Customer Reviews for

Archetype

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What can I say about Archetype? The premise sounded interesting

What can I say about Archetype? The premise sounded interesting when I first read it. I mean I thought that I would like it, but I was unprepared for how much I ended up enjoying it. Even when I put the book down to go about my day, I was still thinking about the story ...
What can I say about Archetype? The premise sounded interesting when I first read it. I mean I thought that I would like it, but I was unprepared for how much I ended up enjoying it. Even when I put the book down to go about my day, I was still thinking about the story and its characters. I loved it.

Emma is a 26 year old woman who lives in a world were roughly a hundred years ago a war erupted. Women in the west are free to live their life whereas women who live in the east like Emma are few and far between. Women are only considered worth marrying if they are fertile and men are desperate to claim and manipulate them. 

Emma is such a fighter. I loved that about her. She goes along with some things, but she does ask questions and she is relentless when it comes to finding out about her past and who she is. 

Just when I thought I knew what was going on or what was about to happen, turned out I was wrong. I think that is the re-occurring theme in this book. Expect the unexpected. There were plenty of twists and turns to keep me on my toes. I don’t want to reveal too much, because this is a book where you will want to discover things for yourself. 

Archetype is the very first futuristic science fiction suspense/thriller story-line that I have ever read. I am glad I decided to try something a little new and different. Everything flowed at a great pace. The flashbacks of Emma’s past and the goings-on of her present didn’t confuse me even a little bit and I enjoyed getting to know Emma’s life. Pieces were sprinkled in, little by little until I began to see the bigger picture.  And that ending? Left me wanting more…like now. Thankfully the second and last book in this series, Prototype releases July 24, 2014. Not too long of a wait. 
Readers who enjoy Futuristic Sci-Fi Thrillers will like this one.




**I received this book on behalf of the Publisher in exchange for nothing but my honest opinion. Thank you**

posted by TheLifeofaBookAddict on February 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Why do spoilers think they have to reveal every last detail of thebook then brag how they got their book for free for their so called honest review? You spoiled the book for those of us who have to buy our book. Thank you so much for that. Please give some thought and c...
Why do spoilers think they have to reveal every last detail of thebook then brag how they got their book for free for their so called honest review? You spoiled the book for those of us who have to buy our book. Thank you so much for that. Please give some thought and consideration to the other readers before you write a readers digest condensed version of the book in your post. The rest of us would like to read a book and be surprised by what we read....not have you ppl read it and tell us what happens.

posted by 8888649 on March 16, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    What can I say about Archetype? The premise sounded interesting

    What can I say about Archetype? The premise sounded interesting when I first read it. I mean I thought that I would like it, but I was unprepared for how much I ended up enjoying it. Even when I put the book down to go about my day, I was still thinking about the story and its characters. I loved it.

    Emma is a 26 year old woman who lives in a world were roughly a hundred years ago a war erupted. Women in the west are free to live their life whereas women who live in the east like Emma are few and far between. Women are only considered worth marrying if they are fertile and men are desperate to claim and manipulate them. 

    Emma is such a fighter. I loved that about her. She goes along with some things, but she does ask questions and she is relentless when it comes to finding out about her past and who she is. 

    Just when I thought I knew what was going on or what was about to happen, turned out I was wrong. I think that is the re-occurring theme in this book. Expect the unexpected. There were plenty of twists and turns to keep me on my toes. I don’t want to reveal too much, because this is a book where you will want to discover things for yourself. 

    Archetype is the very first futuristic science fiction suspense/thriller story-line that I have ever read. I am glad I decided to try something a little new and different. Everything flowed at a great pace. The flashbacks of Emma’s past and the goings-on of her present didn’t confuse me even a little bit and I enjoyed getting to know Emma’s life. Pieces were sprinkled in, little by little until I began to see the bigger picture.  And that ending? Left me wanting more…like now. Thankfully the second and last book in this series, Prototype releases July 24, 2014. Not too long of a wait. 
    Readers who enjoy Futuristic Sci-Fi Thrillers will like this one.




    **I received this book on behalf of the Publisher in exchange for nothing but my honest opinion. Thank you**

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    First off I should probably say that I won this book from Pengui

    First off I should probably say that I won this book from Penguin Books First to Read program. I bid on several books, but am SO glad I was given this one to read. Now on to the review.

    The story was well written and had plenty of twists and turns that kept me guessing. You are in Emma's head and know nothing of the world only to learn how things work along the way with her. Through about half of the book we have two Emmas, one brand new to the world and one that has her memory but is locked inside the new Emma, but once she starts to learn the truth of her situation her personality blends into one and we lose the duel Emmas. She is a strong character that is torn between the lies and truth. She doesn't know who to believe, trust or love. She is torn between Declan and Noah, and even after finishing the book I am too. I know one of them, hell both of them have done things to make them the 'bad guy' depending on your p.o.v., but still a part of me wants both of them to win. From what I learned in another series there is always three sides to every story, yours, theirs and the truth that lies someplace in the middle. Both men are a product of their environments and the world they live in and I am not ready to condemn either one of them just yet. I want to know more. 

    This was great, and what a cliffhanger at the end, definitely going to be keeping an eye out for the next book. About half way through the book I had to look up the author's page on Goodreads to see what else she had written. Was surprised to see this is her first book! Then I looked at her read book list and compared books, 72% of the same titles read for what we rated. No wonder I loved this story. I am definitely a fan and am going to be recommending this one to my friends. The book reminded me of The Handmaiden's Tale and many of the dystopian novels that are popular in the YA books, but this one is written for adults. Not that I don't think some mature younger readers won't enjoy it as well. 

