BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Archangel's Consort (Guild Hunter Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 499 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(116)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The third Archangel Guild Hunter fantasy is a terrific entry

Following the harrowing battle with the ancient Archangel of China Lijuan, miraculously newly made Angel Elena Deveraux the Guild Hunter and the Archangel of New York Raphael are recovering from their devastating confrontation with the Archangel of China, Lijuan (see Ar...
Following the harrowing battle with the ancient Archangel of China Lijuan, miraculously newly made Angel Elena Deveraux the Guild Hunter and the Archangel of New York Raphael are recovering from their devastating confrontation with the Archangel of China, Lijuan (see Archangel's Kiss). However, though they sort of won the battle, Lijuan remains dangerous as she has evolved into something beyond the ken of the archangels.

Elena continues her training as an angel, but refuses to hand in her Guild Hunter membership. At the same time vampires are caught up in unheard of blood lust frenzies and too frequently natural disasters are everywhere. Raphael fears the rise of a long dormant insane ancient archangel he knows personally.

The third Archangel Guild Hunter fantasy (see Angel's Blood) is a terrific entry as the lead couple continues to grow separately and as a loving team. The story line is fast-paced with a strong mystery and a great twist to what is the cause of the vampire enigma. The support cast is very strong with distinct personalities as this series remains one of the best with the current entry affirming that for delighted fans of Nalini Singh.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Only Thing Exciting About This Book is the Cover

I suggest you read the previous books in the series (novella- Angel's Pawn, Angel's Blood and Angel's Kiss) prior to reading this installment. I procrastinated to read this series. I enjoy it but this series never really grabs me. While reading this installment, I kept ...
I suggest you read the previous books in the series (novella- Angel's Pawn, Angel's Blood and Angel's Kiss) prior to reading this installment. I procrastinated to read this series. I enjoy it but this series never really grabs me. While reading this installment, I kept wondering where the story was headed. It just seem to be a whole lot of nothing. Nothing really seemed to happen, there was hardly any action and it sucks when the heroine is as weak as a babe. A major negative about this series is it has too many flashbacks and internal dialog; and most of the times Raphael's mood swings so frequently, at times he's downright schizophrenic. The majority of the book was sex and pillow talk with a few sprinkles of random violence but not enough to keep me completely interested. I need to enjoy the books I read and not have them feel like a chore. I really wanted to continue to like this series, however, it's just not happening. Therefore, I regretfully banish this series from my reading list. I will miss Elena and her sleek black wings but the storyline just isn't strong enough to continually lure my attention, pique my interest and make me want to invest my time into the series.

posted by kitkat3ny on March 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The third Archangel Guild Hunter fantasy is a terrific entry

    Following the harrowing battle with the ancient Archangel of China Lijuan, miraculously newly made Angel Elena Deveraux the Guild Hunter and the Archangel of New York Raphael are recovering from their devastating confrontation with the Archangel of China, Lijuan (see Archangel's Kiss). However, though they sort of won the battle, Lijuan remains dangerous as she has evolved into something beyond the ken of the archangels.

    Elena continues her training as an angel, but refuses to hand in her Guild Hunter membership. At the same time vampires are caught up in unheard of blood lust frenzies and too frequently natural disasters are everywhere. Raphael fears the rise of a long dormant insane ancient archangel he knows personally.

    The third Archangel Guild Hunter fantasy (see Angel's Blood) is a terrific entry as the lead couple continues to grow separately and as a loving team. The story line is fast-paced with a strong mystery and a great twist to what is the cause of the vampire enigma. The support cast is very strong with distinct personalities as this series remains one of the best with the current entry affirming that for delighted fans of Nalini Singh.

    Harriet Klausner

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Guild Hunter series continues to soar on wings of ...well, you know.

