Customer Reviews for

Are You Tired and Wired?: Your Proven 30-Day Program for Overcoming Adrenal Fatigue and Feeling Fantastic

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Excellent and Easy-to-use Guidance

    As someone who has worked high stress, high-wire jobs my entire career, I was interested to hear Marcelle Pick's viewpoint about adrenal fatigue. When I received an advance copy from Hay House as part of their blogger program, I couldn't put it down.

    For anyone who is persistently run down, overwhelmed, or frequently suffering from minor illnesses like colds, you may have found your answer. Are You Tired and Wired? is very easy to read. Like Christiane Northrup, Marcelle explains the medical data in detail, and then anchors it with wonderful case studies. It's hard to believe any woman would not find herself, at some point in her life, within the examples.

    If you're a slower reader, don't let the "30 day program" reference intimidate you. Each chapter uses short quizzes and tables to identify the key concepts. (Curious how to navigate the herbal supplement aisle at your favorite health food store? Check out "The Herbal Pharmacy: Digestive Issues" table on page 91.) The month may fly by while you're reading each chapter in depth, but these tools will allow you to understand the main themes and start using them immediately.

    Chapter 6 provides a detailed adrenal-friendly eating plan, along with many easy recipes. I loved the use of pantry ingredients rather than a lot of specialty items. A small, but meaningful, element I noticed was the portion sizes. What a relief! (Am I the only one that thinks that most online recipe portions are huge?)

    The book closes with a fantastic resource and "further reading" section. These lists alone are worth the price of admission.

    I'm excited about implementing the ideas Marcelle presents. I'm rubbing my earlobes right now...

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Delightful, Informative and Great Recipes!

    What I found so cool about "Are You Tired and Wired?" is that it can help many women finally put a name to what is causing them to be exhausted, moody, sleepy, sleep deprived or just plain ole' depressed. The answer? Adrenal fatigue. This book is an excellent resource in identifying where you fit on the adrenal spectrum and identifying steps to be taken in order to achieve optimum health.
    Ms. Pick not only identifies actions steps in terms of diet and supplements to take, but also includes the emotional work necessary to make any lasting improvement in one's life. My favorite part of the book? The delicious (and easy!) recipes for healthy eating and optimal adrenal function.
    I also loved that this book showed that relief from adrenal fatigue and the accompanying symptoms is something that one can overcome. Ms. Pick uses case studies to demonstrate this, which is quite inspiring for someone who may feel that feeling good is insurmountable.
    Thanks, Hay House, for another great read! I have this book displayed on my kitchen counter and frequently use it for go-to recipes. Delightful!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hope For The Chronically Tired

    If you are familiar with the site Women to Women the name Marcelle Pick is probably familiar to you. The site has been a valuable resource for a lot of women and this book will serve to be invaluable as well.

    If you feel exhausted, irritable, plagued by painful periods and have trouble falling asleep, staying asleep or trouble waking up and deal with depression then this book is probably for you. As you read this book you may find that you have adrenal dysfunction and be delighted to know that relief from these symptoms are possible.

    The book is entertaining to read and offers a 30-Day Program to feel fantastic again! Marcelle Pick explains medical data in understandable language and combines it with case studies.

    The first chapter begins with a check off list of several physical and psychological symptoms of Adrenal Dysfunction so the reader can see if the symptoms are problems they may deal with in their life. I found it fun that she broke down these symptoms in three topics and then lets the person reading the book decide if they are a Racehorse, Workhorse or The Flat liner.

    Each chapter uses short quizzes and tables to identify the key ideas. In Chapter 6 a detailed eating plan is given that is adrenal-friendly. Another great thing about the menu given is that the foods are easily found in the average refrigerator and pantry.

    I also was delighted with the recipes in this book which makes it a more valuable resource/recipe book for my bookshelf.

    So if you If you are struggling with worry, mood swings, and constantly finding yourself trying to be every bodies 'go to girl' then take heart! These issues aren't something that you just have to endure but are true imbalances in your body that can be corrected by the specific treatments in this book.

    For those of you not familiar with Marcelle Pick,she is a OB/GYn Np and is also the co-founder of Women to Women and also the author of The Core Balance Diet.
    As part of the FTC disclaimer rules I am making you aware that
    I received this book for free from Hay House Publishing for this review. The opinion in this review is unbiased and reflects my honest judgment of the book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Loved this book!!

