going on, and before long Elena and Raphael realize the bizarre occurrences happening around them are linked to his mother's likely revival.

    Book Three is probably one of the strongest in the series. We get a stronger Elena, a softer yet still terrifying Raphael, and, most importantly MORE ILLIUM. HA! I've tendered a soft spot for Blue Bell, the blue winged angel who views Elena's "mortal heart," as not a weakness but a strength. He's witty yet broody, and he and Elena hit it off well. We get to see another side of Raphael as well.

    If I'm being honest, Raphael is the kind of hero that initially didn't catch my interest but gradually grew on me. I'd say probably about halfway into book two it struck me how incredibly AWESOME he is, and not just in the slang type of way, but Biblical as well. It was almost like an epiphany - oh, he's scary, really scary, yet sexy. I get it now! Elena grew on me more as well. And the relationship between Elena and Raphael really blooms here in Archangel's Consort.

    The Guild Hunter series has become a favorite of mine. Great characters, both main and supporting, and a really intriguing world structure. Nalini Singh has proved herself to be a talented writer, able to carry a broad story line amid a complex and dark world.

    Archangel's Consort by Nalini Singh, 324 pgs, 2/10/11

    Rating: B
    Romance: 4/5 Raunch: 3.5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely worth reading!

    Archangel's Consort, book three of the Guild Hunter Series, is definitely worth reading if you are a fan of the first two. I give the series as a whole five stars, but this book is losing a little bit of steam for me, so I gave it four! As with Lijuan in book two, there is a lot of built up regarding Raphael's mom Caliane. However, when they do finally meet, it is not as dramatic as anticipated. I heard that the next installment, Archangel's Blade, is Dmitri's story. I think I would rather read about Aodhan or Bluebell :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Awesome

    I am so in love withe Raphael, especially when he shows vulnerability with Elena. I hope there are many more book on their story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bring the wings!

    Strong, tall(!), smart, feminine characters are so difficult to find...and Nalini Singh has gifted us with one in Elena. As a big fan of paranormal stories, be they classified in the Romance or Sci-Fi, I love the mix that makes it possible/plausible. Elena and her partner characters work within a world easily envisioned. I was given all three Guild Hunter books...and 24 hours later was done and drooling for more. And now I have serious wing envy!! I can't wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Good!

    I have enjoyed the entire series. However, this one wasn't as good as the others. I felt the build up of the confrontation of Raphael's mother ,(Caliane), was really mild. I was just expecting more umph! It was still a good story. Just my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great one in the series!

    Another great one in the series. My only negative comments are that I wish some of the side characters got more page time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just a Fabulous Read

    As one who has looked forward to this book since the end of Archangels' Kiss, I have to say that this one is just as fabulous as the first 2. Basic synopsis: Natural disasters start occuring all over the world, and Vamps under the age of 100 are going nuts, Even the Cadre is showing signs of abnormal behavior. With all the younger vamps going crazy the Guild is stretched to the max and Elena returns to New York and helps with the problem. But other issues arise to capture her attention. 2 girls are killed at her younger sisters boarding school. Gwendolyn requesting Elena's help and Jeffery being put into his place. But all of this is nothing compared to the Presence that is making itself known in the far east. Caliane returns but is she coming after Elena? Or is there another threat causing trouble? You'll have to read....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6