    To build a fictional world with fully realized characters that seem to live and breathe beyond the pages of a book, that linger in the reader's mind longer after the book is closed (or the NOOK is put to sleep!) takes great talent. Nalini Singh deserves great praise for her Psy/Changeling series which has given and continues to give life to a sprawling cast of characters that includes the cold and emotionless Psy, the sexy and half wild everything-for-Pack Changelings, and, in this futuristic world, the lowest on the totem pole Humans. To have succeeded with the best world-building I've read in paranormal romance once is an accomplishment...but to have started another series of the same depth is extraordinary. With Angels' Blood, Singh introduced us to Elena Deveraux, a hunter-born who serves the Guild whose job is to hunt down rogue vampires and return them to their contract holders, the Angels who made them. She accepts a job for the Archangel of New York, Raphael who smashes any image the reader previously had of angels and introduces them to a world of beauty and danger beyond a mortal's imagination. With a little help from her friends, Elena barely survives the first book and Singh kicks it up a notch in bk. 2, Archangel's Kiss in which we see the relationship between Raphael and his hunter develop more despite the doubts of the entire population of the Sanctuary. Here we see how Angel society works,and we watch Raphael's Seven endeavor to train Elena in all the skills she'll need to survive if she remains at Raphael's side even though they believe that she weakens him. It has kick-ass action, emotional storms as we continue to see Elena's tragic backstory unfold, and a villainous Angel that causes even other Archangels to fear for the world. The third book, Archangel's Consort, continues with Nalini's standard of excellence and raises the bar for every other writer of paranormal romance. Raphael and Elena's romance really has no compare amongst the books I've read; Patricia Briggs' Adam and Mercy, and her Alpha and Omega couple Charles and Anna are the only ones that come close and as they're considered paranormal scifi, the emphasis is not on the romance even though these stories continue to enthrall. Both Raphael and Elena continue to struggle with their past mutual histories of abandonment (oh, the importance of Mother-love!) which makes their commitment that "if we fall, we fall together" the most romantic of vows. Elena returns to a very human New York and doesn't know if she can still fit in while also being tormented with the reminder that those mortals she loves will eventually age and die while she will go on. And, of course, the plot about the awakening of a sleeping Ancient who went to ground because she was mad (yeah, most definitely the "crazy" kind)and whose stirring from slumber affects world-wide weather and sends normally sane vampires into a killing blood-lust also adds to the overall excitement. Always welcome is the view of Elena's Guild friends, Sara & Deacon and their Zoe along with Ransom, Ash and the disabled guardian of the Guild's underground, Vivek (ooh, there's a fantastic story just waiting to be told!); and every detail about Raphael's dedicated, deliciously decadent, and always dangerous 7 is to be savored like chococlate brushed with Angel dust. Yummmmm!!! I've already read my advanced reading copy twice; on 01/25/11 you, too, can savor.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Beautifully Written!

    What intrigued me most about Archangel's Consort, is the writing. Singh's writing style is Dark, Passionate, Sensual, Emotional, Highly Descriptive...and so much more. As a reader, I felt the emotions of the characters, even the minor ones, as though I was living in their shoes.

    Now that Elena is back in New York, she reluctantly realizes how much her life has changed in such a short time. Elena is not just an angel. She is the first ever "made" angel in history as well as the consort to her Archangel, Raphael. The passion between Elena and Raphael is on full blast, and the love Elena feels for her angel is both powerful and intense. Elena's emotions are laid bare in this book, revealing a damaged girl who continues to harbor feelings of fear, resentment, and hurt from her childhood. So many things come to light, especially when Elena's father reveals a family secret, one that Elena must face head on.

    Raphael, in my opinion, turns over a new leaf in Archangel's Consort. Raphael is an angel in love and has no qualms about hiding it, nor demolishing those that seek to destroy his relationship with Elena. A softer, more compassionate side to Raphael is revealed, much different from the overly intense Raphael in book #1, Angel's Blood. On more than one occasion, Raphael even jokes around with Elena. As their bond grows, however, Raphael finds it harder and harder to heal himself after injury. In addition, massive storms, crazy vampires, and murders are happening all over the world. Raphael knows immediately who the threat is, his own mother, the monster of all monsters. Raphael knows what must be done, but what alludes him is if he has the strength and heart to do it.

    Archangel's Consort confirmed how much I absolutely love this series and I cannot wait to read it again and again. I loved the intensity of the characters, the romance, the emotions, the lurking threat of doom, and so much more. Also, Illium gets some stage time, and as always, Bluebells shines. Dmitri, Jason, and Aodhan also pop in and out, along with Illium's mother, Hummingbird, which by the way, I'm dying to know her secrets, because apparently she's got alot of them. My only complaint with Archangel's Consort would have to be the pacing, which could have been a bit faster. Other than that, this was a wonderful read. Nalini Singh's Guild Hunter series is a "must" for all Paranormal Romance fans. Next up is Dmitri's story, Archangel's Blade scheduled to release September of 2011' and I cannot be more excited!!