    Marcelle Pick's Are You Tired and Wired? is a must-read for any woman struggling with stress, anxiety, exhaustion, and stubborn weight gain. Marcelle does a great job explaining just what adrenal dysfunction is and offers an easy to take quiz for women to find out what category they fall into. She offers a common sense approach to taking care of yourself by making healthy life style choices, and listening to your body. Best of all are the recipes and easy to follow meal program to get you back on track and feeling better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Women NEED this Book!!!!

    GET THIS BOOK IF YOU CANNOT FIGURE OUT WHY YOU ARE SO OUT OF IT OR DROP DEAD TIRED!!!! Even if you are not now, but constantly feel stressed out, you still NEED THIS BOOK. Just in case!
    Hay House sent me yet another wonderful book that I wish I would have had 15 YEARS AGO!!!! Marcelle Pick, MSN, OB/GYN NP, has really simplified what could be, and probably is, happening to women of every age. Adrenal Fatigue. I didn't even know there was such a thing.
    In this book she gives 3 categories and describes personality and habits in great lengths so that we the reader, can identify ourselves with these symptoms/behaviors. I for instance am a "work horse" and now know what happen to me at a very early age. ( It explains also what happened to my hormone levels and why Dr.'s always told me there was nothing wrong. )I now through this book, have the tools to correct the damage.
    Dr. Pick has also included tests to further your understanding of Adrenal Fatigue and then gives you clear and proven steps, with a diet, THAT WORKS. This book couldn't be easier to understand. Clearly written shopping lists, recipes, and MENUS. It's everything you need to get started and reverse what has gone wrong.
    I realized while reading this book that I could pinpoint a lot of women whom are in my life, inside this book. I have already recommended it to them and will be sending a few out as well. Every 20 Year old woman should be given this book so she is aware what the stresses of life can and will do to a woman's body!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Must Read for Women of All Ages

    A new pathway to healing for women, Are You Tired and Wired by Marcelle Pick offers compelling information about a silent epidemic that often goes undiagnosed. This syndrome includes both physical and psychological symptoms that sometimes seem contradictory, making diagnosis difficult. The author explains how your "biography becomes your biology" and by the time patients seek help, the condition has been chronically developing over many years. according to Pick, adrenal dysfunction caused by a lifestyle of chronic stress is a major cause of chronic fatigue, unexplained weight gain, frequent infections, insomnia and more. This book includes easy-to-use assessment tools to help the reader determine the presence and severity of adrenal dysfunction in their life, and detailed instructions for a holistic approach to treatment and recovery. The book provides a "30 day program for overcoming adrenal fatigue and feeling fantastic", including meal planning, shopping lists, recipes, recommendations and resources for mind, body, and spiritual support as well as fascinating case studies of women in a wide age range. If you are struggling with worry, mood swings, trying to be "everything for everyone", exhaustion coupled with moments of being "wired", caffeine addiction, weight gain, sleep problems and PMS, you may find the answers to your health issues in this comprehensive book.

    FTC Disclosure Statement:

    This book was provided to me for review from Hay House Publishers. No monetary exchange was involved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is another one of those fabulous, must have, books

    "Your Proven 30-Day Program for Overcoming Adrenal Fatigue and Feeling Fantastic Again" This is another one of those fabulous, must have, books that I like to refer to as owner's manuals. Marcelle Pick creates a workbook where she teaches the reader about adrenal fatigue; how one comes to develop the condition and how the body malfunctions. In Part I, she defines the condition and explains that there are 3 categories that one might fall into. She has also created self assessments to enable the reader to determine their own category. One of the great benefits of this book is to help determine risk, and use the remedies in a proactive manner to help stave off Adrenal Fatigue. In Part II of the workbook she provides her proven remedies for successful management and reversal of the condition. These remedies include: nutritional support with suggestions for supplements and meal plans (with recipes included); exercise and lifestyle changes. There is additional information for those with Addison's Disease and Cushing's Syndrome. And information sections on Allostatic Load, Glycemic Index, Glycemic Load and a full list of resources and references for additional reading. This is very educational and a workbook that will be referred to often. In accordance with FTC guidelines I must disclose that I have received this book, for free, from Hay House, in exchange for writing reviews for Hay House's new book releases.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    To brandon

    I dont like u u r messed up.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Brandon

    Tht was me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    would love to read this!

    Unfortunately B & N cancelled my order again and said they couldn't send it. Why???...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2