Customer Reviews for

Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret.

Average Rating 4.5
( 609 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(493)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

97 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

BEST BOOK EVER

I am just starting sixth grade and my mom suggested this book. I read it in two days and I absolutely love it. I reccomend it for all girls from ages 11 to 100!!!You can really relate to all of the troubles that Margaret goes through.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Um

You know, my friend got her period in 4th grade and i got mine in 5th, and i have to say, I HATE HAVING IT. I dont get how girls WANT to wear pads, having to change them 3 times a day, not being able to go in your friend's pool when u have it, and being freaked out if i...
You know, my friend got her period in 4th grade and i got mine in 5th, and i have to say, I HATE HAVING IT. I dont get how girls WANT to wear pads, having to change them 3 times a day, not being able to go in your friend's pool when u have it, and being freaked out if it seeps through your new white dress or not. Why are girls like "oh no! Im in 6th grade and i dont have my period yet!" Trust me girls, you do NOT want it.um

posted by 5442897 on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good to force.

    I admit that at first the only reason I got this book was like the main character my name is Margaret. But, after reading the whole book, cover to cover, I actually really liked it. Sure at points you can sense the awkwardness of it but besides that it was a fun read, and good to force on your friends.

    52 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Anonomus

    This was a great book!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    So cool!

    You know what's strange? I'm writing a book about a thirteen-year-old girl named Leslie Margret Bergenson who moves from California to Illinoise and the beginning is SO alike to this! I swear I'm not copying this book! Plus, mine is more unique. Leslie doesn't move from NEW York to NEW Jersey, like they always seem to do. THERE ARE 48 OTHER STATES YOU KNOW!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    C

    Wow, my name's Margaret. 8)

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Great for Younger Girls

    I read this book so many times when I was growing up, to the point where it fell apart in my hands. My aunt had brought me a box full of books to me to go through and see which books I had wanted. This was the only one out of them that I wanted, and I tore right into it. It is definitely a book for girls ages 10-13, but I will definitely be getting another copy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    Will be passed on to my daughter

    I was asked to read this book by a family friend back in the 70's to see what I thought of the book. As a pre-teen I enjoyed the book very much. Now that I am a mom I too will introduce my daughter to Margaret.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2003

    GOOD BOOK!

    Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret, is a very good book but it is kind of confunsing. They talk about the quare dance and then in the next page or so, they are already at the party. Other then that, I loved it!!! ;-)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    A Review

    This is a great book, but when can somebody write a book about the person who is first to go through those changes? It's a lot harder for that person. (I should know.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    A+

    This particular book is particularly helpful to particular people that are pre-teens. I thought that this book was bot the best but is still...helps.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Classic early teen read

    A quick read perfect for pre to early teen girls.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting...

    This book made you learn alot, i was willing to read it, but i didnt think it would be that good. But the thing is you can learn alot about how the main character feels and the emotions and feelings shes going through, and if your a girl its very useful. When talking to her own god shes very honest, and here you can see how she feels. I would reccomend this book, i didnt think it would be very good, but it turned out to be very nice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    This Book Rocks!

    Dear instrested readers, I really liked this book, I read it when i was in 4th grade. I would recommend this book to you because it has every thing in it a good book should have. Plus, it has a great author... Judy Blume!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    finally a book about what we REALLY want to know!

    this book focuses on the hard parts about growing up, and is fully charming and somewhat witty. it discusses issues common time girls NEED to hear about, not just want to, but feel the need to. boys, development, religion, its all here. enjoy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    it was great

    This book is about a girl named Margaret Simon she just moved to New Jersey from New York and when she gets there she finds out it's alot different. She meets a girl named Stacey and they become friends. The only thing about being here is thier alot more into groing up than staying a kid. She goes to her first day of school and meets 2 other girls and all of them start a club called the PTS's which standeds for The pre-teen sensations and they meet every Monday. They made up rules like you have to have a boy book, a secret name, they all have to were bras even if they don't need them! Then margaret falls in love with Staceys brothers best friend Moose! Then Margaret and her friends are invited to a dinner party and thet play two minites in the closet and Margaret gets picked by the cutest boy in school. Then everybody started getting thier . and she really wants it then at the end of the book she gets it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    A review for, Are You There God, its Me Margaret.

    Are You There God, its Me Margaret is an amazing book! It is about a girl named margaret. she is a girl who faces alot of problems when she moved to new jersey. she liked her friend's brother's best friend. she didn't want to tell her friend, because her friend said he was a pervert. margaret joined a club, there were three other people in the club. they all had code names, and they held meetings twice a week. i would recomend this book to ages 11-12. i thing this book is ji\ust great, and you should read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2004

    entertainimg for girls my age

    If you like to read about girls your age and how they think this is a good book for you. It gives a look into MArgarets life and you will find some laughs too.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    Headline

    This is an outstanding book for young girls like myself to read and understand every thing there is needed to know about growing up to a young ladie so I recemended every girl to read this book!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    Interesting Book about Growing Up

    It's totally recommended! We are in 4th grade and read it in the beginning of the year and LOVED IT!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2003

    Review

    I really enjoyed this book. I like books that are about real life and girl about my age. Margaret was just a little younger than me. I don't like a lot of books, and I think this one was really good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    i was ten when i read it, now iam 24 and married

    I was ten years old when my love for reading developed and expanded from Enid Blyton, Beverly Cleary right up to Judy Blume. When i read this book i had not even gotten my period yet and so i felt sad when Margaret got hers cause it showed that she had already transformed into a young woman. I loved this book and would recommend it to my future children...except for the fact that Margaret is jew in this book while i want my children to grow up and be a good Muslim. Other than that, we girls are all the same when we reach that turning point in our lives.Now iam 24 years old and i still fondly remember Margaret like an old friend.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3