Customer Reviews for

Area 7

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Superman is Alive and Well

Since I purchased the originlll Nook, in December 2010, I have downloaded over 100 books. Area 7 is by far, the most action filled, exciting book I have ever read. Everytime I was able to put the book down, I was exhausted from the reading. I promise you that this boo...
Since I purchased the originlll Nook, in December 2010, I have downloaded over 100 books. Area 7 is by far, the most action filled, exciting book I have ever read. Everytime I was able to put the book down, I was exhausted from the reading. I promise you that this book will meet all your expectations.

posted by gao on June 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ebook version

Maybe it's just an e-book thing, but I've never read a book with so many typos in it. The story would be rolling along and them you'd hit a word that made no sense. Having to stop and "decode" the word really slowed down the action in the book. If you could read past...
Maybe it's just an e-book thing, but I've never read a book with so many typos in it. The story would be rolling along and them you'd hit a word that made no sense. Having to stop and "decode" the word really slowed down the action in the book. If you could read past the typos, it was a fun, action packed book!

posted by Jaimyank on June 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Superman is Alive and Well

    Since I purchased the originlll Nook, in December 2010, I have downloaded over 100 books. Area 7 is by far, the most action filled, exciting book I have ever read. Everytime I was able to put the book down, I was exhausted from the reading. I promise you that this book will meet all your expectations.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action, action, and did we say ACTION?

    Definitely worth it if you're an action junkie. Is it over the top? Absolutely! Reilly does almost minimalist character development, but that's not the purpose of Area7. It's designed to be an action movie in just over 500 pages... and it delivers. Very little wasted motion, just lots of action! (some of it absurd action, but every great blockbuster movie is a lot of absurd action, and so is Area 7.)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    ebook version

    Maybe it's just an e-book thing, but I've never read a book with so many typos in it. The story would be rolling along and them you'd hit a word that made no sense. Having to stop and "decode" the word really slowed down the action in the book. If you could read past the typos, it was a fun, action packed book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Great adventure

    Good read -- recommend you read these Scsrecrow books in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Maybe.....

    This book is the first one I've read by Matthew Reilly. It seemed to have too much action, if you can believe that. It was non stop, throughout, but mostly unbelievable. I like a lot of action, but this was just too much. I've got a couple more of his books in this series and will give them a try, but I'm not too optimistic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Beyond exciting!

    This book holds nothing back...you have a secure nuclear facility that the President comes to visit...all the while, a madman who was not supposed to be alive, plots to take over the USA? Not on scarecrows watch. All the gang is back to help him rescue the President and keep the USA from a devastating nuclear attach. Oh, yes,did I say there was a love story thrown in and 42 of the most awful criminals that America has.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    What can I say about this book without giving too much away? If you love Reilly, or if you love action-packed thrillers, you've got to read this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2004

    Eye rollable

    This sequel to Ice Station (a fantastic book) is so silly at times you cannot help but either yawn or roll your eyes. The concepts, ideas the setting are brillant but there are moments in the book when you cannot help but cry out in pain. There are some moments that are very well done and very interesting. But they are overshadowed by James Bond play-on's that could never happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Non-stop Action-I am hooked

    This is a new writer for me and if his other books are anything like this I am hooked. His books have literally non-stop action and interesting characters. Unfortunately, the way our government and population are going these days, it makes this whole scene look so very possible.Since I live in Arizona and have been to the Lake Powell area it was fun to read. I have,on a wild hunch,gone ahead and ordered his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Basically its nonstop action, which is not bad in itself. The pr

    Basically its nonstop action, which is not bad in itself. The problem is it just gets ridiculous after awhile. It feels like the author just tied together as much and as varied certain death scenes, that the hero would of course survive, with little else in the way of plot. I like a fast paced book with action but this was just to much to be plausible for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Scarecrow Rocks

    Reilly is a bigot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Crazy GOOD Book, loved it. Action packed and upside down!

    Crazy GOOD Book, loved it. Action packed and upside down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Reilly - an excellent author

    Another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    This author keeps his plot mixed up to the very end. I can't put his books down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Scarecrow IS the ultimate action hero!!!

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another good scarecrow book.

    Matthew reilly is my favorite author. I loved his Jack west series and I wanted more while I waited for the release of The Five Greatest Warriors.

    I have to tell you that I am not big on military style books and was really hesitant to read this book. I liked the author so I thought that it couldnt be to bad of a book.

    The scarecrow series books are just pretty dang good. They keep you wondering whats going to happen next. Matt reilly always throws something into his stories to make you keep reading.

    Area 7 was a good read but not as good as ice station!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    Get on the Reilly Roller-Coaster!

    Mathew Reilly books will never be on a short list for the Pulitzer, but who cares! "Area 7" is another wild ride from Mathew Reilly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    Awesome book, really just intense the whole way through. I would also suggest reading 'Ice Station' the prequel to this book 'and possibly my favorite' and also 'Scarecrow' the sequel. It is a truly great trilogy I have loved every second of this. Great author, great books 'the ones I have read so far'. If you liked Ice Station, you will love this one. If you haven¿t, I would suggest reading Ice Station, but is completely unnecessary, I read Area 7 first by accident.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    Very fun read

    Ice Station was dazzling and although the sequel isn't up to par with the original it is still fun. Action comes in quick and you instantly get to the characters. The action is well written and entertaining. The story is smarter than Ice Station and there feels to be more of Shane Schofield's derring do. It's one incredible slip on death over and over again. But, you know what, it works. It's a little dry at the beginning but once you hit halfway through all I have to say is good luck putting this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    An imagination for the ages

    Matthew Reilly has one of the best imaginations going today. His stories are creative and ingenious but, unfortunately, they've become a bit formulaic. Of course if you like his work, then that may be exactly what you're after. But (without giving the story away) it's obvious from the very beginning of this book who will live and who will die. And again, like his other works, character development is lacking and the love interests are rolled out in a somewhat sophomoric fashion. On the upside, the action is non-stop, and I'm amazed by Mr. Reilly's creativity in getting his hero out of the most precarious situations. If you're all about action, this one is for you. It's not deep, nor is it meant to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5