    Overall Rating: 4.5 out of 5

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    great book!

    must read this is a good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!!

    I have loved every book by Nalini Singh that I have read and this one did not disappoint. The relationship between Raphael and Elena was so raw and honest that at times I felt like a peeping tom. The characters felt real and not just the main characters, but the supporting characters as well. I can not recommend this book highly enough! Hope this helps :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Another fantastic read from Nalini Singh

    Continuing the story of Guild Hunter Elena Deveraux and archangel Raphael, Ms. Singh delivers a fast paced, exciting trip into her realm of angels and vampires. This book is darker than her Psy/Changeling series but will not disappoint paranormal fans as she draws vibrant images of the world she has created. The continuing development of the relationship between Elena and Raphael is fun to read and allows the reader to feel more deeply connected with the characters first introduced in Archangel's Kiss and Angel's Blood. Readers who have not read the previous novels may find the list of characters a bit confusing and I highly recommend reading the previous two books to fully understand the progression of the story. As with her other novels I found myself reading late into the night to finish it. Overall a great addition to her collection of books. For Psy/Changeling fans there is an excerpt from Kiss of Snow and it makes the wait for that book even harder.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    CANT WAIT!!!

    This is a great series into an alternate world. The guild hunter series is a fresh idea with lots of action, wit and spice!!! I read the first two so fast I had to reread them over and over and over, just so I could apease my appetite for the third!!! I am so excited I pre-ordered this book the day it was release!!! Don't miss out!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Love every book in this series!!

    Love every book in this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I absolutely love the Guild Hunter series by Nalini Singh so whe

    I absolutely love the Guild Hunter series by Nalini Singh so when I got this one for Christmas so I was stoked to get it but as usual my other books got in the way and I didn't read this one until the other day.It was so awesome to finally get back into this series as I had finished the preceding book back in October of 2012 and I really missed Elena, Rafael and the other regular characters that appear in these books.

    After the way the last book left off I knew something major was going to happen in this one and I was so not disappointed. I've come to really love the way Nalini Singh develops her stories for this series of Urban Fantasy novels. The way she builds such intricate plot lines and brings them to fruition and ties everything together is genius and I never know how things are going to turn out for Elena, and now her mate, the archangel Rafael.

    Again in this book she was able to bring her characters to life and combine that with an excellent plot line to bring about such a successful series. The author's consistency also helped aid in the telling of Archangel's Consort. There is a seamless flow from one novel to the next so it feels all the more put together.

    This book though was my most favourite of the ones I've read so far. There was a lot more action, political undercurrents and brutality than the other books. I also liked seeing how Elena is progressing as a newly made angel and seeing her relationship with Rafael develop even though I don't really care for him that much. For me, Elena is the star of this series and her smarts, wit, and intelligence makes her one of my favourite female characters because she doesn't take crap from any body not even her mate.

    I also enjoyed the way that Nalini Singh is using angels, archangels, and vampires in this series. I especially find the angel lore intriguing and the way she relays the histories, myths and legends in little pieces is really neat because ultimately it gives a better perspective of the book as a whole.

    With lots of bloodshed, and a few painful trips down memory lane for both Elena and Rafael we follow them as they deal with the repercussions of a sleeping archangel who just happens to be Rafael's once insane mother slowly waking and reeking havoc across the world as well a Elena deals with the ghost of her own dead mother as well as her prick of a father along with the knowledge that as an angel she will out live all those she holds dear.

