Customer Reviews for

Arctic Chill (Reykjavik Thriller Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An enjoyable read!

I enjoyed this book not only for the story but for the insight of Icelandic culture. The main detective is a little dark and brooding man. This is not the typical macho detective, but a person with scars and fears like everyone else. This series will be similar to "Bo...
I enjoyed this book not only for the story but for the insight of Icelandic culture. The main detective is a little dark and brooding man. This is not the typical macho detective, but a person with scars and fears like everyone else. This series will be similar to "Bones" the TV series in that the crimes are in the past so you get a little history of life in iceland as the solve the crime

posted by Cynder on March 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not the best in the series -- too much lecturing. But a cut abov

not the best in the series -- too much lecturing. But a cut above still many others out there -- like anything by Patterson . Wildest scene is the crazy gun battle that  takes place inside an old lady's house simply because detective ducks in there.

posted by bayareagirl on February 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    An enjoyable read!

    I enjoyed this book not only for the story but for the insight of Icelandic culture. The main detective is a little dark and brooding man. This is not the typical macho detective, but a person with scars and fears like everyone else. This series will be similar to "Bones" the TV series in that the crimes are in the past so you get a little history of life in iceland as the solve the crime

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Entirely good, consistent with previous stories, find out more about main characters, Iceland continues to be a cold and dark place.

    Entirely good, consistent with previous stories, find out more about main characters, Iceland continues to be a cold and dark place.

    Looking forward to the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    deep Icelandic police procedural

    Outside a slummy Reykjavik apartment, the corpse of an Asian-Icelandic boy is found lying in his frozen blood. Police detective Erlendur Sveinsson leads the investigation into the homicide. He finds no motives for killing the half Thai child so he explores racism as the only possibility in spite of a tolerant society in which native males marry Thai women, divorce them, and abandon them and their offspring to live in the slums. The victim is El'as whose mom Sunee worked in a chocolate factory but has recently vanished; she was estranged from her carpenter husband Idinn for bringing her other son Niran with her.

    Erlanger has personal issues starting with the shock of his former boss Marion's slow death that reminds him of his own mortality and his obsession to reconcile with his estrange adult children. The detective continues his inquiry into a missing woman who probably committed suicide, but he seeks closure in the case.

    The latest Icelandic police procedural is a deep look at society struggling with the problems Thai women face in Iceland. The story line also deeply digs into a father's struggles with his two offspring who have issues that make him feel like a failure. As their father he wants to shower them with love; an emotion he cannot show to anyone even the woman he desires as love denotes weakness. This is another winner as the case is solid but supports the profound glimpse into society and relationships.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    not the best in the series -- too much lecturing. But a cut abov

    not the best in the series -- too much lecturing. But a cut above still many others out there -- like anything by Patterson . Wildest scene is the crazy gun battle that  takes place inside an old lady's house simply because detective ducks in there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Different, yet the same..

    The book is your "basic" murder mystery. The characters are interesting but not that grand I suppose you could say. However, I gave the book three stars because although it's a story you've probably read or seen before it's still an enticing and gripping story. Once I started I couldn't wait to continue, I hated having to put the book down. The setting of the story (Iceland) is what I really believe kept me reading. While reading the descriptive details of the story I felt as if I was really there in Iceland. The author truly describes every detail, not only in regards to the country but the murder itself as well as the events leading up to it and what came after. Not a single question left unanswered. This is my first book that I've read by this author and although very much out of order in the series, I can't wait to go buy the very first book written in the series! As I said, I have read the book out of order however I would of never have known had I not searched the author on Google. You never get the feeling that you've missed anything. I would most certainly suggest this to my friends to read, and well, to anyone else too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Nightclaw

    *eyes the wolf carefully but still nods* as you wish *bolts straight up into the air and glides away from the wolves location*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Moonlight and Darknight

    *moonlight continued to sleep, and Darknight nodded to Arctic*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Moonlight

    If he hasn't told you already, I've been shot at a number amount of times and gotten shot 3 times. I've been chassed by so called humans, and wolves that think they are better than everyone else. I've gotten into numerous amounts of fights. *she filed her nails on a rock* maybe this place is good for you Darknight, but I like the city. As I said I have more fun playing with the other dogs and wolves. *darknight snorted* Yeah, just the males. All you do is fight the females. *moonlight laughed* And your right about that, only because all the females do is flirt and *mockingly hides her face behind her tail and giggle girlishly* this and all that other flirting poop. And you know I'm not like that unless well yea stopping there. But really I loved the city.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Bane

    Kk same

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    Arctic

    He sighs igtg bbl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Nightheart

    She stalks a snowy owl in silence. Leaping up high can be challenging for her, but this time she gets the owl down. She plucks off a white feather and sticks it into the snow,marking the place she had buried it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    H

    Frostpelt bristled. Only she seemed to care about hunting! All the other warriors just stuffed their faces all day while she hunted!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Crawls along like an iceburg.

    Interesting setting that is not part of this story. Could have happened next door. Slow to develop, takes a long time to go anywhere, and a disapointment to the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1