Customer Reviews for

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret

Average Rating 4.5
( 635 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(508)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

100 out of 113 people found this review helpful.

BEST BOOK EVER

I am just starting sixth grade and my mom suggested this book. I read it in two days and I absolutely love it. I reccomend it for all girls from ages 11 to 100!!!You can really relate to all of the troubles that Margaret goes through.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Parental Warning! Preview it before letting your kids read this book!!

I consider myself to be a well-read parent. Young children are mostly being 'dumbed down' with books like this. I was in a bookstore and saw Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret with the new blue cover and wholesome-looking girls on its cover. The main character's st...
I consider myself to be a well-read parent. Young children are mostly being 'dumbed down' with books like this. I was in a bookstore and saw Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret with the new blue cover and wholesome-looking girls on its cover. The main character's stupidity over 'mens-stroo-ation', her disregard for the feelings of her estranged grandparents, the frequent mentioning of how she 'hates' this or that about people┬┐all point to a pathetic lack of writing skill. Margaret, the main character, sounds shallow and uneducated. When I was age 12 my favorite authors were in classic literature. These days, teachers tell me they don't care what kids read, as long as they are reading something. So, even at a private school, where exceptionally high academic standards are the norm, books with no character development, sense of place in history, and thinly drawn adults, are popular--like this one. Judy Blume is obsessed with female body parts. On page one, 'I caught my mother sniffing under her arms'; pages 4, 6, 8, and 11, 'Her nose turned up so much I could look right into her nostrils'; 'I found my mother with her rear end sticking out of a bottom kitchen cabinet'; 'Oh, you're still flat [chested]?'; 'In a few years I'm going to look like one of those girls in Playboy'; 'My ears stick out a little'; 'They're [boys] only interested in two things--pictures of naked girls and dirty books!'; and, unbelievably, in her prayer to God on page 50, 'I've got a bra now. It would be nice if I had something to put in it.' Finally, on page 67, 'How about a Tampax?' and 'We don't advise internal protection' is problematic. I read this book to preview it for reading level appropriateness for my daughter. I'm so glad I never let her read it. It would be helpful to parents if there was a notice on the cover that this book attempts to educate girls approaching puberty about menstruation, blood in their panties, washing bathing suits, breast size and bra shopping, the popularity of Playboy, and how sickening grandparents and most people are.

posted by Anonymous on March 29, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 635 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Awsome

    Judy blume is a great authur. I can really relate to margaret and i finshed this book in a day!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Christian girl last post i reported

    A+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++ good book

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Fatima

    Awesome book ever
    Keep reading kids
    Reading is goid for your brain and health
    Please comment more

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    Great

    I got this book for my birthday and i enjoyed it. I like how the author uses margaret to tell us how hard life can be.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    someone

    BUY THE BOOK!!! It will be worth it. Im in 7th grade and read it in one day. I keep reading it over and over!! Its worth it!! Buy it. Do it. Dare ya.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Uhhh

    Ok people pads r itchy and uncomfartable trust me if u had ur period ull understand people who have not thumbs up

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Fanstastic

    I think this book is wonderful!!!!!!!!! I am 11 years old and LOVED it!
    In this book a girl named margret joins a new club with some other girls and they talk about girls in growing. Margret is worried she will be the last to grow! This book is great for ages 9-13! I wouldn't recomend this book under 9! Read this book to find out how margret gets through these hard times for all girls.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Great

    This is a must read and i really got it beacuse the maine charter is 12 and so am i so u should read it now

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Judy blume book

    THE best book i have ever read for 12-19 year olds !!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Hi

    My mom bought me this book because she wanted me to know about stuff... but i ended up loving it i read it over 3 times now i can't find it (it's not on my nook) i think she took it lol thos is the best book for kids going into middle school or are on their last year of elementary. Love it soooo much

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome if your a girl and ur religious. I do not reccomend this for boys

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    AWESOME!!!!!!!

    I READ THIS BOOK ABOUT 10 YEARS AGO AND THOUGHT IS WAS GOOD THEN! BUT AS I AM OLDER NOW I REALLY APPRECIATE WHAT THIS BOOK IS TELLING US? I would recomend this book to all young girls. It explains so many questions they may have but are too embaressed to ask.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    highly recomended

    I think this book is very intresting , and that you should read it because it is something alot of people can relate to and a book that is funny and good at the same time because it tells the life of a girl who goes through some things and goes to somebody for help but not just anybody but god and you should talk to god if you have problems or need help to and this is also a good book for our young christians out there who like to read

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    not my kinda book...

    Okay im 15 years old and honestly i didnt like the book that much. It was a bit to young for mee. girls no older than 12 should read it. sorry but i liked forever much much better. but no girl under my age should read that.

    5 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    the bok every girl should read!

    Judy Blumes Are you there God? Its Me,Margaret is a great book for young girls becoming mature women. I read this book when i was 11 and now i am 14 and i have to read the book again for a project in health. Now that i read it i laugh at everything in the book because it sounds just like me and my friends talking when we were younger. Read the book if you havent gotten your first bra or period yet it will totally show you your not alone. Read it with your mom too or tell her about it beacsue it will help your mom show you the ropes of being a young women. I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    A funny but helpful book

    I am in sixth grade and loved this book i want to read it again it was so good she was teaching a helpful story and a funny story

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Help me

    Can somebody tell me what it's about? I am too buzy to read because i have to watch my dog and i dog sit. Ok please help me with this. Oh no my dog pooped. I got to go. Bye everybody

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Are you there god its me margaret

    This is a caring and sad and loving story all rolled into a grat book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Great book for older kids!

    This is a wonderful book for kids my age (11-15 most likely) going through her "changes" in life. I would reccomend this to any girl to read! :D

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Good

    I think this is a pretty good.For those girls who are hesitating to get it I think you should.And Im a christian.
    PS i relied pretty much on the reviews so it turned oit to be a really good book! Im in 5th grade,well whateber peace out people

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 635 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32