    Bottom line, it is a great story that brings up some interesting ideas about society and control and what is acceptable for the greater good. It has plenty of intrigue, romance and plot twists. It moves at a good pace and kept me reading when I should have been doing something else. Thank you for the excellent read Ms. Waters, I can't wait to read more.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Archetype is one of those rare books that transcends its genre.

    Archetype is one of those rare books that transcends its genre. If you're like me sci-fi isn't usually on the top of your reading list. Yet I LOVED this story.

    What makes Archetype such a fantastic read is that you don't have to be a fan of the genre to get sucked into the story. There's plenty of futuristic advancements for those who love that about sci-fi, but it never makes the average reader feel like they're living in a world they can't possibly relate to. (Think "Back to the Future 2" with far more danger & intrigue, way less cheese, and no Michael J. Fox)

    The action is fast paced and the mystery of who the bad guy really is, and the suspense on whether or not Emma will figure it all out before its too late, means this is a story you shouldn't start late at night if you have somewhere to be early the next morning.With a complex-in-her-simplicity main character you can't help but root for and several swoon-worthy men (who for all their swoon-worthiness still come with the inherent flaws of men) Archetype is definitely worth the read. You won't regret it. Promise.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    I love how this book has a mix mystery, romance, tension, advent

    I love how this book has a mix mystery, romance, tension, adventure - all wrapped in dainty paper with a razor sharp bow. The storyline is tight and flowing with unexpected surprises you never see coming.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    This is an absolutely amazing book. It is also an extremely dist

    This is an absolutely amazing book. It is also an extremely disturbing book. Set in our future, the United States no longer exists. It has been divided between the East and West. This story takes place in the East where women are the property of their husbands.

    Human fertility has been on the decline for decades and only women who are able to have children can become wives. Wives are second class citizens at the best and the unmarried women have it even worse.

    Emma suffered a terrible accident which left her without any memories. She is under the care of a doctor and her husband Declan. All she knows is what they have told her. Fortunately, Declan loves her and is unfailingly kind and gentle with her. She knows they had a wonderful relationship (after all, he told her so) and begins to fall in love with him again.

    But what about her dreams?

    Emma has dreams (or nightmares) about another life and another man. She doesn’t know who he is, but she knows she loves him even more than she does Declan.

    What she doesn’t know is what is real.

    As you can tell, I loved this book. It reminds me a little of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, another truly disturbing book about women’s roles in a dystopian future.

    It doesn’t have a cliffhanger ending, but I cannot wait for the sequel. Prototype is due out on July 24, 2014 and I will definitely read it.

    DISCLAIMER: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Amazing

    Absolutely loved this book. I can not wait for the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    AMAZING read! i love this book!

    AMAZING read! i love this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Oh wow... I don't know how to review this or where to begin. I

    Oh wow...

    I don't know how to review this or where to begin. I am not even sure on how to do it without spoiling the book, but I will try.

    Emma wakes up in a hospital with no memory what so ever from what happened before she opened her eyes. All she now knows is what this man Declan, who claims to be her husband tells her about her past. But her dreams shows her another life, life with another man who isn't Declan. Life of war and a camp for girls who are trained to be the perfect wives and love that transcends everything she ever knew.

    I haven't read an Adult Dystopia yet and I was pleasantly surprised. It has science-fiction elements in it because the story takes such a long way into the future into a world divided and where it's the West versus the East. Where there is an abundance of man, and not enough women to go around and fertility rates are astronomically love. The science-fiction elements weren't hard to follow M.D Waters does an amazing job explaining them.

    Not only that but M.D Water does an fantastic job overall. The story is compelling from the first breath of the first chapter and it doesn't let you go. Riveting and emotion, M.D Waters has taken me for a ride I don't think I will forget. I found myself alongside of Emma wanting answers, wanting to know the truth behind her dream, memories or nightmares and who the other man Noah is to her.

    Thought I did have an idea what was going on in the first few 100 pages that only scratched the surface of what M.D Waters had in store for me in the end. Her writing was wonderful, the story well woven and an ending that had me gasping in tears.

    All of M.D Waters characters were I loved Emma, and I couldn't help rooting for her to find the answers. To find Noah. To find herself.

    Beautiful story, heart-breaking ending.

    There was really only one thing I struggled with, but remembering that this was science-fiction was the key. It was in the end and kind of the whole big point of the story, so I cannot go into it without spoiling the book. But it didn't take away from the story for me at all, I have decided that in the end it made it original, imaginative and creative!

    I was surprised that it is a duology but at the same time glad, because that means in the next six months the next book is here and I'll get to learn the the conclusion of Emma's Fate! I for one, cannot wait.

    Thank you Dutton Adult for providing me a physical copy in exchange of an honest review.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Great book

    A page turner! Reading prequel then the last book Prototype• Can't wait

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2014

    Great Book! A brilliant debut from a phenomenal author. I was fo

    Great Book!
    A brilliant debut from a phenomenal author. I was fortunate to read Archetype while it was being written. The second I read the first line I knew I had to know Emma's story. Not only is the voice of this book so completely unique, but the story itself provides so much internal and emotional conflict that you don't want to put it down. The setting is a futuristic dystopian world where women are a rare commodity. Girls are raised in camps to be wives and Emma has memories of a life like that. Of a distant self she doesn't know. Of a man named Noah. A man that is NOT the husband she sleeps beside every night. This novel is a thrilling ride you have to experience for yourself. An emotional roller coaster that will leave you haunted by Emma's struggle to learn the truth. A Must Read of 2014.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Awesome

    ,

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I highly recommend this book.

    I had a really hard time putting the book down every time I picked it up to read. I can't wait for the second book to come out. I really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2