Customer Reviews for

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret.

Average Rating 4.5
( 610 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(494)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

97 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

BEST BOOK EVER

I am just starting sixth grade and my mom suggested this book. I read it in two days and I absolutely love it. I reccomend it for all girls from ages 11 to 100!!!You can really relate to all of the troubles that Margaret goes through.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Um

You know, my friend got her period in 4th grade and i got mine in 5th, and i have to say, I HATE HAVING IT. I dont get how girls WANT to wear pads, having to change them 3 times a day, not being able to go in your friend's pool when u have it, and being freaked out if i...
You know, my friend got her period in 4th grade and i got mine in 5th, and i have to say, I HATE HAVING IT. I dont get how girls WANT to wear pads, having to change them 3 times a day, not being able to go in your friend's pool when u have it, and being freaked out if it seeps through your new white dress or not. Why are girls like "oh no! Im in 6th grade and i dont have my period yet!" Trust me girls, you do NOT want it.um

posted by 5442897 on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Um

    You know, my friend got her period in 4th grade and i got mine in 5th, and i have to say, I HATE HAVING IT. I dont get how girls WANT to wear pads, having to change them 3 times a day, not being able to go in your friend's pool when u have it, and being freaked out if it seeps through your new white dress or not. Why are girls like "oh no! Im in 6th grade and i dont have my period yet!" Trust me girls, you do NOT want it.um

    11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2003

    Parental Warning! Preview it before letting your kids read this book!!

    I consider myself to be a well-read parent. Young children are mostly being 'dumbed down' with books like this. I was in a bookstore and saw Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret with the new blue cover and wholesome-looking girls on its cover. The main character's stupidity over 'mens-stroo-ation', her disregard for the feelings of her estranged grandparents, the frequent mentioning of how she 'hates' this or that about people¿all point to a pathetic lack of writing skill. Margaret, the main character, sounds shallow and uneducated. When I was age 12 my favorite authors were in classic literature. These days, teachers tell me they don't care what kids read, as long as they are reading something. So, even at a private school, where exceptionally high academic standards are the norm, books with no character development, sense of place in history, and thinly drawn adults, are popular--like this one. Judy Blume is obsessed with female body parts. On page one, 'I caught my mother sniffing under her arms'; pages 4, 6, 8, and 11, 'Her nose turned up so much I could look right into her nostrils'; 'I found my mother with her rear end sticking out of a bottom kitchen cabinet'; 'Oh, you're still flat [chested]?'; 'In a few years I'm going to look like one of those girls in Playboy'; 'My ears stick out a little'; 'They're [boys] only interested in two things--pictures of naked girls and dirty books!'; and, unbelievably, in her prayer to God on page 50, 'I've got a bra now. It would be nice if I had something to put in it.' Finally, on page 67, 'How about a Tampax?' and 'We don't advise internal protection' is problematic. I read this book to preview it for reading level appropriateness for my daughter. I'm so glad I never let her read it. It would be helpful to parents if there was a notice on the cover that this book attempts to educate girls approaching puberty about menstruation, blood in their panties, washing bathing suits, breast size and bra shopping, the popularity of Playboy, and how sickening grandparents and most people are.

    10 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Do not read if.....

    Instead of reaching its goal, this book merely made me feel more outside than any other. I was a scared 14 year old, growing up more slowly than anyone else, and in the book it says that the mother would take her to the doctor if she didn't have it by fourteen. That made me cry for hours just because I felt so abnormal. A way that Judy Blume could have helped her book, is not putting any age labels, which I thought was the book's downfall. I also found it very upsetting when the girl 'pitys' the girl who hadn't gotten hers yet.

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Wow

    This is weird a girl wants her period i hate it im 14 in 8th grade it suck maybe if you want to were a pad or tampon and dont want to swim or you like cramps but i dont enjoy your period free days cause i started when i was 10 in 5th grade:(-

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    not my kinda book...

    Okay im 15 years old and honestly i didnt like the book that much. It was a bit to young for mee. girls no older than 12 should read it. sorry but i liked forever much much better. but no girl under my age should read that.

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Whats the age group?

