Customer Reviews for

Are You Afraid of the Dark?

Average Rating 3.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    Such a disappointment

    I can't believe the number of good reviews because this book was hugely disappointing! The writing style was so simple with the author finding ways to 'tell' the read what was going on instead of the story developing, there was no mystery, and the things happening were not realistic. This is one of the worst books I have ever read!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    you cant stand the thrill of this book. read it.

    i was surprised by the twist of the story. thought its predictable at first, but it turns out to have surprising twists at the end. disclaimer: dont read it backwards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    The usual

    True to Sidney Sheldon's style of writing. Not as good as some of his other books. Easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    this book is amazing

    this book is amazing I read this for the very first time and I fell in love with it Sidney Sheldon. This truly is a breath-taking story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    could be happening in your town

    many strange weather phenoms have been happening all over the states recently, really makes you wonder if this is all possible?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Very Dissappointing.

    I am a Sidney Sheldon fan. But this book was very very dissappointing. It's short, very predictable, contains un necessary vulgarities and obscenities and the plot looks interesting at first but in the end when the main story unfolds, its not anything new or shocking at all. If you are thinking of reading Sheldon for the first time, completely avoid this, try his previous masterpieces, they were great. It looks like he wrote this book in a hurry because he was short on money and just wanted to use his good reputation to make some bucks with this un interesting read. That's just how I felt, not worth the money at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    exciting read

    i chose to read this book on sunday, that should tell something! this book keeps reader interested and guessing and also has bits of romace that did not botter me at all... thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2005

    Disappointing ... mystery or romance? hmmm!

    Four deaths in four locations - the link is that the victims work for the same agency -- KIG a 'think tank' institution. Global 'problem solvers' is a great premise for a plot but Sheldon does not deliver in depth. Are You Afraid of the Dark is a shallow writing. The author renders a 'script' that delivers a screenplay. The dialog exchanges are weak in content and relevance. The story would catch more attention as a lightweight, two-hour TV film. Sidney Sheldon's name attracts readers because of the reputation he has established with award-winning screenplays, and such¿ The story picks up momentum of promised intrigue but stops dead¿ off and on¿ describing character's clothing, how he/she dressed for a date, how many Armani suits hang in the closet, where they went on dates, and other trivial thinking, so that, if those aspects were removed from the story, it would not harm the writing at all. Sheldon doesn't fail on all counts¿ favorable are the technology aspects, such as business cards with microdot for tracing, the voice recording and voice impression units the two protagonists, Diane and Kelly kick butt with their brainpower to outwit the antagonists -- often, but alas all ladies are 'lovely oval face¿ lovely figures¿ etc.' -- a definite turnoff to what COULD HAVE BEEN a deeper read and a page turner. Positive is the interesting plot, albeit faltering. Is this a romance or mystery¿ I say hmm? -- The suspense and dialog are weak. The ending is strangely farcical, but you will cheer much for disabled brother Andrew Kingsley. Recommended for readers who want a lightweight read. (Based on the paperback printing)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    Kept you on the edge of your seat until the end of the book.

    This book throws so many twists at you. You never know what is going to happen next. I recommend this book to high school readers and anyone above. If you like a good thriller, and a book that catches you off guard, Are You Afraid of the Dark is the book for you. This book teaches you to trust noone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    TRULY REMARKABLE!!!!!!!!

    Sidney is THE BEST and there is nobody that will deny that -- this book is no exception to his long line of great novels. We wish he would writer faster! He is about 87 now though and I guess hes slowing down? Check out his website if you haven't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    Brilliant Read

    I spent the whole day captivated by this book. I love Sydney Sheldon's creative mind. He is a wonderful author and I would recommend any of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2005

    Ouch! Can I get a Refund?

    I bought this book at the bookstore. Remind me to pay attention to reviews! Simple. Predictable. I'm selling my used copy to the first person who offers enough for a cup of coffee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    First-time Sheldon reader

    The best I can say is that it approached being mildly entertaining... and that only because I didn't have any other fiction available at the time. I had a hard time getting to the suspension of disbelief. The characters and story seem to have been formulae driven and were not fully convincing. Since the story didn't quite represent istself as fantasy or sci-fi, the unbelievable way the heroines continued to escape danger and the absurdity of the maniacal villians just didn't work for me. It came across as kinda corny... or maybe just something a junior high school student who was only beginning the adventure of reading might enjoy. The intended suspense was predictable, the dialogue was sometimes trite, and the characters seem to be stereotypical. I don't recommend it to my reader friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2004

    Sheldon Just Gets Better and Better

    I was waiting for Sidney Sheldon to write a new book. When I found out his new one was coming out, I put myself on the reserve list at the library. It took a month to get to my turn on the list. What intrigued me was the way Sheldon wove the tale -- and he faced a deteriorating planet at the hands of one man. What is so compelling is that this can actually happen -- what with the polar ice caps melting and the greenhouse effect. The revelation of what Prima actually was was enough to make my heart beat faster. Sheldon is an author you can't put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    Shelton scores another suspense novel

    This fast paced story begins with the death of three men in seperate parts of the world. How do their deaths relate? It is up to two young widows to discover the connection. Their plight takes them on a wild chase while the enemy tries to thart them at every turn. Who is the enemy? I found this to be a fun and exciting book...easy reading and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2004

    A SUITABLY SCARY READING

    Better keep the lights on (and it wouldn't hurt to make sure the doors are locked) when you listen to the latest thriller by that master of suspense, Sidney Sheldon. Actually, I'm doing him a bit of a disservice by calling him a 'master of suspense' when, in actuality, he's a master of much - from creating hit television programs to winning an Oscar to being the most translated author in the world. But, there's not room to list all of his awards and accolades, so to 'Are You Afraid of the Dark?' on audio CDs by HarperAudio. This scary story of two young women fighting for their lives is ably read by Kit Flanagan. She gives each woman equal emphasis, clearly projecting their fears and strengths. Four mysterious happenings occur - miles apart. Surely there can't be a connection. A woman disappears while on a street in Berlin; the Eiffel Tower is a take-off platform for a man; a small plane goes down in Denver; and the East River yields a body in New York. It doesn't take authorities long to discover that there can be and is a connection - the four people in question are all connected to an enormous think tank. The widows of two of the victims, Kelly Harris and Diane Stevens, are young and bereaved. They meet in New York where the head of the think tank convinces them that he's stopping at nothing to find out how and why their husbands died. Those questions almost become moot when Kelly and Diane discover that their lives are at stake. Who wants to destroy them and why? They do not know. Sheldon always delivers shivers, and he does it again. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2004

    disappointing read

    ive read all books written by sidney sheldon and i was amazed to see how sheldon has stooped to such a low level of work. I only hope that his art revives and hes able to write as good as he used to before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    waste of time and money

    should have read the reviews before I bought this one. very amaturish and totally disappointing and that is being nice. can't believe sidney sheldon wrote this. no one with sidney sheldon's talent should even think this was a good story. shame on him...susan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Not what I expected

    I was really disappointed with this book. I am a huge fan of Sheldon's other books, but this one was so slow--boring at times and the dialogue between the characters was unrealistic. Its a stinker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2004

    Disappointing

    I can't believe I actually waited for this book and even finished it! Plot was preditable and slow, characters were one dimensional, and writing style was choppy and simplicitic. Not what I expected from Sheldon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3