Customer Reviews for

Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea

Average Rating 4.5
( 257 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(166)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Cutting Edge Funny Stuff

Having seen Chelsea doing stand up and on Girls Behaving Badly, I was anxious to see how her wicked sarcastic wit would translate into text. It's fantastic! A seriously gifted writer, who combines funny and uninhibited raunchiness better than any woman. And it's not ju...
Having seen Chelsea doing stand up and on Girls Behaving Badly, I was anxious to see how her wicked sarcastic wit would translate into text. It's fantastic! A seriously gifted writer, who combines funny and uninhibited raunchiness better than any woman. And it's not just the sheer ridiculous circumstances she encounters. She reflects about her mindless journeys and the meaning of life in such an amusing, self-deprecating and cynical manner.

Filled with funny anecdotes, she has that trashy comedienne's gift of saying everything we think about but are afraid to say. And she manages to share absolutely horrifying events and somehow make them hysterical!

There are some hilarious and uncomfortable family situations. Her father was quite the provider of wisdom, selling used junkyard cars out of their front yard, while making inappropriate sexual innuendos towards his daughters.

There's some really funny and humiliating youth debacles and misadventures. My favorites; her embarrassing and preposterous fake celebrity elementary school tale, a LOL birthday party for a friendless girl full of re-gifting, pretending to be honeymooning with her father in order to upgrade to first class. The Mini-Me and Prison Break chapters are just classics. Frankly if she wasn't successful, she may have ended up a basket case.

At some points in a story, I laughed so hard, my husband kept trying to steal the book from me. I didn't want the book to end. Everyone can find something to relate to in one of these stories.

If you are sensitive or quick to take offense, I would pass on this one. If you have a repressed wild side, you'll dive in headfirst and relish her antics and live vicariously through them. Also, if you like reading funny out of control drinking and sex stories, I'm half-way through Chelsea's other book My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands and it's great.

And although I can't admit it to my husband, I secretly loved the book that is guy's version of the same theme. Steamy sex, hilarious, and like a James Bond story.

High Heels and Dirty Deals - Globetrotting Tales of Debauchery from a Binge-drinking Nymphomaniac by Brett Tate. Get all three!

posted by Nikky_S on April 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the price

I have been a fan of her since her early days, however, this book has changed my image of her. The beginning of the book started out good, but quickly turned in to her telling stories about her friends and lovers and how much they irriate her. I believe she puts it corr...
I have been a fan of her since her early days, however, this book has changed my image of her. The beginning of the book started out good, but quickly turned in to her telling stories about her friends and lovers and how much they irriate her. I believe she puts it correctly when she calls herself an "a$$hole". How this became a bestseller is beyond me. I would've felt better is I would have paid $5 for the book.

posted by gundy03130 on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The funniest book I have ever read

    This is one of the funniest books I have ever read. If you are an extremely judgemental person, you will think the author is a self involved drunken floozy...which is a badge she wears proudly. I have lent this book out to many of my friends and have also recommended it to numerous other people. I am going to buy her first book as soon as I get back to B&N. You will enjoy her honesty and horrible bad luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Delightful!

    This book is delightful! It is the type of book you read when you want a chuckle. I enjoyed the look into the writer's life. We can all relate to the unique characters in her life. I liked that she doesn't take herself to seriously. Very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    funny funny funny

    i thought the whole book was hilarious... it was hard to put down once i started reading it. i love the way she writes and tells her stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vodka, Anyone?

    This was my first exposure to Chelsea Handler and I was extremely impressed by her boldness, humor, and ability to tell a story. VODKA is a collection of random stories from Chelsea's past, told to the reader in a humorous manner.

    I was first drawn to the book by the title. Anyone who's ever read Judy Blume as a kid would recognize it immediately. And what an interesting twist on the title...for adults. Yes, I, too, went from Judy Blume to vodka (although maybe not as quickly as Chelsea). Several times throughout her memoirs, I laughed out loud. She's crude, drinks, and swears, so the book isn't for the easily offended (in fact, no book but the Bible probably is). In fact, I'd love to hang out with her. VODKA was an interesting, light read, and brightened up my day each time I read a chapter or two.

