Customer Reviews for

Arena

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I discovered Arena while shelving new fiction at my library. The

    I discovered Arena while shelving new fiction at my library. The cover
    looked interesting, but I would have blown right by it if I hadn’t seen
    the publisher on the back. Wait, Bethany House? That’s Christian
    fiction…? So I read it and the rest is pretty much history. I always
    loved Chronicles of Narnia and Lord of the Rings, but I didn’t realize
    that Christian Fantasy, Science Fiction or Allegory existed as a genre
    unto itself. (It’s called “Christian Speculative Fiction.” Read this
    interview for more information if you’re interested.) Arena opened up a
    whole new world for me. I discovered Kathy Tyers, Stephen Lawhead,
    Sharon Hinck, Chris Walley, and Donita K. Paul just to name a few. All
    wonderful authors, but Karen Hancock set a standard with Arena that, in
    my opinion, has yet to be matched.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    AMAZING!

    Loved this book, Ive now read all of karens books to date. This book was science fiction/ lots of action, romance. Made u think outside the box . I liked this book the best! Well worth the time and money! What a talented writer..... cant wait till the next adventure p.s. this book wont let you put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Honestly the best book ive ever read

    I read this book several years ago and decided to read it again. Im so glad i did. I couldnt put it down. Then i didnt want it to end. I would love for her to write a sequel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Mindblowing

    Excellent extended metaphors combined with just the right of action and romance. Pure brillance!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Excellent read

    I love this book. It is well written and incredibly interesting. The lessons that it shares are great reminders to me of how we are to walk in faith and how easy it is to get off track. I have read this book three or four times and am considering getting a copy for my nook even though there is a paper copy on my bookshelf

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Best book I've read in a while.

    "Arena" takes you on a journey through a supernatural world that leads Callie (main character) through mystical maze of choices and challenges, that is guaranteed to lead her to the truth - and change her life forever.

    My best friend lent me this book because she said the main character reminded her of me, and I am now honored to know this. I intend to order myself a copy as well, just because it is now my new favorite book, and will always be treasured in my heart.

    I suggest everyone read it. It'll take you on a roller coaster of emotions and is a wonderful read in all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    One of the Best Books To Date!

    The Arena is AMAZING! You will not be able to put it down!! This is a great book for anyone who loves The Chronicles of Narnia or the Lord of the Rings. The imagery in this book is wonderful, you'll feel as if you're right there in the Arena with Callie and Pierce! Karen also has a great way of incorporating the gospel into her books. My only caution is, once you've read the Arena, you'll find that no other fiction book compares!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Great book! A most have

    I love the book once you start you cant stop reading, the story is great it take you out of this world. Im happy that they finally put this book for the nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    Great Alegory

    Excellent way to explain Christain Salvation and growth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    Loved it!

    I have reread this book may times and enjoy it each and every time I do!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Arena - Karen Hancock/personal review

    I've never read a book that's so full of allegory. This is a wonderful tale of perseverance and making good choices with a bit of suspense and romance mixed in. For those who enjoy fantasy novels, this is an excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A very good scifi book

    I first read this book when I was in my early teens, and I enjoyed it immensely. Over the course of several years it slipped to the back of my mind along with all those other good books that tend to accumulate there. About four years later I remembered the book, though I only remembered the plot and main character's name, and wanted to enjoy it again. It has taken another 3 years to track it down, but the wait was well worth it, it was as enjoyable as ever. Most everything about this book is captivating: its characters, its plot, even its setting, take on a life of their own. Even if you are not a follower of the christian maxims it is still an entrancing read. If you have a rainy afternoon to kill I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    Magnificently done

    To be honest at first I wasn't sure if I was going to enjoy reading this book, but as I continued to read and the story developed, I couldn't put it down. The style of Hancock's writing has a sense of repetitiveness to it, however, that I caught once or twice as I was reading. In the end I felt as if she could really paint a wonderful picture of the details in the Arena, almost as if allowing the reader to view things as she did herself. It was a great read - very captivating and hardly any 'boring spots' where the action slowed down. I'd reccomend this book to nearly everyone - so get it from somewhere and read it! You'll love it, I promise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Alex

    Walks in) Hai pplz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    {Bakugan Clan}

    Hello i'm making this clan because I love bakugan. Bios will be at the next res starting now. Don't forget...*bakugan hits head* to have fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Phenomenal sci-fi with great characters, themes

    When Callie signs up for an experiment at her college's psychology department, all she wants is some extra money. But things at the experiment get weird fast, and suddenly, she is in a foreign land and has bungled the handbook's first rule: do not leave the white path. She meets a strange, powerful yet haunted man named Pierce and his friends, all searching for a way out of the eerie, dangerous land that has held them captive for years. The story continues with perilous battles, dark revelations, amazing character developement, and tantalizing places of rest. In a mind-bending world where their only guide is a meagre pamphlet - or their own ideas - everyone is faced with hard decisions and a myriad of momentous choices, each of which brings them closer or farther from getting home. I loved the unique idea, original world, complex decisions, and perfectly-paced plot. The charters were memorable and realistic, and the romance was quite well done. Even more, I loved the message of trust, obeying when nothing makes sense, and the rewards of obedience. Karen Hancock has created a masterful, meaningful sci-fi that I am so glad to have read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Lola

    (Igtg)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Guardian to all who need a clan

    Join Peaceclan at ' help a sister ' all results.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome inspirational story.

    Buying the book for gifts. Everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Celia

    Heloooooo?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3