Customer Reviews for

Area 51: An Uncensored History of America's Top Secret Military Base

Average Rating 4
( 289 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Area 51-exposed

Area51 has long been the subject of UFOlogy speculation..Now we know, from Mrs.Jacobson's truly exhaustive research, that it is not a haven for UFO research..It is a laboratory for the CIA,Pentagon, and Atomic Energy crazy&I mean, often bizarre experiments....She applie...
Area51 has long been the subject of UFOlogy speculation..Now we know, from Mrs.Jacobson's truly exhaustive research, that it is not a haven for UFO research..It is a laboratory for the CIA,Pentagon, and Atomic Energy crazy&I mean, often bizarre experiments....She applies Occam's Razor to the events veiling the famed "Roswell incident".....The saucer landing was a Stalinist plot to create panic in the U.S. during the Cold war...She fails to realize that the crash of an Alien Spaceship, provides a simpler answer than the one she has uncovered(You have to read this one)...The true value of the book, lies with the ethical questions it raises..ex....Can the United States continue to live on the edge of humanity, without a moral compass insofar as military research is concerned?....This book will make you think about that issue,& others, and that makes for a terrific read!

posted by ScarlettJP on May 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Not very original...

Most if not all info in the book can be found on the internet. Some of it being word for word THE SAME. No mind blowing secrets uncovered. A lot of the book has nothing to do with Area 51. Goes off subject quite a bit. Spent good bit of ink on JFK's older brother g...
Most if not all info in the book can be found on the internet. Some of it being word for word THE SAME. No mind blowing secrets uncovered. A lot of the book has nothing to do with Area 51. Goes off subject quite a bit. Spent good bit of ink on JFK's older brother getting killed in WWII flying drones, and the Navy drone program. Who cares!!! Nothing to do with Area 51. Kind of figure it would end up like this but there were quite a few good reviews. Guess those readers have spent little if any time online reading about Area 51. I know I haven't spent a lot of time myself, but enough to know I wasted $15 bucks on this. Glad I didn't buy the hard cover.

posted by Ace_Of_Hearts on May 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    Not very original...

    Most if not all info in the book can be found on the internet. Some of it being word for word THE SAME. No mind blowing secrets uncovered. A lot of the book has nothing to do with Area 51. Goes off subject quite a bit. Spent good bit of ink on JFK's older brother getting killed in WWII flying drones, and the Navy drone program. Who cares!!! Nothing to do with Area 51. Kind of figure it would end up like this but there were quite a few good reviews. Guess those readers have spent little if any time online reading about Area 51. I know I haven't spent a lot of time myself, but enough to know I wasted $15 bucks on this. Glad I didn't buy the hard cover.

    13 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Disappointing, riddled with factual errors

    In the hands of a skilled writer with a sense of history, Area 51 could have been an important historical work. But as it is, the author confounds fact with fiction in what appears to be an attempt to create a sensational story. Some of the narrative is compelling but the book is riddled with factual errors, leaving the reader not knowing what is real, and what is not. The author attempts to rail against government secrets, but parts of her book undermine her thesis. She lets on at the beginning of the book that the book is about "government projects and operations that are secret from Congress and secret from the people who make up the United States." She rails against the deception of governments, asserting what I think is her underlying cause that "government policy on secrets undermines the greater good." But she leaves to the reader's imagination exactly what secrets she is referring to. Are all government secrets necessarily evil? The focus of her book, before she gets carried away, is on the U-2 program and Oxcart. Is Jacobsen suggesting that the US government should have advertised its work at Area 51? Jacobsen says that the U-2 was the CIA's "best chance to get hard intelligence on the Soviet Union, considering that one photograph could provide the Agency with as much information as approximately ten thousand spies on the ground." Is Jacobsen suggesting that we would have been better off with trying to recruit ten thousand spies on the ground in the Soviet Union? Or possibly Jacobsen is suggesting that the government should come clean about the miscreants sent by Stalin in a flying disc that crashed at Roswell. Government secrets are a serious topic that deserve more thoughtful examination than Jacobsen is able to provide. The author is certainly not a student of history or geography. She calls the MVD (Ministerstvo Vnutrennikh Del), the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Soviet Union, the "MBD" and mistranslates it. She persistently calls the Soviet Union, Russia. The list of gross factual errors continues. Jacobsen wanted to say that America's intelligence services had no idea about what was going on east of the Ural Mountains, which would be Soviet Asia, but instead says that they had absolutely no idea "what was happening west of the Ural Mountains." The author's sense of direction in the US fares no better. Burbank, California is not "nine miles to the southwest" of Northridge--the correct answer is that it is southeast. Although she is correct that Tsar Nicolas II was shot in 1918, it did not "set[] off the Communist Revolution." The Bolshevik Revolution occurred in October (old style) 1917. The author's failure even to understand basic historical facts undermines her entire "story" not even talking about the infamous wacky "Revelation" chapter on "child-size aviators" with "large heads and abnormally oversize eyes" sent by Stalin to the US. My hope is that this book will prompt others to take a closer look at the activities and work at Area 51, and that they will create an accurate account before those who are no longer able to share their firsthand accounts. They certainly deserve better than this historical hack job.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    This

    Suck bad worst bok ever

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    A long string of unrelated and un substantiated drivel.

    A long string of unrelated and un substantiated drivel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    A pile of horsehoky

    Should have stuck by the facts not UFO conspiricies

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Mutated teenagers?

    Um ... yeah, you lost me at the whole Stalin / Joseph Mengele / mutant teenagers junk. I thought this was supposed to be a serious book documenting historical facts, not more science fiction. I wish I could get back the time I spent reading this junk.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Wow

    This book was terrible...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    Loser

    This book is a total waste. Don't bother

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Mixed, should have stuck to the facts

    Interesting book. Good research. Then destroyed the integrity of the work with a weak theory about UFOs. Don't buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too Epensive

    Plus I saw her on the Daily show. She sassy Roswell was really a ploy of Stalin's to panic the american people. She is obviously not in touch with the acts of the case. I am not saying what it was but it wasn't a Stalin man made object. Ruins her credibility

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2