    My only criticism with the book is that there is no real "theme" to the book as a whole. The stories aren't all about drinking (in fact, I think there's only one or two). Her topics are very diverse, ranging from red-headed men and their attractiveness to sex to drinking to jail time to midgets/little people to her father (or "B*tch T*ts," as she kindly refers to him). For this reason, I'd take 1/2 a star away in the ratings, but that's not an option on B&N, so she gets a full five stars from me (four seemed too low). But don't think you can get away with this all the time, Chelsea! We, the readers, want entire books devoted to red-headed men, midgets, and B*tch T*ts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    Vodka Is Here

    Are You There Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea, is a refreshingly hilarious book. Chelsea Handler is surprisingly very honest and truly could not care less what is thought of her. In the book, she goes over past and present experiences with alcohol, sex, and midgets. She makes it seen as a necessity to laugh and do what you're feeling. One of Chelsea's favorite things to do, is make up completely obscene, ridiculous stories; including convincing the whole third grade she was to be starring in a sequel to Private Benjamin with Goldie Hawn. The pieced together message of the book would be to make the best of every situation, do what you want to do, and drink. My personal favorite like of the book is when Chelsea ended a completely normal sentence with a statement so unexpected but laugh-for-hours funny. Also, she mentally has names for people such as for her father, 'dumb dumb' for her obviously dumb roommate, and 'big red' for the redhead she felt bad for, and therefore dated. The only thing slightly negative about the book is the fact that it is a little disorganized with the dates of the stories and the placement, it jumps from story to story often, however, she makes you think like her, therefore while reading, you don't think twice about organization. Someone who enjoys crude, sarcastic humor should read this book, because you will be reading it on and on, many times after that. Chelsea Handler has an earlier book called My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One Night Stands, which is just as funny if not more hysterical. My overall rating for Are You There Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea, is perfect. The book keeps you interested and on your feet which is exactly what is expected from Chelsea Handler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hey Vodka It's me

    This book is just about how Chelsea learns how to survive in the world of her life. She tells stories from how she stared to babysit to her relationship with her family. She is not afraid to talk the dirt on the people in her life no matter how embarrassing it is. This book had no true theme in my opinion just to share her life and let people know why she is the person she is to day. Really this book was amazing it was funny to points where you just might pee your pants. I would recommend this to other people and truthfully I all ready have told every one I know that they have to read this book. I recommend her other book My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands, I also say you have to watch her show on the E! channel. I give this book an over all rating for a 10 just because it was so funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    chelsea handler is a goddess...

    ...and she already knows it. this book is one of the funniest i've read in a long time! just what's needed to brighten your day/long work week. it was so good that her other book, my horizontal life, is my next read. very much recommended if you want a smile and a quick read, with a few helpful life lessons thrown into the mix. chelsea handler= hilarious, snarky, laugh-out-loud funny!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hot & Funny

    Okay, who is hotter and funnier than Chelsea? So many women comedians do the man-bashing, cramps thing, that someone like Chelsea Handler doing real comedy really stands out. Her TV show is hilarious and so is her book. I was given two humor books recently as a "cheer-up" gift after I was in an accident. One was Chelsea's the other was "Roastbeef's Promise" by David Jerome. I laughed my ass off with both of them! Next up Bill Bryson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Best Book Ever

    This book by Chelsea Handler was as good as expected. As a comedian she's very funny but when she puts her words into a book, it's ten times funnier.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny!!

    Chelsea Handler is SOOO funny! In this books of essays, she really made me crack up. I loved her stories and decided to read her other book, too. A recommend!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sorry, but I loved it!

    Chelsea Handler is one of those people you'd like to have for friend if only you could find her. Well, you can!, at least in the pages of this wonderfully funny and touching book. Comedic timing is a gift, and Handler has it. This is a fun read at the beach or by the fire on a winter's evening. Great fun and great entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OMG.

    im crazy about chelsea!!
    && this book is great, just amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I couldn't stop laughing when I read this the first time. I'm not much of a reader, but I'm already reading this one for the THIRD time! I love Chelsea!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    Probably the funniest book i have ever read

    This is the funniest book ever. I was laughing outloud, my husband even started to read it because it was incredibly funny. I love chelsea handler she is a funny (b word).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    good book

    Very dramatic and a good read. Highly recommend this one. A must have for your bookshelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    Witty and Hilarious!

    A wonderful book to read just for fun. So funny I couldn't put it down! Something you could read again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    Funny!

    She is so funny. I could not put the book down. If you need to get some good laughs, this is the book to boost you up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    Awesome!

    I love Chelsea Handler but I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this book since I hadn't yet read her first one...but I absolutely loved it! I didn't want to put it down and could not stop laughing the whole time I was reading it! The day I finished it I went right to the bookstore to pick up "My Horizontal Life"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    HILARIOUS

    Laughed out loud til the very end!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    HILARIOUS

    ilove her show so much and her book is so funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 158 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8