    I really want to read this book but what is the age group? I am in the fifth grade and looking for agood book to read in my age level. Please answer someone.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    He

    Lalalalalalalalaalalalaalal i love cats amd bananas too how anout you lalalalallalalalalalaala qooopophooooohoohooohooooooooh yeah yeah yeah soooooooooooooooooooo maybe possobly i see you and me sittin in an apple tree one two three close your eyes and count to four gonna kick until i need new shoes. Lalalalalalalalaaaalalllallaallalalalalalalalalalalaallalalalalaaalalalalalalallllallllalaalllaalllll ooooohh yeah yeaj yeah WHO LIKES PIZZA CAUZ I KNOW I DO CAUZ ITS KIMDA AWESOME AND STUFF SO YEAH PEACE OUT PEEPS DONT READ TJIS BOOK OR I HUESS YIU CAN IF YOU WANT TO WHAYEVER I DONT REALLY CARE :)))))))))

    3 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    :p

    Hated it

    3 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Help me

    Can somebody tell me what it's about? I am too buzy to read because i have to watch my dog and i dog sit. Ok please help me with this. Oh no my dog pooped. I got to go. Bye everybody

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2006

    Put it down immediatly!

    Alright, people say 'you need to know about these things' well I agree, you might need to know about them, but that doesn't mean you have to read a poorly writen, distastful, idiotic book! Ask your parents, the nurse, an older friend who has already had it, or read a FACTUAL book and get the FACTS. You do not, I repeat DO NOT have to read a book like this, the girl is stupid, and the entire book degrades women and children Margret's age. She has been totally brainwashed by her so called 'best friend' and this is the protaganist! It is revolting! Also, this book sends the messege, 'even though you aren't of one of the two main relegions mainly practiced withen the United States (hints that you should be) it's alright if you beleive in God.' It shouldn't, girls are presured enough to read such a low quality book, it already tells them how to act and think, but their stands on God? I do NOT think Judy blume should go there. Maybe I am being a bit harsh, but this book is FULL of descrimination.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    A bad book

    I hated this book. It's the worst book I've ever read. It is an insult to my religion. The kind of person that I would picture reading that book is an early bloomer that is overweight and very unpopular. I hate to be the only one that is not raving it with good reviews but everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this is mine.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Why

    Why are girls so anxious and excited to go through puberty?
    So many downsides to it. ON your period if you open your legs it smrlls like fish. And gosh, i hope you little gals out there with light periods don't want a heavy one. IT SUCKS CEREAL BUTT. I have a heavy period, but it's irrregular, so sometimes i dont see it for months at a time. And dont wish for big boobs. Big boobs=MAJOR back pains!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    not a happy camper with Barnes & Noble

    Very disappointed with Barns & Noble, I had order these book via Nook by mistake in the beginning of December 2012 and I have not received my refund yet. And had to go to the actual store and buy the books for my daughter. So it's like I've purchased this book twice

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    The book

    The book is bad

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Wow...............

    I heard this book is bad and i bet it is.Just by reading the little sample i allready tell this is a bad book.I think that all of the Fudge books are the best soo type in tales of a fourth grade nothing and DONT BUY THIS BOOK!

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    :::WARNING:::

    This book is horrendous. The problem in the story is sooo stupid. I'm sorry for saying this but it's true this book literaly sucked it's #1 on my worst books ever read list. So do not, please i repeat, do not read this book. Even if it's for free don't even bother reading a page. It's the stupidst book of life. DO not waste your money or your time.
    -the story is about this girl and she moves to this new place and then she wants to get her period so she talks to god so she could get her period and become "cool" and at the end she gets her period.
    I can't even beieve i read the story through... i only kept on reading because i thought it would get better and i always finish a book no matter how horrible it is. Anyway, it's probably my age the reason i didn't like this book i was 11 when i read it. Maybe 9 or 10 year old will like it.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    My opinion

    The Lord is great...I'm 15 and know that it's weird for people to say "omg did she really have sex with that person"...But if a girl really looks for the Lord she will truly change...So the Lord love you...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    To girly girl

    I have had my peird for a cople months now and thy have all been realy heavy is ther any way to help that
    From:ray

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Anonymas

    Wait a second, this book was on our A.R bookshelf, at our school, and it can be read by anyone?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Dissapointed

    "Oh no i havent gotten my period yet" i mean come on who cares if u havent gotten ur STUPID period yet PERIODS R NOT A GOOD THING!!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2