    Overall, I thought this was a fantastic third book in the Guild Hunter series and I honestly think that it's a prime example of Urban Fantasy at it's best. There was sex, murder, adventure drama and some light hearted moments that helped to bring the story together. The way that the whole story unraveled was great and surprised me quite a bit because I wasn't expecting it to turn out the way it did. I loved seeing the characters change and evolve and can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    I highly recommend Nalini Singh's Guild Hunter series to everyone who wants to read an Urban Fantasy book with a kick ass heroine, awesome plot lines, great characters and angels. The action will suck you in and have you reading late into the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Love it

    Awesome series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Rousing continuation to Raphael and Elena's story. Singh does s

    Rousing continuation to Raphael and Elena's story. Singh does such a wonderful job showing the love between these characters who are so different yet so utterly compatible. I love how strong Elena is a female character. Too often the lead female is portrayed as a damsel in distress. Elena knows her strenths and her weaknesses and not only strives to make herself stronger in each book but lets Raphael know them as well. She also doesn't let this very alpha male push her around. This book was the ultimate in payoffs for them. I really hope Singh gives us another book with them as the lead couple and shows more of the relationship with Raphael's mother and Lijuan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Jakai

    This was a really good book. You see that not only the terror of Elenas' past is haunting her, but just how good it used to be may be her biggest obstacle. This book is begging for Illiums story to be told; can't want for his story. Raphael, yummy as always. Great read!!

    JaKai

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Archangel's Consort

    The third novel in the popular series takes everything to a whole new level of the genre. Elena and Raphael return to New York to discover that Caliane might be awakening from her millenia long immortal sleep. It becomes obvious that that is true as a rash of violent outbursts take over Manhattan and the rest of archangel Raphael's territory, soon the world trembles and rolls and it becomes evident that no human or immortal is safe. Through the course of this novel we see a positive change in the relationship of Elena and her archangel, they begin to open up more and lean on each other. Double thumbs up to Nalini for adding more intrigue to the already fascinating world of angels and vampires, she allows the reader more into the world of each character like the seven and Elena.We are able to grasp more on the past of those such as Illuim,Jason and Raphael. I simply love that Nalini takes time to reveal more and more on the characters as the books progress, every novel has a new secret or memory coming to light! The romance is not compromised and takes up a huge part of the book, the thrills and action never let up and it leaves readers desiring to be able to step into this very original and ingeniously-crafted world of the supernatural. The relationship between son and mother is further elaborated on for Raphael and Caliane as well as Illium and his mother,Sharine the Hummingbird who took Raphael in as a child. More secrets are spilled and I can't help but want the novel to continue! It is that addictive! Another spectacular read from the Guild Hunter series! I look forward to Archangel's Blade.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    My FAVORITE Series!!!!

    I feel like I've waited a lifetime to enjoy a series with as much delicious depth as the Guild Hunters line. Each installment leaves me sated yet starving for more. The characters, the story all remind me of my favorite dessert by my favorite chef, Chocolate Mouuse.....rich, dark, chocolatey decadent, velvety smooth, addictively seductive, lingering, melting pleasure that I get to endulge in as often as I dare.

    I can see these characters, hear them, cry and laugh with them. That is when you KNOW an author is gifted. This series will forever be among, if not at the top, of my exclusive favorites list. Angels, Vampires and Hunters! Thank you for breathing life into the legend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Stay on Target

    Quick review since I am on my nook. I hope that Singh continues on the same path with her Archangel series. Writing with one or two primary characters is tough, but it is awesome to learn the world from limited viewpoints. Please keep telling Elena's story through her eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    Riveting & emotional series!!

    I have never taken the time to write a review before, but absolutely could no longer hold out with this series. I think I have read just about every paranormal book out there & none compares to Nalini Singh's Angel series. I even filled my husband in on a long drive that we were on & he found it captivating also. The action is brutal at times & the emotions run the gammit & completely hold the reader spellbound. You must start with the first book then the second however to truly understand the storyline and characters. Nalini Singh is the best paranormal author to date. Can't wait for the next installment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    If you read the first two, then you canNOT miss this!

    I have loved this series since I started. What I noticed while reading Book 3, sometime after having read the first two, is that the author has done a great job at growing Elena's and Raphael's relationship. You see more than anything else in this book, a loving, growing romance of give & take and compromise. I enjoyed their time together and of course, the intriguing storyline of the rising rested. I can't wait for book 4!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Great story in a series

    Nalini Singh has done a fantastic job with the Guild Series & I reccomend reading them all. The characters are great & the story/plot is smooth. I have found that by rhe end of each book I am ever more excited about the next book in the series because the characters draw you in & make reading them an obssession.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 320 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16