BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Are You My Mother?: A Comic Drama

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Oh so boring

    SO boring. Two stars, only because I do.repect Ms Bechdels.previous.work. This is so tedious. If you enjoy reading excerpts of the work of an outdated psychologist, and experiencing someone elses therapy sessions, go for it. Otherwiss, pass onthis one. Yawn

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Wonderful

    After reading "Fun Home," I wondered incessantly about the other half of the author's family structure. This book was worth the wait, as it completely answered my questions, and helped to further formally introduce the author.
    I've followed Alison Bechdel for a while, consuming her "Dykes to Watch Out For" comic and identifying myself and my friends in hers. This book only helped me to identify with her even more.
    I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever wondered about their relationship with their parents. Anyone who has ever questioned the reason that they are the way they are.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2012

    It's No Fun Home

    At first, I was disappointed because this is so very different from Beschdel's "Fun Home", which was a bit melancholy, but also upbeat in its way and had absolutely beautiful art. "Are You My Mother?" is very intro-spective and wordy, without secrets or excruciatingly detailed, beautiful artwork and it jumps between her relationships with lovers, mother, faux-mothers (therapists) and her fascination with Virginia Woolf and a psychologist named Winnicot from 100 years ago. By the end of it, I had begun to enjoy it, but having read "Fun Home" not so long ago (last year), I couldn't help but unfavorably compare this to that. I can appreciate that there's no neat answers, mostly just smart questions, but for those not looking for an intellectually-challenging psycho-philosophical graphic novel (or not a huge Beschdel fan), you may want to give it a miss.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    fsdfsdffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff

    fsdfsdffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Introspective and illuminating

    Alison Bechdel's search for self-understanding takes us on an amazing journey of our own self-discovery. This book is profoundly moving. There is nothing frivolous about it, so don't be misled by the graphic novel format. Not suitable for those who are uncomfortable with psychological disclosure or lesbian relationships. A must read for anyone with family issues who is ready to confront them head-on. Alison does not blink. She looks at herself and her family with painful clarity. I highly recommend this for anyone who is searching for their own truth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Are you my mummy?

    Mummy! Mummy?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Anyomones

    Are you my mother sounds like the dr seuss book about the little birdie who coulnt find its mommy so ut asked every creature ut could find on the ground or in the air

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Really Enjoyed This Book!

    This memoir might not appeal to everyone. It includes a lot of Bechdel's thoughts on her experience of therapy, with some looks at different schools of psychology. (I enjoy that sort of thing.....) It also looks at her relationship with her mother, a still evolving process. The use of comic type drawings to illustrate is really wonderful; I have always enjoyed Bechdels's work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    A fasinating book!!

    A fasinating book

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1