BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Arctic Drift (Dirk Pitt Series #20)

Average Rating 4
( 239 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(119)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

He did again

As usual Cussler writes a book you hate to see end & can't wait till the next one comes out. Dirk & his friends have become your friends. His kids deserve their own series.

posted by jfk1942 on March 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

May be his worst book

I paid for Clive Cussler and got Al Gore. I get global warming is a big problem but I bought this book for entertainment. Turn it down a little and dump the kids. The books were much better when they centered around Dirk and Al.

posted by 2557609 on December 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    May be his worst book

    I paid for Clive Cussler and got Al Gore. I get global warming is a big problem but I bought this book for entertainment. Turn it down a little and dump the kids. The books were much better when they centered around Dirk and Al.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    He did again

    As usual Cussler writes a book you hate to see end & can't wait till the next one comes out. Dirk & his friends have become your friends. His kids deserve their own series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    THIS WAS THE WORST CUSSLER BOOK EVER!!

    I would rather had a root canal done by a dentist that was drunk then have read this book ! The Pitt children are boring to read about. I want Dirk and Al, not the carbon copies of them.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Give it up Clive!

    What the Cussler's need to do is kick the kids to the curb along with all those other half baked characters that they are writing about and concentrate on writing ONE good book about the two guys that made Mr. Cussler a wealthy man.Dirk Pitt and Al Giordano that's who! His son I'm sure is a good writer with his fathers help but that's all this is, is a regurgitation of old story lines and tired imagination. Come on Mr. Cussler take a break and really work on that one book we all feel you still have in you and make that your swan song.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    re: Artic Drift

    This book weas good to see Dirk and Al back in a ction. It started with Dirk ane Summer as main characters but they faded as story progressed. That was ok, because Dirk and Al are better. Always look forward to the new books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    Clive Cussler fan for many years

    I own every single book Clive Cussler has ever written. These too, are my core library when I want to escape and explore areas of the world; above and below the waterline. As this talented writer brings to us adventures beyond most of our wildest dreams, he will eventually need to hand over the reigns to another to keep our interests peaked. It's a natural progression of life and we who are avid fans of his writings be willing to grow right along, whatever the case may be.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    Artic Drift

    Below is a quote I ran across about Dirk Pitt...<BR/><BR/>"Ever since Clive's son Dirk became a co-writer in the Pitt series it went downhill by bringing in Pitts family. It seems that Clive is grooming his son to take over and hopefully he will get better. And by the way Clive Cussler does not write romantic novels."<BR/><BR/>Whoever this is WRONG! The series is following a natural pattern if is to survive ... after all ... Dirk is getting older and this series has to go somewhere. The Mediterranean Caper was not as good as say ... Inca Gold ... Clive got better as he went along. Too bad other good writers did not have someone to pick up where they left off. I can think of one ... Robert Ludham ... and I like the books he had done to extend his series with co-authers. Cussler has done other books with other authers and I like them, too.<BR/><BR/>It was a sort of a cliff-hanger finding out there were twins Pitt did not know about. I loved it! There is just as much action and adventure with these two and I thought the writing was great. And there is a little romance in his novels ... just enough to fill where it might become tedious ... it adds to the books ... some novels tend to fill in with extra long descriptions that can become might boring.<BR/><BR/>I have read and re-read every one of his novels except the last few, but will get to that in the near future. His books are in the Heart of my library and will always be there. If young Dirk is going to carry on ... this is great ... he will get better like his dad. Afterall .. he has the greatest teacher!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    The Series Went Downhill

    Ever since Cive's son Dirk became a co writer in the Pitt series it went downhill by bringing in Pitts family. It seems that Clive is grooming his son to take over and hopefully he will get better. And by the way Clive Cussler does not write romantic novels.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    WINTER PANDA

    I AM A WHITE CAT WITH BLACK EARS AND TAIL I WANT TO BE KING BUT NEED MATE P.S QUEEN IS A DUDE P.P.S PLZ LET ME JOIN

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    Dirk Does it Again!

    If you like Dirk Pitt, his friends and family then this is a book for you. It includes all of the above plus a villan you'll want to have caught. It melds the son and daughter of Dirk with the villan and their father in a race to save a possible important find in the Artic. It's a must read for all the fans of Dirk Pitt. Cussler doesn't disappoint.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Another Great Read

    Cussler always creates great stories that feel like great action movies! I read this on a cross-country flight and could not put it down. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Cussler never disappoints!

    I'm a long time fan and got this one on CD as a gift. It was a great book to listen to and Scott Brick is an excellent narrator. The first couple of Pitt novels featuring Dirk Cussler as co-author weren't the best of the series, but I think this is the one that shows he can take over the series - this one is much more like vintage Cussler! Long time fans won't be disappointed and new readers will be able to pick up the story line without needing to read previous novels. Warning for new readers: once you start on the Dirk Pitt novels, you will want to read all of them - they are fun!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    Another great Dirk Pitt novel

    Dirk is united with his son and daughter/Numa team in solving this neck-breaking, fast-moving thriller with no rest for the weary. A wonderful page turner, combining historic events with the present.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Farfetched, but a good read.

    I read this book in 1.5 days. Although a little far-fetched, this is a great stress reliever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    For A Present

    I bought it for a Christmas present and the person enjoyed it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Kk

    Swipepaw, Clashpaw, Gempaw, Sharppaw! Idk what im saying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Winterblaze

    A sparkling white shecat with blue blazing eyes. Her claws are ridged for gripping ice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    I'd rather read an adventure with just Dirk and Al.

    I'd rather read an adventure with just Dirk and Al.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Queen wants to join

    I am Hazelfoot and would like to be a queen but need a mate. I am hazelnut colored with brilliant green eyes. Please accept me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 241 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13